Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 55 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


58 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Golden Rule Charter School 1

Posted August 24, 2014
- a teacher
The teachers are given out of date curriculum. There is no pacing guide for the subject areas.Very few teachers have over 5 years of experience. Teachers stay for a few years and move on. The school board gave the teachers a raise this year in hopes to keep teachers. The school has been open nearly 10 years and you would expect the school to be further along. The teachers are expected to be at the school by 7:30 and stay until 4:15. The SPED department has had multiple administrators and doesn't have all the paper work in order. Dr. Vicente Delgado has large amount of family/ church employees working for the school. The church family employees are in HR, daycare, kidzone, custodians, cafeteria, security, and cafeteria meals. There is a lacking amount of resource given to the teacher. The students are tested 3 weeks test, 6 weeks test, and benchmarks. This year the teachers were not notified properly of the number of ELL's in the classroom until May.The students were not given differentiation needs or expectations that the state requires for children who are ELL. Teachers must submit a print request and could wait from 24 hours-36hours.

Golden Rule Charter School 1

Posted August 15, 2014
- a teacher
I used to work for this district and I agree that they are limited on materials and technology. Students are very sweet but the administration lacks organization. It's a good district were they have loving teachers but the students deserve a bigger school district with more opportunities to grow. Public schools offer more opportunities than charter schools.


Golden Rule Charter School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
My child attended GRS since PK and is now headed for High School. And was accepted to a recognized magnet school! Sad to see that former employees bash on the school but when they were in need for money/job they accepted the position, shows where their hearts really were! Shame on you! IF you didn;t like the job you should've quit sooner! I didn't agree with all the strict rules BUT now I see that this helped in their formation because where my child was accepted they are expected to go above and beyond. Thank you GRS Administration & Teachers for the impact you had on my child! Quite a few 8th graders were accepted to various Magnet/Early College High Schools this should say something about GRS!!!! Way to go!!!!

Golden Rule Charter School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
Great school! Es bueno saber que esta escuela esta en el area donde es mas necesitada por la comunidad Hispana!

Golden Rule Charter School 5

Posted August 14, 2014
- a parent
You will always have unhappy teachers when things don't go their way. I work at a large ISD and I see it all the time. The teachers at GRS do care for the children and the environment is better than other schools. I would not move my kids from GRS district. You will always find something negative anywhere you go but thats life live with it or move. Charter Schools are a school of choice. And those teachers commenting negative more than likely got fired and now they are bad mouthing the schools. My husband and I have never experienced anything extreme at GRS. We are so excited for the new school year! Go EAGLES!!!


Golden Rule Charter School 1

Posted August 11, 2014
- a teacher
As a former teacher, please take your child to a different district where they will be exposed to many forms of technology and resources. This school district is horrible!!! The HR head is two faced and they are always firing teachers. Please take your child to a district where they will receive a better education. I am happy to be gone from that district and to a bigger and supportive district.

Golden Rule Charter School 1

Posted November 22, 2013
- a community member
This school is horrible looking inside and out. They lack structure and organization. The people who work there are very unprofessional and do not have the skills necessary to provide an educational service to children. Why do they even have these schools. They are a joke.

Golden Rule Charter School 4

Posted October 07, 2013
- a parent
My child attends Golden Rule Oak Cliff and Nueva Vida Daycare and as been for years. As a parent I may not like some of the strict uniform or other policies at times but I can undersand why nowadays they are needed. The safety of the children is important to me and the school. They jsut can not just let anyone come onto the grounds and pick up children or attend ceremonies. My child is learning and growing with her classmates, she is fond of her teachers and staff. She is happy there and as long as she is happy and learning and her saftey is important there then she will continue to attend. Yes maybe there could be some teachers or staff that may not be up to some peoples standards but there are those issues at all schools period. So hey parents communicate with their child about school and what goes on there and your childs teacher, stay informed make their face known around the school with staff and teachers, when in doubt or don't understand something speak up get answers get involved it is all for the benifit of your kid and their education. It is not just the teachers job alone to see that your kid gets the most out of school, it is the parents job as well.


Golden Rule Charter School 1

Posted June 20, 2013
- a teacher
There are worse places to enroll your child or work. If you are looking for someplace that will accept a teacher-intern, then go for it. You can do one year there to get your certification. If you are an experienced teacher, DO NOT accept a contract at GRCS. The students are largely homogeneous and very behind, but decently behaved. The students are not the problem; the administration is the problem. You cannot make your own copies; you will not get copies when needed. There is no curriculum; the textbooks are severely outdated or just unusable. Classrooms are undersized and overfilled. There is no library. You will be lied to from your initial interview until you walk away. Some teachers are not certified; many have a limited proficiency in English. The students are required to take comprehensive 3 week, 6 week and benchmark exams each term. Attendance records are not accurately kept. If you send a student to the office, it will count against your PDAS evaluation; there is little to no administrative support for student discipline. If a parent is late, they must pay the church for babysitting. Few rooms had working technology or heat/AC. You will have ZERO budget money.

Golden Rule Charter School 4

Posted May 28, 2013
- a parent
It is evident that the parent complaining here is one of those that teach his or her children the wrong thing. My children attended other schools and districts where they have the same rule. If parent follow the rules they should not have anything to complain. Perhaps this one would complain if the school would do nothing when a tragedy happens.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Golden Rule Charter School
2602 West Illinois Avenue, Dallas, TX  75233
(214) 333-9171
Last modified Golden Rule Charter School is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Golden Rule Charter School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 58 reviews. Top