Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

7-12|Private
194 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
55 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 71 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dallas Lutheran School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 31, 2015
- a student
The teachers truly do care for the students. You can pretty much talk to them about anything and the religion teacher always has her door open to students who need help.

Dallas Lutheran School 5

Posted October 31, 2015
- a student
Dallas Lutheran is a great sure there's room for improvement like any other school but the atmosphere of the school is really family like. The teachers and student body are really nice and a great thing about this school is that it's not really clique and the teachers will help you 1 on 1 if you ask for it.


Dallas Lutheran School 5

Posted January 15, 2015
- a community member
DL is an incredible, nurturing school environment. Most of the students are in sports, arts, etc. Everyone can find a place to belong. Each student must look for their niche within the DL community. I believe that there is something for everyone. The center of everything is Christ--the classroom, and extra-curriculars. The academics are superior to those in public school, even the AP and dual credit classes are better than the ones experienced in DISD. Students are learning how to study and learn. They will be prepared for success in college and life when they graduate from DL. Mr. Bangert, Mr. Nitz, and Mr. Krause are continually looking for ways to improve the school. They are making great strides in technology, fine arts, and school community. The school board and administration are seeking out ways to bring in more students and build a strong community environment. Go check out DL and find out for yourself what it is like.

Dallas Lutheran School 1

Posted January 06, 2015
- a community member
I think of this school as a joke. My child came home everyday and when I asked them what they did in school, they would show me the work and it would be something you would do in 3rd grade. I can't believe I payed money for my child to go to this school.

Dallas Lutheran School 5

Posted November 04, 2014
- a parent
Dallas Lutheran has provided a very good education for my son while giving him the opportunity to participate in all sports for a "sports minded" kid. He feels successful and apart of a good organization.


Dallas Lutheran School 1

Posted September 03, 2014
- a parent
I am a parent of a former student. Would not recommend. Very small. Teachers are not professional. If you are not an athlete - the coaches will bully your child. I did not see Christ like behavior at this school.

Dallas Lutheran School 1

Posted May 30, 2014
- a community member
There are a few good good things like the school spirit and school events but that is all. Besides the fact that the academics are not challenging, it is just sad that I hated my year there. I begged my parents to leave. Thank goodness I left. The Teachers were nice but they did not look out for any students well-being. So many kids in my grade have serious issues with either bullying, disorders, and an all around lazy attitude. Of course everyone has issues but this school was full of them. If you are not a school athlete and you don't drink good luck making friends. Some people enjoy their experience sure, but I found that people at public school were more Christ-like than anyone at Lutheran. I'm sorry I hope they improve. The teachers can not make the kids be more respectful but they could at least monitor them better and encourage finding strength in God - not drugs or pride.

Dallas Lutheran School 1

Posted November 25, 2013
- a community member
This is a student's point of view who used to go hear. I left this school because it didn't help prepare me for collage and their way of helping you doesn't work. This school made me so miserable that I begged my mom to take me out and go to another school. I'm currently going to a new school called Bending Oaks and It's so much better than Dallas Lutheran. I have been learning more stuff and use full things at things at this school. I highly recommend it for all students.


Dallas Lutheran School 5

Posted November 14, 2013
- a parent
The teachers and staff of Dallas Lutheran know the students by name and are dedicated to helping them achieve their goals. I highly recommend DLS to parents who want to prepare their son or daughter for college as well as teach them the importance of community service and family commitments. Dallas Lutheran is a refreshing change to other private schools in Dallas. The class size is small and allows for better communication between teachers, students and parents. Students and teachers use iPads as part of the school curriculum. Dallas Lutheran provides a wonderful positive environment for learning and succeeding.

Dallas Lutheran School 5

Posted October 01, 2013
- a parent
Having had children in four private Christian schools and Park Cities public, we can attest that Dallas Lutheran does an incredible job of getting students into colleges of their choice and allows them to obtain college credit for classes. Teachers and students use iPads with integrated technology. Some subjects are "Flipped" classrooms with youtube lessons, so students may access lectures 24/7, while most written problems are completed in class the following day. This cutting-edge technique allows more one-on-one time with students and opportunity for more questions, to promote mastery of topics. The infrastructure to insure success of the students is exceptional, and we've never found such supportive teachers. Kids graduating from DL are undoubtedly prepared for college, but lack being burned-out, stressed-out, and anxiety-ridden before they enter adulthood. The pace allows families to enjoy life or a hobby outside of school without forfeiting their precious time, never to be recovered. That aspect alone has been life-changing for us. Our kids are much happier, healthier, and we are all more rested. Kids can recover their childhood and enjoy it while they still can!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dallas Lutheran School
8494 Stults Road, Dallas, TX  75243
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 71 reviews. (214) 349-8912
Last modified Dallas Lutheran School is a Private school that serves grades 7-12
Top