Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cross of Christ Lutheran School

Private | PK-1 | 100 students

Family and Christian values
 
 

 

Living in De Soto

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $125,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $880.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

29 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 1, 2007

I love this school. It is a safe environment for children. My child has attended there since kindergarten and will be going into the 4th grade. The classes are small allowing for individual attention. The children learn core academics along with computers, art, religion and Spanish. The love of Christ is evident in the school and in their philosphy of education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

Cross of Christ Lutheran School is a safe and loving place for children to receive a solid academic foundation. Everything is taught from a Christian perspective, and the students learn beyond a doubt that they have a wonderful Savior named Jesus who values and cherishes each of them as a unique and precious individual.


Posted June 19, 2007

Both of my children attended Cross of Cross from Kindergarten through 6th grade. I am so thankful for the solid academic, loving, moral foundation they received there which prepared them for public Junior High. They were actually bored in Jr. High because they were so far ahead of their peers. I loved the creative aspects of Cross of Christ, especially the art department. My children were safe, loved, respected and shown the love of God by the staff and students. I highly recommend this school to our community.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

Cross of Christ is a wonderful school with a great Christian education system. It has a wonderful family atmosphere. I could not imagine my daughter any where else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2007

Wonderful school. My daughter loves it. I especially love the Christian atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

My 3rd grader has been going there since 3 years old and loves it! I would recommend this school to the parents in the DFW area-we live 25 minutes away and it's worth the drive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

This school has a wonderful Christian atmosphere! The classes are small, the teachers are personal and the principle ALWAYS takes time to listen. Our son was reading before he left PreK4 and is now reading chapter books. He is learning math and money skills, writes complete sentences and is in our opinion doing above average for his age. They also have a wonderfully creative art teacher. We could not be happier anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

Cross of Christ Lutheran School is a wonderfully structured Christian school. My daughter went there in the early 90's and now my son is attending there for his early childhood education. I cannot say enough about the overall atmosphere of caring and loving people who work everyday to make it a great place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2006

Fantastic school. Very well run, quiet classes, accessible staff. My kids loved their time there - they had many of the four year olds reading even before kindergarten when my daughter was in pre-k there! Would absolutely recommend it to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 40% 13%
White 30% 31%
Hispanic 20% 51%
Two or more races 10% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 0% 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
  • sign
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Therapeutic
Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Lila Fussell
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • LSAC
  • NLSA
Fax number
  • (972) 223-8432

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Montessori
  • Therapeutic
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Global
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
  • sign
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • DeSoto Public Library
  • DeSoto Chamber of Commerce
  • Region Ten (DISD)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school does not have a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
40
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
50

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$4000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cantebury Episcopal School
Ruby Young Elementary
Cockrell Hill Elementary
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

512 N Cockrell Hill Rd
De Soto, TX 75115
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 223-9586

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT