Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cambridge Square Private School 5

Posted November 28, 2010
- a parent
My daughter attended this school from the age of 3 (PK3) through the 6th grade. The academics were stellar and provided an incredible educational foundation for success. I would highly recommend Cambridge, just start your child at an early age. The pace was fast and the test scores proved my child was testing all the way up to high school levels in some areas. If your focus is academics, this is the place to be. Extra curricular activities are not available. My daughter received exactly what she needed from it. She has self initiative, is well mannered and is performing at the top of her class at her new school. Thank you Cambridge!

Cambridge Square Private School 1

Posted May 29, 2010
- a parent
Cambridge square appears to be a good school when you inquire but after my child enrolled it is was a poor choice. It is a family-owned private school with many teachers that are not certified. This school has a limited number of teachers and students at each grade level. Pre-k -7th classes are merged often and combined into one class because of their low ratio of students and teachers. They do not have the funds for adequate cafeteria staff/vendors so they purchase food for lunch at fast food restaurants( long john silvers, taco bueno, taco bell, pizza hut etc). They do not have a robotics program as advertised with their enrollment packet/website. Prek-3rd grade children are not monitored accurately and are at risk for their safety because of their limited numbers of teachers/ funds. They accept all applicants and will allows any student to attend (behavior problems). Strongly not recommended!


Cambridge Square Private School 0
no rating

Posted May 04, 2010
- a parent
I researched many schools and Cambridge Square is an AWESOME school for Pre-K through 3rd grade! They have an intense focus on academics! The tuition is affordable and there's no screening so it is a perfect school to start your child's education. Only complaint is there's a lack of communication with parents. I twice found out my child was performing in a program THE DAY OF! While the teachers are great (especially Ms. Johnson), I agree with the other commenter - the administration (principals) do not seem to appreciate (or even want sometimes) parent involvement. I've offered to volunteer many times and it seems it's almost an offense to them! It IS a family-run school, so there may be some control-freak issues. With all this, I would STILL do it all over again. For Pre-K through 3rd, you just can't beat the academics there!

Cambridge Square Private School 5

Posted April 29, 2010
- a student
I have been going to this school for 6 years and became very smart and prepared for college.The kids are nice and friendly.I would highly recommend this school.It teaches you a year ahead of your grade.

Cambridge Square Private School 3

Posted April 12, 2010
- a parent
The things that attracted us to the school were the robotics program, diversity, small class sizes, and qualified teachers. Over the past few years, the school has not offered the robotics program, and a change in the city's demographics has changed the diversity scale. The classes are small, but that s due to enrollment decline and the number of qualified teachers. The school does not screen its applicants, which has led the school to admit students with academic and behavior problems. Those kids are being thrust into an environment they are not prepared for which leads to distraction of the other students. Additionally, because of a limited number of teachers and students at each grade level, they have merged classes, 5 - 7th are all combined into one class. There are no extracurricular activities for the kids. The Pre-K thru 3rd grade program provides a good foundation.


Cambridge Square Private School 4

Posted February 10, 2009
- a parent
This school is one of the best in the area. I'm truely sad that my child will not be able to attend next year since he will be in Jr. high. The classes are small so that allows the teachers to be more available to the students. Assignments are posted online so the parents know what their children are doing. The teachers are firm with the students and the principle is strict (like a grandfather). If more schools had REAL no tolerence policies like Cambridge Square, there might not be so much turmoil in public education. The only con is the fact that there are no extra curricular activities for the kids to participate in.

Cambridge Square Private School 3

Posted August 07, 2008
- a parent
The children do perform well on the test, however the trend for the last 3 years show a decline in their once stellar test scores and top-rated educational process. However, because of the lack of admission testing, change in demographics, and administration's absence in the classroom, the lowered standards have affected the schools overall performance. We spent 3 years there and witnessed the decline. The principals aren't responsive to the parents' needs, in fact, they aren't very appreciative of the parents' involvement. We had planned to stay there until Jr. High, however that has changed, and they no longer have enough enrollment to support grades past the 3rd grade. Also, the robotics and other 'award winning' programs haven't been offered in a few years. The teaching staff has also suffered losses and the lack of benefits for teachers hasn't afforded the school to attract or retain qualified teachers, i.e., degreed.

Cambridge Square Private School 2

Posted August 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Cambridge Square Private School 1

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cambridge Square Private School 3

Posted September 28, 2006
- a former student
Students seem to perform higher on math because they are taught using the excel math program which is 1 grade higher than regular schools. School has a high teacher turnover and the owners who are the principal and asst. principal are not very responsive to parent needs. My son did well for the year that he was there. The school has a lot of potential.If they can stem the flow of teachers leaving and higher quality replacements and subs, it would be a really good school. No extra-curricular activities like band/soccer are offered, just the robotics program.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cambridge Square Private School
1121 E Pleasant Run Rd, De Soto, TX  75115
(972) 224-5596
Last modified Cambridge Square Private School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Cambridge Square Private School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top