Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Ursuline Academy of Dallas

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dallas

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $239,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 11, 2007

As an alumni, its a great school! Prepared me well for college!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 7, 2007

I currently attend Ursuline Academy. I absolutely love the school. I have made many friends that I know I will have for a long time. My mom went to Ursuline and she still is really good friends from high school. The academics are outstanding and there are countless extracurricular activities for the students to get involved in. I would recommend Ursuline to any young woman that wants to make great friends, have a wonderful high school experience, and learn a lot.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 20, 2006

This school is incredible. The academics, sports, and other curricular activities are amazing. I currently attend Ursuline and from the second I set foot in that school I knew that was where I belonged. The teachers are excellent and the curriculum provided is top notch. There are many opportunities to take ap classes. Another great part about Ursuline is that it offers many foreign languages such as spanish, chinese, french, and latin. The students that attend this school have many options for classes. Ursuline presents many highly admirable qualities. Ursuline academy should be your top choice when choosing a high school! I love Ursuline
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2006

If you value Catholism and expect UA to enrich your daughter in her faith, pass on enrolling her at Ursuline. If you have deep pockets, you'll fit in with the parents. If not, you'll never be accepted. Overall it was not a good experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2006

My niece went to Ursuline for her first two years of high school and it simply was not the school for her. She was not involved on any of the athletic teams, nor did she have an overly high intellect; therefore, she just never fit in. She was part of the student body who just didn't 'fit the mold.' Thus, if your daughter is slightly 'on the edge' in terms of her social life, you might want to consider a more diverse student population at a public high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

Ursuline is a great school that offers everything to its students. They offer sports, art, music and many more extracurricular activities. The academics are top rate.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 18, 2006

Two of my children graduated from this school. I've been in four private schools with my children over the years. All have ups and downs, but overall, I maintain that Ursuline had a constant focus on best development process for the girls, even during tumultuous times and changing leadership.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

Except for a few extraordinary teachers, this is more of a finishing school for trophy wives.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 24, 2005

Ursuline Academy is a great private school for young women. Ursuline stress the importance of serviam to serve others at the same time, growing as an individual. Academics are highly rated and graduates go onto Ivy League colleges and Universities.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 8, 2005

The fact that this is an all girl school allows the students to express themselves intellectually without ever feeling embarrassed. The strict curriculum allows the students to be accepted in some of the most prestigious colleges. The environment is extremely welcoming, and friendships are formed there that will last a lifetime.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2004

I'm a student at Ursuline. The academics of the school are very challenging which is a plus of the school. But the school gives us, the students, little freedom in expressing ourselves. If your views do not fit what the administration thinks is appropriate you get in trouble. The girls at Ursuline are great, there a true mix of views about all issues, which allows you to become close friends.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 11, 2004

I am a parent of a junior at Ursuline. The girls must really work, but are very prepared for college. The school is well organized and safe, as a parent I have few issues except the inaccessability of the administration. The teachers have for the most part been very supportive of my daughter and are available when I needed to speak with them. The counceling office is good. The girls are amazing young women. Helpful and supportive of each other with less cliqueiness than at other schools. If you can deal with the inflexibility of the procedures and administration, then you and your daughter will enjoy Ursuline.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

I just graduated from Ursuline and if I had do it again... I wouldn't. The administration is extremely insincere and their main focus is getting money from you. If you donate money to the school then you are worth their time. They believe they are superior to everyone; although I have to admit some of the teachers there are nice and care about their students, but most do not even know how to teach. Most of the people there (students, administration) are close-minded and naive. So my piece of advice is: If you want your kid to live in a bubble and grow up around people thinking they are better than everyone else...Ursuline is the place for you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 8, 2004

I'm currently a senior here at Ursuline. It is definately challenging but I believe the teachers push you to your best. The all girls environment was the best decision I've ever made. The teachers here are excellent and willing to go the extra mile to help you. I definately recommend Ursuline for the focused student!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2003

The social environment is great - generally good set of girls attend here and girls are not as 'catty' as they are at other girls. But the administration can be sufficating. Students have little freedom academically and behaviorally - and not in a beneficial way. Work load is extremely strenuous - although it challenges the student be prepared for the possibilty of a a lower grade for the effort than if you were attending a public school- which you might want to think about before you start applying for colleges. A plus is that there is a large variety of extracurriculars a student can get involved in- everything from athletics to the arts to community service.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 37%
Hispanic 13% 47%
Black 3% 14%
Two or more races 3% N/A
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Elizabeth Bourgeois
Gender
  • All girls
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NAIS
  • NCEA
  • NCGS
Fax number
  • (469) 232-1836

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Dallas
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4900 Walnut Hill Ln
Dallas, TX 75229
Website: Click here
Phone: (469) 232-1800

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Oak Hill Academy
Dallas, TX






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT