Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Dayton High School

Public | 9-12 | 1391 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2009

Great school district two years ahead of DODDS systems in South Korea. Military schools (DODDS) stink! The teachers in Dayton, ISD really care about the students education. Dayton, is a Christian community and I like it that way. God Bless all of the Dayton, ISD teachers and the community. We really miss you all. Ingrid Smith (military depd. South Korea)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

I am currently a student at Dayton High School. I think Dayton High School is great. Here at Dayton they give you so many chances to graduate. They always put students first. If you attended this High School and did not receive a diploma it simply means that you did not try. The staff members do their best trying to help us students graduate so we can proceed with our lives. You should give them a chance, learn what they're about. Don't judge our school by what you've heard. If you have attended this school, you know exactly how much everyone tries. We're not about the money. The money goes to the school and its needs.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 23, 2006

This school is great all together. But the one thing that really gets me is all the money they ask for. $5.00 for a parking pass, $100.00 a class for summer school, $50.00 for prom tickets. It is just crazy that we have to come up with the money for all this stuff. $5.00 for a parking pass ok. As for summer school and prom. We went to summer school for free and why does it have to be $100.00 a class what about people who can't afford that. What is the money used for. As for prom we had fun raisers to pay for the place to have the prom and for decoratinos. Yes the kids get a good education, but it seems to me all the school is interestred in is makeing as much money as the can get their grubby little hands on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2006

I am a former student of Dayton High School and I am in the Marines now. Dayton High school gave me the tools I needed to be a good person and choose my own path. Parent involvement is important but also is the Childs freedom. Give the childern a chance to make mistakes and learn for them. I agree that more extracurricular activities should be made but I belive we should not just focus on them. Students need to understand that their school work comes first. To end this I will say as a father, I would love for my son to go to this school. I loved it when I went there and so would he. Timothy McFarland (T.J.)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 5, 2005

Dayton high school is full of very knowledgeable teachers, who are always willing to go that extra distanc to help their students. i highly recommend this school district for any students.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 9, 2005

The district, in its entirety, seems to harshly restrain individual thinking and full potential. Instead of encouraging students to think for themselves and prepare for the world ahead, they are shamefully constrained and told what to think, say and feel. This supremely disappoints me, and arouses great concern for the students at Dayton High School. What are they to do in the years to come when all they've been taught is to follow, not pursue their own course? I commend the district for continuously striving to include more extra-curricular activity and encouraging student involvement, and this alone is one of the few reasons that I provide the rating I have given. However, if the school keeps passing these kids through as followers, we are discouraging individuality and promoting dependency. Do we want or need that? No.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2005

The academic program exist in black and white, but getting the majority of the teachers interested in the level where your child is is not going to happen. It's never the teacher's fault for your child not understanding, it's the child's fault. My child is not the brightest, but my child could benefit from a little more assistance. I try to be involved, but in many cases they are too secretive and you can feel, hear and see the racial discrimination.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

The teachers that my student has contact with are all very helpful with problems with his understanding work or with issues that require our involvement. Many parents are not involved with their childrens schooling or their activities and therefore it henders the advancement for other students. Found that upper management has difficultiy with handling some of the issues on a fair and bias standing. Extracurricular activities do need to have attention from the Administration to enable all areas of sports to be available even if it is not desireable for the staff. This is for the children's enhancement for the next step of their future. Overall rating is Fair.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2005

I think that cheerleader tryouts should be private and not in front of the whole school. this can be discouraging and people may make unnecessary comments that are discouraging, not to mention 25% of the vote being from peers. if a person dislikes another who is trying out, they would not vote that person based on solely that. to sum that up, that part is a popularity contest. i think there could stand to be a larger variety of extracurricular activities, but there are a good amount that cover plenty of interests and the reputation for them is excellent. parent involvement is in good standing for the few that are involved, but many parents aren't or don't care. many students are lacking in this area. it's not necessarily their fault. and discipline-wise, a lot of bad behavior is overlooked or treated lightly, as well as not seen at all.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

363 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

365 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

365 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

357 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

351 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

356 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

301 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

294 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
98%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students98%
Female99%
Male97%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged99%
Special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Math

All Students90%
Female89%
Male91%
Black or African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Science

All Students96%
Female95%
Male96%
Black or African American89%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a

Social Studies

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African American96%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
93%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

319 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
21%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

393 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
86%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

430 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

445 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
53%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

328 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

32 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
41%
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

399 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
77%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

326 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
24%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students89%
Female89%
Male88%
Black or African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education59%
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)77%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted89%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracial100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education40%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)45%
Proficient in English83%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted81%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
Black or African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education46%
Not special education84%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students73%
Female71%
Male75%
Black or African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education54%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)30%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted72%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students52%
Female60%
Male44%
Black or African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special education13%
Not special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English54%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant52%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted51%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students42%
Female52%
Male34%
Black or African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Special education0%
Not special education45%
Limited English proficient (LEP)14%
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant42%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted42%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students72%
Female73%
Male70%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special education23%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant72%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted70%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students41%
Female51%
Male31%
Black or African American34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
Multiracial43%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Special education15%
Not special education43%
Limited English proficient (LEP)0%
Proficient in English43%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant41%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted38%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Female100%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education100%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English100%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant100%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted100%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Non-migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students70%
Female66%
Male74%
Black or African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education30%
Not special education73%
Limited English proficient (LEP)39%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant70%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students58%
Female49%
Male67%
Black or African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracial57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education41%
Not special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)10%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant58%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted55%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 31%
Hispanic 23% 50%
Black 9% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr Travis Young
Fax number
  • (936) 257-4048

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3200 N Cleveland
Dayton, TX 77535
Website: Click here
Phone: (936) 258-2510

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT