Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Mcwhorter Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
I want to say thanks to Mrs. Andrea Smith who was always their for my oldest daughter.

Mcwhorter Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
Kids at this school do not respect each other for the bad attitudes they give to other kids who didn't deserve it in the beginning.


Mcwhorter Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
If they care they wouldn't bully my daughters and hurting their feeling to where they can't take it anymore.

Mcwhorter Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
By stopping kids from bulling each other and the Principal to do what she said she would.

Mcwhorter Elementary School 1

Posted November 17, 2015
- a parent
They are really bad when it comes to kids being bullied. My two daughters were being bullied every since 2013-2015. My husband and I decided to go personally to the Principal and tell her my two daughters are being bullied since last school year of 2014-2015, til this day still they have not done nothing about it. We've decided to relocate them to another school. Just seeing them two crying can really hurt your feelings.


Mcwhorter Elementary School 5

Posted January 23, 2015
- a parent
As the parent below mentioned, "parents had the children" and parents are the child's first and most important teacher in their lives. Teachers are there to help YOU help your child succeed. In order for students to succeed parents must first do their parts at home. It seems that you are trying but instead of blaming 100% on teachers try to find resources outside of school(Google Texas TEKS or go to library) Teachers are not there to hurt children's education, they are simply trying to help parents. They prepare 6 lessons a day plus copies plus intervention and tutoring lessons and meetings. Have you volunteered to help her/him?... They will see your child for a year but after that your child is still your responsibility and yours alone. Hope this helps. :)

Mcwhorter Elementary School 2

Posted January 14, 2015
- a parent
We recently relocated to Texas after finishing active duty service overseas. I had read other reviews of McWhorter and at first, felt very confident in sending my son here. However, after attending since this academic year started (2014-2015), I am severely disappointed. As another reviewer said, there is ZERO information being sent home concerning days off, policy changes, staff changes, etc. Parents do need to be in the know despite what others thing. The only information that I hear on a consistent basis is concerning parking and drop-offs for the morning. Homework is inconsistent and when asked about that fact, I was told that "it changes from week to week and depends on what we get through". I have asked for extra work because my son is weak in math and never comes home with any homework--I was referred to a website that doesn't even present problems in the same format at state testing. How can I expect him to get better if the work taught at school is not reinforced at home? I understand that this can be a teacher, not a school issue. However, when I hear about the same problems with different grades, classes, etc., then at that time it becomes a SCHOOL issue.

Mcwhorter Elementary School 4

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
I had my child transferred into this school going into kindergarten and I have loved the support that I have gotten from his teacher and the staff. From what I have seen is it there is an issue with a child all teachers will try to get involved to assist. Now with that said... it is up to us parents to be just as involved. I work in child care myself and I know that it is not easy but as a PARENT I am involved. You have yo be involved some kind of way. We had our kids not the school, staff, or the teachers!!!


Mcwhorter Elementary School 4

Posted December 10, 2013
- a parent
I really like the teachers' involvement level, their compromise with the students are very seriously; however the learning process of every child does not depend only on their teachers, the parents involvement is also important in their learning.

Mcwhorter Elementary School 2

Posted September 12, 2011
- a parent
no info being sent to parents.... and no info about policys..... i keep geting told that the only ppl that need to know any thing going on or changeing is the students not the parents...

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Mcwhorter Elementary School
3678 Timberglen Road, Dallas, TX  75287
(972) 968-2600
Last modified Mcwhorter Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Mcwhorter Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top