Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Decatur High School 5

Posted August 12, 2011
- a student
I just graduated from this school and i have to say I loved it. No sport was more important than the other. I played softball and the coaches really cared about school before the sport. This school district is much better than the surrounding school districts. Decatur ISD parents are super involved in everything their children do. Nothing was ever done without parents being asked to participate. If you want a horrible school district, Bridgeport is just 15 minutes away! Decatur is the best school district I have Ever attended. All of the teachers care a lot about how well the students are learning and are available at all times if the students need more help. Also the SRO is hard hitting and will crack down on any bullying issue that is addressed.

Decatur High School 1

Posted May 05, 2011
- a parent
If you are from out of town, don't put your kids through this mess. Administration is blind to the horrible problem with bullies. Girls and guys will make life misurable for you and your kids. The schools do not want parent involvement at all and are not about to address any problems. You feel like you're bothering them if you go into the school for anything. You might be ok if your child is a star athlete but if not, then the school has no use for your child. 80% of the teachers are coaches which is their main priority. We have moved around a lot and this is the worse school district yet. We were fooled by asking locals and reading positive reviews and I'd hate to see another family go through what we are. We have a couple years left and are exploring other options to this High School.


Decatur High School 5

Posted September 20, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Decatur High School 4

Posted May 21, 2008
- a parent
My experience has been a postive one. Since I live several thousand miles away I feel fortunate to be able to communicate with the teachers and other administrators regarding my kids social and acedemic progress. I am greatful for the sense of caring and acceptance of my children from this high school and the postive atmosphere that is around them.

Decatur High School 5

Posted January 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Decatur High School 5

Posted November 19, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Decatur High School 5

Posted November 18, 2007
- a parent
The principal, the teaching staff and the coaching staff are top notch. The principal has turned this school from a low performing school into a nationally recognized school. She was a finalist for National Administrator of the Year and also finalist for State Administrator of the Year....sounds like the other reviews are from disgruntled parents. I have been around here for the last 12 years and seen the high school go from bad to a class act. Principal and Athletic Director are the reasons why this has occurred.

Decatur High School 5

Posted November 07, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Decatur High School 4

Posted July 07, 2005
- a parent
Its a really great school. You get the right learning you need there. The teachers are so nice. They will stay with you after school if you need help with something. I think alot of kids should go here.

Decatur High School 1

Posted February 14, 2005
- a parent
We moved here hoping a smaller school would provide more opportunities for our well rounded children. This school has a very bad cliche problem. If they don't start here in K you're not IN! The principle here is the most unprofessional person I have ever met and talk about a BLACK LIST if you have a complaint! A few of the teachers here are great but the budget is all blown on the football program (ever seen 'varsity blues'?) My advice is if your looking for 'paradise' it's south of here!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Decatur High School
750 East Eagle Summit Drive, Decatur, TX  76234
(940) 393-7204
Last modified Decatur High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Decatur High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top