Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Canterbury Episcopal School

Private | K-12 | 265 students

 

Living in De Soto

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 12, 2010

This school is an excellent college preparatory school. My daughter has learned so much while at Canterbury and is learning 2 grade levels above her local public school friends. Lyn Baker, the head of school is amazing and loves the school and children. The teachers in the primary school are exemplary and truly care about the children and their welfare. We absolutely love Canterbury and would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2010

I left this school in the middle of my high school career. The new headmistress, Lyn Baker, is a witch and is barely involved with the students at all. She often likes to make a scene in front of the student body and has fired some of the best faculty members this school has ever seen. The atmosphere there is a stressful and bitter one. There is no more room left for arts, it has been taken over by the sports which are trying to grow bigger despite the lack of resources the school has. There is no choir, no theatre, and for years the art teachers were not given enough money for their supplies so they were forced to water it down to have enough. This school has become a sad excuse for a college prep school.


Posted June 4, 2010

this is a horrrible school, a lemonade stand has more professionalism! the administration has zero structure. the tuition costs an arm and a leg, and even after that they try to slyly put in random fees (most times $250 or more) then even after that they are asking for us to donate like crazy! and if you don't donate that much they will treat your child unfairly. you cannot pick most of your classes. their are pretty much only 3 electives. the athletics consist of badly planned middle school sports and mediocre high school athletics. the teachers overall are not good. some of them plain out tell bullying is not addressed at all. ahild can be told on for innapropraite pics of them and nothing will be done about it. many students feel that the school is rasict is certain areas. please do not ruin your child's future.


Posted May 18, 2010

This is a great school, my daughter has been there two years and is headed into high school when school starts again. Both she and I are looking forward to graduation in a few years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2010

This school would be fine for a K-possibly 5th grader, but beyond that I would not recommend it. The tuition is very high in relation to the opportunities available, especially once the student is in high school. AP and Performing Arts are lacking. The school is not on sound financial footing so do your research and ask questions before you commit.


Posted April 20, 2010

My child has been in Canterbury for 3 years now and we were looking forward to graduation. This school is not for the median class who are looking for a better opportunity for our young people. They go up in tuition every year but do not offer better quality learning skills. The principal shows favoritism in between students as well. If a parent is not able to make a certain amount of donations, he will pick on that student as much as he can. If a student is struggling with a subject, there is no comprehension or interest to help that student succeed. Yes, Canterbury used to be a great institution, specially in the south area, but now it is not that great. I believe the principal really has a problem with the median and poor class, and unfortunately because of people like that is why this country is so bad.


Posted February 1, 2010

As with all schools, do your research before making an informed choice about your child's school. Canterbury is looking for a particular TYPE of student. Beware that if your child does not meet the mold, Canterbury may not be able to meet their needs. All children are unique in their own way. These special characterisitics should be nurtured. Nurturing may not be Canterbury's strong suit. I was told by administration that Canterbury is the 'best' school in southwest Dallas County. This was a red flag for us in that in speaking with Canterbury officials our concern was with Canterbury and not other schools. Rather than putting down other schools, Canterbury should speak of what they have to offer. Not all schools are for everyone, but most have something to offer. Canterbury was not for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2009

Canterbury IS a good school, but not for those who are new. both my sons have been in Canterbury for three years now, the older one is now in 9th grade and the younger is in 3rd grade. My older son had been struggling from the start, and as the years have progressed my older one has still made no difference at all. As for my little one, he has always been a perfect student, Now I do believe that Canterbury is an exceptional school, just not for new students. My older one had been a straight A student since he was in Pre-K, but the education here at Canterbury is just a bit to harsh on new children. Please don't send new coming to this school, but do send your younger children here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2008

Canterbury is not for the lite hearted when it comes to education. They truly want to prepare you for college in the sense that from middle school on, the student is expected to make it happen on their own! No babysitting here! So, parents, be prepared to connect with teachers so that you know what is expected because your student that is new to Canterbury may not. Sports are excellent due to the best coaches! Your child will be encouraged in sports. One more thing, don't be misled by the Episcopal name. They are not a Christian school. Faith based at best. If you want a rigorous academic program (lots of homework) and great sports, look in to Canterbury. If you want a Christian education, look elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

I have 2 children attending Canterbury for the past 8 years. My entire family is extremely pleased or we would not keep returning! I have found the teachers more than happy to schedule conferences and discuss the student's work & performance w/ the parent. A parent can request conferences at any time. I like that my children know I have close contact w/ their teachers! That is priceless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2006

We love this school. The K-2 teachers and curriculum are awesome. The atmosphere is very loving and nurturing. They have high standards for behavior and academic achievement. The class sizes are small allowing for a lot of individual attention. The first grade reading curriculum took my child from reading Level 1 books to Magic Tree House chapter books in five months. The first grade math curriculum is out of this world. It is game-based and introduces advanced concepts in a fun way. The kids are doing geometry already and talking about scalene triangles and parallelograms. Many of them are already doing multiplication. They aren't afraid of it because it's fun. Spanish and music are taught twice a week beginning in kindergarten. There is homework every night to reinforce what's being taught in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 29, 2005

The Canterbury Episcopal School is a very high quality college prep education. The standards are high, the teacher/student ratio is great, and the nurturing yet rigorous curriculum is challenging but not overwhelmingly so. The staff is attentive and caring while pushing the students to excel in all they do. With 100% of graduates going on to college, their record speaks for itself. The school has wonderful opportunities for extra-curricular activities; art, band, theater, and athletics, stock market teams, and various academic clubs/competitive teams are available to students who so choose. The athletics program is growing by leaps and bounds and includes this year's state champion TAPPS 1-A girl's Varsity Volleyball team. Basketball, baseball, softball, swimming, soccer, and track are all offered as well at the middle and upper-school levels. All in all, the school offers a well-rounded, challenging college prep education in the southern sector of the Dallas area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2004

We love this school. It gives a first class academic instruction in a personal environment with a real feel of community. Children are encouraged and nurtured and parents are closely involved. It is a young school (has only graduated 1 class, very successfully) with lots of potential. They are very open to any ideas that may make them improve. We evaluated all the schools in the greater Dallas area before enrolling our child and are extremely happy with our choice. I have not heard a negative opinion of the school. The people I know whose children left (only two couples of at least 13 I know well and who send children to the school) did it because they could not keep up with the academic curriculum. It is a college preparatory school. From the beginning. Its main downside is that being so small is does not have a big athletics program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2003

This school needs a little more competition. As a parent I suggest a little more overall performance from the teachers, staff, and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 53% 13%
White 39% 31%
Hispanic 5% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school DeSoto ISD
Duncanville ISD
Cedar Hill ISD
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 15% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 85% (2012)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2012)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2012)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation UT - Arlington
UNT
UT - San Antonio
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00am
School end time
  • 3:15pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Sandy Doerge
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Episcopal
Associations
  • NAES
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (972) 572-7400

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Debate
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
More from this school
  • Exclusively College Preparatory Small Class Size 18:1 Community Service Advanced Placment Classes Qualified, caring faculty and staff Recent graduates enrolled in Austin College, Baylor, Columbia, Duke, Emory, Georgetown U., Indiana, Northwestern, Princeton, Santa Clara, SMU, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Tufts, UT, UNT, UTD, Wash. U in St. Louis.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
65
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
72
Students typically come from these schools
DeSoto ISD
Duncanville ISD
Cedar Hill ISD

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$9000 - $15000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships
Tax credits

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
UT - Arlington
SMU
Texas A&M
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 15%
4 year college - 85%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1708 N Westmoreland Rd.
De Soto, TX 75115
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 572-7200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT