Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Private
Dallas, TX
Students enrolled: 232
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


J Erik Jonsson Community School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
There are about 2 home visits (that is the teacher arriving at your home and speaking to you about your child as well as providing educational activities for your family) and about 3 parent teacher conferences monthly.

J Erik Jonsson Community School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
Involving parents in every way possible helps each student to be determined, if the student observes parent, teacher and themselves be persistence towards the same goal they all have the same determination


J Erik Jonsson Community School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
Compassion, Caring and empathy are 3 of the main goals that are included is the schools mission handbook.

J Erik Jonsson Community School 5

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was enrolled at J Erik Jonsson Community school (which is now, "Momentous Institute") at the age of 3 but because she wasn't fully potty trained they did not accept her. The school assimilates a very stern demeanor when it comes to accepting students. The process is followed by filling an application, once the application is review they will call you for an evaluation, they will test your child and also take a picture so make sure they are very well groomed. once i received the acceptance letter, i literally burst out in tears, i was so ecstatic for her to attend here since I've heard so many awesome reviews about it (i have nieces and nephews, that attend this private school and so did my husband). I love every single thing about this school, the environment from the teachers to the janitor exceed my expectations. They involve parents/guardians at all times. My daughters experience here has been amazing, her first school and first teacher (Cristina Garcia) have been a success and that's just 1 of many things i can mark off my "expectation for my daughters future" list... check _/

J Erik Jonsson Community School 5

Posted June 11, 2009
- a parent
This is a laboratory school which in itself promotes openness and transparency. Excellent teaching while socializing youngsters in appropriate behavior. Opportunities galore. Top self Music and Art. Co-ed sports program in 5th. Check out results. Salesmanship Club mentors and picks up the tab for many extras. SSSH!! Very well kept secret in the Oak Cliff.


J Erik Jonsson Community School 5

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
This is school is a gem! They have a very high quality teaching staff that puts students and their learning at the heart of everything that they do. The atmosphere is very positive, and you can tell that students enjoy being there!

J Erik Jonsson Community School 5

Posted September 22, 2006
- a parent
This school is the best school I have seen around. My son looks forward to going to school every day. The way they are treated is incredible, its like the teachers want to be there. The really care about parent involvement and volunteering. Their academic programs are also excellent and even the pre-k has access to music, art, gym and computers.

J Erik Jonsson Community School 5

Posted September 14, 2006
- a parent
The school is wonderful.I love it b/c it has a 3 yr old program so children can start learning at an early age.The school has parents be involved in the school regardless if it just volunteering in the cafeteria.As parents you can feel for certain that your children will learn b/c of the small class ratios.


J Erik Jonsson Community School 5

Posted June 14, 2006
- a teacher
Awesome school.Excellent teachers and wonderful facility. Top-notch Music and Art program. Students seem to love coming to school.

J Erik Jonsson Community School 5

Posted April 12, 2006
- a parent
This school is teriffic. Their percentages on state test are phenominal and their attendance records are superb. They have a great music program that presents at least 5 plays/musicals a year. Every student participates unless their families religious beleifs prohibits them. Parents are required to help in the cafeteria between 10-12 days per year and are also encouraged to visit classes and participate in class activities.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

J Erik Jonsson Community School
106 East 10th Street, Dallas, TX  75203
(214) 915-1890
Last modified J Erik Jonsson Community School is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
J Erik Jonsson Community School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top