Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
334 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Akiba Academy Of Dallas 5

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
As a proud Akiba parent, I can say that the school is thriving under the direction of a new head of school. In my experience, the students, teachers and staff have all benefited from this change. The students have seen the addition of new programs, like a 5th grade Lion King production in Hebrew, a new Physics garden, and two Israeli young women who are helping the kids learn about Israel. Myself and other parents also enjoy great events like the Casino Night fundraiser that benefits the school, and the weekly Shabbat service with our kids. The families that I know are all thrilled and excited about what the upcoming school year will bring. It’s been a great year making new friends at Akiba and feeling welcomed.

Akiba Academy Of Dallas 1

Posted January 14, 2016
- a parent
The school is having major issues. They brought in a new headmaster who is now in their second year. We have not seen the changes we expected. People are leaving by the masses. The school seems to be controlled by one or two families. They are not open to new ideas and changes. They would rather just let families like ours who have been there a while walk away and put their children somewhere else. New leadership as in the head of the school and also the entire school board need to be replaced.


Akiba Academy Of Dallas 5

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
From the moment you walk into Akiba, you feel warmth. We have been an Akiba family for 7 years now. I love that all three of my children love school. As an educator myself, I am proud that they are getting such a fulfilling education in both Judaics and General Studies. What is so amazing to me is how at such a young age, my children know who they are and are proud to be Jewish. We are not Modern Orthodox; however, we feel comfortable and just as part of the community as anyone else. What more could we ask for?

Akiba Academy Of Dallas 5

Posted October 26, 2015
- a parent
Akiba Academy is an excellent school with warm teachers in a welcoming community. Students at Akiba learn academic content in both general and Jewish studies and learn how to be kind, contributing members to their community and the world. What an amazing foundation for kids in preschool through 8th grade!

Akiba Academy Of Dallas 5

Posted April 24, 2015
- a parent
I have loved our experience at Akiba! We've been here for a decade, and have found it outstanding educationally and as a community. The teachers are warm and try to help each student meet their individual goals. The Jewish life is rich and welcoming. Jews from across the religious spectrum feel comfortable and embraced. It's rare to find a Modern Orthodox school that meets the needs of students from all backgrounds, but Akiba truly fulfills that goal. The teachers and administrators are approachable and really listen to concerns, and very much view their role as being "teammates" with the parents. I couldn't be happier!


Akiba Academy Of Dallas 1

Posted April 14, 2015
- a parent
The experience at Akiba is a very mixed one. The children are nice and kind and make friends easily. The administration is very unorganized and has no clue how to run a school. They speak numerous times on their website about how wonderful their curriculum is. When you ask them for copies of the curriculum or what is going on they will not give it to you. The teachers just sort of do their own thing. The new head of school they hired has no experience being the head of school much less a principal at a school before. She is clueless. They got rid of their robotics program midway through the year for a lack of funding. They are judgmental if you are not the same level of Jewish faith as the Rabbi at the school. The school is controlled and run pretty much by several families who controls what goes on. If you complain, the answer is just leave and go somewhere else and by the way we are not giving you your tuition back. When we experienced this they hired an attorney, one of their own, and he could not separate what is best from the child for what his on beliefs are. He has done harm to our child by his actions and so has the board and head of school. They are a bunch of bullies.

Akiba Academy Of Dallas 3

Posted March 12, 2014
- a community member
Great for individuals who are Modern Orthodox. Nice family involvement. Singapore Math is an interesting experiment. They like to pick and choose who they will help. Very expensive if paying full tuition.

Akiba Academy Of Dallas 4

Posted May 17, 2011
- a parent
School where your child better be good in Hebrew, have money live in the right area and know "Singapore Math"---Great ratio of student to teachers. They seem to try hard. Children dyslexic need not apply. "The cut backs" in help for any child with learning differences will be well known AFTER you pay your money. The website promise of "genuine, passionate, forward thinking, well balanced and centered" is just a good line for the money from the Jewish Federation. "The cut backs" and concern of a dual curriculum kicks in later---just make sure they know Singapore math--keep kosher,go to the right temple and are up to date with the Hebrew and your child should be fine. The assistant head of schools will ambush you with meetings later ---and then the fun begins.


Akiba Academy Of Dallas 5

Posted September 04, 2003
- a parent
If you want your child to grow up to be a 'mensch', send them to Akiba! If you want your child to grow up with the skills they need to fulfill their dreams, send them to Akiba! If you want to make lifelong friends for your child and yourself, come join our family!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Akiba Academy Of Dallas
12324 Merit Drive, Dallas, TX  75251
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 27 reviews. (244) 295-3400
Last modified Akiba Academy Of Dallas is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top