Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Our Redeemer Lutheran School

Private | PK-6 | 155 students

We are best known for ability based math program.

 
 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $650,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $850.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

30 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 24, 2009

We started preschool at Our Redeemer this year. It has been a wonderful experience. The teachers and principal are very caring individuals. I've watched my child blossom this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2007

We are very pleased with Our Redeemer Lutheran School. It offers a great academic opportunity in a loving, Christian environment. There is a low student to teacher ratio which enables the children to receive individual attention from their teachers. We are also like that the classes are able to interact/mentor with other grades. We find the administration and teaching staff to be approachable and parents are involved in the school. This is definitely a schoool worth checking out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2006

Our child is a 2nd grader. The principal is wonderful as are the teachers. Many of the teachers have been at the school for more than 15 years. They are fair yet they insist the children take responsibility for their actions. The music and art programs are wonderful. The children participate in the church choir periodically, and they also have a Christmas program and Spring Musical. The art teacher exposes them to the world's great masters and their techniques. An art show is held every spring to showcase their work. The one drawback is in athletics. There are no teams for the younger grades -- participation is limited to 4/5/6 graders for volleyball, soccer, and basketball. Although the school is part of Our Redeemer Lutheran Church, there are many families that are not church members. The families are very supportive of activities and volunteer their time to make them successful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2005

Our child is in sixth grade, and has been at this school since first grade. Overall, our satisfaction has been high with this school. The class sizes are small, and thus the children are worked with very closely by their teachers. All assignments and test are graded by the teachers, not by aids, so the teachers really do know what the kids are up to, and what they struggle with. Parent teacher communication is great. Students are taught at the levels they are able to achieve, with multiple tracks in many grades. This is positive, as no child is left behind, yet gifted students are not held back. There are opportunities for varied extra circular activities, including choir, hand-bells, soccer, basketball, volleyball, scouts, etc.... The new principle and pastor are working hard to continually improve the school, and the parents and the church members are strongly behind the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2005

My daughter and her friends love this school! I just saw the 4th grade class essays and saw phrases such as 'awesome school','I assure you it is the best school in the world', and so many others. Standouts are Fine Arts enrichment (choir, handbells, art, etc.) are great, and Dad's club and sports are big winners too! Because of its smaller size, the children are well challenged when they need to be and those that need more help are given it. The Christian nurturing, moral backbone of Our Redeemer is apparent in all aspects of the school. Chapel offerings go to local and global causes, and are discussed so the students know why they are giving. A large group of older students donated their hard won Six Flags tickets (earned by reading) to the Nelson Center for abused children. I feel really great about the young men and women these kids will become.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

Our Redeemer Lutheran School is Dallas' best kept secret for a primary private school. The teachers are wonderful and loving, yet are able to give each student what they need to do their best and succeed because of small class size. The kids have such a unique bond and love to spend time around one another. This is a school to be proud of!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2004

Our Redeemer Lutheran School has been around since 1961 and is still one of Dallas' best kept secrets. The school is centrally located, with small classes and loving teachers. The academic standards are set high as well as the importance of spreading the Gospel of Jesus Christ. The students have been accepted into high schools such as Lutheran High School of Dallas, Hockaday, Ursaline, St. Mark's, Jesuit as well as many others. I am a graduate of Our Redeemer and felt it as important to give my children the same Christ-centered education that I received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2004

As a former student, I was extremely pleased to return to ORLS to see that is has maintained such a warm, inviting environment while keeping up with technology and academic excellence.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 23, 2004

Our daughter has attended Our Redeemer for four years. The teachers are great and the class size is small. She has received great individual attention in a loving, postive environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2004

The whole school is such a nurturing environment where everyone knows each other and are greeted by name every day. The academic merits of the school are excellent as seen in their accreditation reports (rated 'Excellent')and Iowa test scores (93% or better in each grade). My two daughters absolutely love this place and I have no doubt that they will be prepared for the future academically, socially and spiritually. It is affordable, centrally located and wonderful!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 88% 31%
Hispanic 5% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
Black 4% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • "Excellent" rating by National Lutheran School Assoc. since '05 (2011)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • LSAC
Fax number
  • (214) 368-1473

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Chess
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Chess
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Boy scouts
  • Cub scouts
  • Girl scouts
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Students performed a weighted average of 2.5 years above grade level (nationally normed grade equivalent) on ITBS. Summer Program for ages 3 to 6 Technology and Spanish included in curriculum up to 5 days a week
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $9000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Dallas Lutheran School 7 - 12
Lake Highlands
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7611 Park Lane
Dallas, TX 75225
Website: Click here
Phone: (214) 368-1371

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT