Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dallas Lutheran School

Private | 7-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $142,700. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 29 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

51 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 19, 2009

Dallas Lutheran is a woderful small Diamond in the rough, It does not look like much from the outside,in fact it looks a little shabby. But I challenge you to let your child visit for a day meet the kids and the caring teachers and you will be sold. If what you are looking for is a good christian school that believes in educating the whole child.Check out DLS. The middle school prepares them for high school and one look at the wall of college acceptances and you will realize they have been well prepared for college. If you want a big school this is not for you ,but if your looking for small this is the place !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 12, 2009

This school definitely helped my daughter prepare for life and college in general. Dallas Lutheran offers excellence in education that provides students the opportunity to grow spiritually, academically, physically, and socially. I highly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2008

Dallas Lutheran is definitely a great school for anyone. They have great teachers and have extra curricular activities for everyone, ranging from the football team to spanish and aviation clubs. If you were wanting to try and put your kid into a private school, I would strongly recommend that you look at Dallas Lutheran School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

Dallas Lutheran has many assets and made junior high a good experience for my son. In my perception, the staff is remarkable in their dedication, but seriously overworked this last year. This school has a very strong study skills program for entering 7th graders and a truly impressive community service program (Beyond my Front Door) for the entire school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2008

Both of our children graduated from Dallas Lutheran School. Not only were they were well prepared for college, they were well prepared for the Christian life. Both were able to excel in sports and in fine arts. The teachers at Dallas Lutheran School truly care about their students. It is a Christ-centered school and that was the main reason that we chose it for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

When you have a child that says 'I love middle school', you know something very right is going on! Dallas Lutheran has made that usually rotten move from elementary to junior high as smooth as silk. My daughter is being challenged academically, but not buried under busy work. There's plenty to be involved in extracurricularly, and beneath it all is a solid, moral base that is so vital in the entitled world we live in. Their 'Beyond My Front Door' program has been life changing for these students as they go out quarterly to different agencies such as retirement homes, day care and school facilities, and other non profits to help out in any way needed. From building wheelchair ramps to helping in an Alzheimer's unit, this program is amazing. For a great 7th - 12th grade private Christian school education, don't miss Dallas Lutheran.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 1, 2007

I love Dallas Lutheran! I highly recommend this school for prospective viewers! I have so much fun!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 20, 2007

Dallas Lutheran is an excellent school. My two children love going there everyday. They offer a wonderful Christian environment with strong academics. There's an emphasis on community service and excellent college prep. You'll find the staff and faculty responsive to you and your child's needs. It's been a great school for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2007

My son is starting his fourth year at Dallas Lutheran and he loves it! The best assets this school has are the teachers and staff. It is a loving and caring Christian environment. They really do walk the walk. Great athletics. Strong academics. Strong college prep. Fantastic school for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

My daughter loves it! This is such a great school. The curriculum and academics are really strong, but there is a great emphasis on fine arts as well. They also have plenty of extracurricular activities. I highly recommend that prospective parents visit the school while it's in session. What a positive experience!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2005

Super place. Strong academics with supportive staff. I was impressed with the values of the students, a good reflection of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 84% 31%
Black 6% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 5% 4%
Hispanic 3% 51%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran church - missouri synod
Associations
  • LSAC
Fax number
  • (214) 340-3095

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8494 Stults Road
Dallas, TX 75243
Phone: (214) 349-8912

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT