Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


36 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Canterbury Episcopal School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
Canterbury is absolutely a great school! Education, Education is key here. CES produces Rhodes, McDermott, Presidential scholars and more. My husband and I are so pleased with the Education and Athletic offerings our children are receiving here. There are no gimmicks here. The teachers are teaching and the staff listens. Love this school. Check it out at www.thecanterburyschool.org. You will love it as well! Academic excellence at its best! Go Cougars!!! Over 20 years of educating children K-12 in DeSoto, TX!! Diverse student population from all of Dallas and Ellis Counties.

The Canterbury Episcopal School 5

Posted January 24, 2014
- a parent
Hands down this is the best thing to happen to our child in the last year. He has been though more with the loss of his only parent than any little boy should deal with in his life. The staff at this school has given him a home and his grades reflect their dedication towards supporting us as new parents. Bullying is not tolerated and has been handled with true professionalism at the school. It is a diverse environment that teaches a child how to interact in the real world. All of the other parents have been so warm and accepting of his two Uncles raising him and that shows in how his classmates learn tolerance and good manors. It may not be the biggest school with a huge athletic department but it makes up for that in spirit. Only a very small percentage of students become pro sports stars but if they have a good educational background they will always be successful in life. The school also offers a spiritual accepting atmosphere that does not conflict with your own beliefs but allows for your child to build a good moral compass. This school is worth every penny spent on tuition and gives back a child who smiles and radiates knowledge that grows each day he attends.


The Canterbury Episcopal School 5

Posted December 06, 2013
- a parent
have a senior here. love it, love it. great school. she is really happy there. would not trade her experience for the world!!!!!

The Canterbury Episcopal School 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a parent
Canterbury has been a great experience for my children. It has provided a high quality education in a very nurturing environment. You will notice the difference in a Canterbury student. They are confident and secure in themselves and well prepared for the challenges beyond high school. The small environment allows them to be active in many activities beyond the classroom, from athletics to debate to art. They would not have the opportunity to be active participants in these programs at a larger school. Bottom line, if you're looking for a quality college preparatory education in a safe, nurturing environment you should definitely consider Canterbury Episcopal School.

The Canterbury Episcopal School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
What if you knew your kids would be entering a school filled with warmth and happiness? What if you also knew that they were enjoying their day on a beautiful tree lined campus with natural light overflowing into the classrooms? This is what Canterbury Episcopal School means to me. The quality of education is second to none and the teachers continually create a creative and progressive learning environment. And as a parent, I'm so grateful that Canterbury does not struggle with typical school challenges (drugs, alcohol, bullying, etc.) The smaller structure helps kids to be accountable to themselves, to each other and to the faculty. That is peace of mind that money cannot buy! Canterbury students can focus on their studies, their sports, their arts programs and their spiritual growth. Canterbury challenges my kids while focusing on what's important -- and all while having fun! Canterbury creates leaders and I am grateful everyday that my two kids attend such an amazing school.


The Canterbury Episcopal School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
As an educator myself, I know that no school is perfect - public, private, charter, etc., but for my child, Canterbury has proven the best fit academically, emotionally and spiritually. There are pros and cons to being a small school, but weighing those, we have STILL found Canterbury the very best choice. The students, families and faculty, as a whole, LOVE Canterbury, and it shows. Walk the halls of this beautiful campus and you will FEEL the difference. Sounds corny, but it was absolutely true for us! The middle school, its teachers and its leader are AMAZING ...

The Canterbury Episcopal School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
CANTERBURY ROCKS!! Another great year for both of my kids, thanks to the teachers and staff! I have a 4th and 11th grader, and we couldn't be happier! My son has been attending since kindergarten, so that tells you what we think of the school. It's great being at a smaller school where you know all the teachers; I can send an email or call and know that I will get a rapid response. My kids are in a very safe, nurturing environment, and I am very grateful for this. The academics offered are top notch, and compare (and honestly, are even better), with other private schools. Both of my kids are getting an awesome education. Looking forward to many more years!

The Canterbury Episcopal School 5

Posted September 18, 2013
- a parent
We have two children in Canterbury and have found the education to be excellent, the price to be a great value for college preparatory, teachers to be dedicated and the student body to be extremely diverse! We have experienced a safe and loving christian environment. The graduates, to date, have all attended competitive colleges and have received great honors including a recent Rhode Scholar! We evaluate each year and certainly have found there to be more prestigious, more seasoned and better funded options but the road keeps pointing us back to Canterbury! The school is meeting a great need in a wide geographic area in the metroplex where there are very few private, K-12, college preparatory schools!


The Canterbury Episcopal School 1

Posted September 04, 2013
- a teacher
Not the school they claim to be. Discipline is confused and unhelpful for the student and the teacher in the classroom. Fights are common and last year fires became the main conversation. Support for teachers by staff is nonexistent. Financing for basic non academic courses unheard of. Students are not monitored during after school hours resulting in dangerous situations. Bullying between students to students, teachers to teachers and teachers to students is commonplace and unchecked. This school likens itself to other top private schools in the area but is similar to a mismanaged public school instead. There is little structure and some students last year reported that various teachers did not teach their subjects but chose to show movies daily without instruction and graded randomly. There is no head of school but instead an "acting head of school" or as he calls himself "education provost". There is one handy man to handle every duty around the school and is subsequently overwhelmed with work and paid little. Academics and sports dominate while all other subjects are ignored and unsupported. More students leave than enroll due to these and other issues.

The Canterbury Episcopal School 5

Posted July 07, 2013
- a parent
This school is great. They teach a grade level above! My child is in the lower school currently and all the teachers in the lower school are awesome. In this economy you have to make cuts. All schools are feeling the burden even public. I work in education and would never send my child to public school. At Canterbury your child will learn and be taken care of in a Christian environment. I am glad Canterbury doesn't accept anyone who pays their money like Trinity Christian School. TCS is huge and cheaper but the academics are lacking and sports rule the school. If you want your child to have a solid education send them to Canterbury!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Canterbury Episcopal School
1708 N Westmoreland Rd., De Soto, TX  75115
(972) 572-7200
Last modified The Canterbury Episcopal School is a Private school that serves grades K-12
The Canterbury Episcopal School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 36 reviews. Top