Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Guyer High School

Public | 9-12 | 2285 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 25, 2014

I know that schools have lots of rules but if my kid is missing an assignment I am glad they don't put her in detention. Detention should be reserved for children who behave badly or children who refuse to do their work. My young adult has missed a few assignments, but she is responsible enough to talk with her teacher to get the assignment turned in in a timely manner. If every kid who missed an assignment went to detention the school would need a new wing for detention. There are a lot of kids at guyer who have appointments for the Dr or dentist, college visits, UIL, athletics, Band, and choir. The child would be better served by parents who check on their grades on the online resource for parents, then let their child know they need to take care of their business in the classroom. After all your goal as a parent should be to raise your children to to be responsible adults. That process starts with you as the parent showing your own child how to be responsible for their actions, instead of having the school administration do it for you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2014

My daughter was held down on a desk and punched in the head multiple times during class. The teacher was in the room, on her computer at the time. It was recorded by another student on their cell phone and they bullied my daughter with the video saying they were going to post it. When we went to the principal he yelled at my daughter for not being more kind to the perpetrator. Administration saw the video but would not allow us to. We know from other students that it was unprovoked. As far as we know there was no consequence for the student or teacher involved. We have been told that it was "taken care of" and there is nothing more to be done.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Unless your child participates in UIL activities, this school may not be for you. It is focus first on athletics and education does not seem to be a priority. The programs they have in place to help the children are not even in force. They have a program to put the child in detention if they are missing an assignment, as outlined on their website, but when we asked why my child was not put in detention, the asst principal said, "we don't really do that." We moved last year to upgrade our school district. Unfortunately it was a downgrade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2014

Guyer High School is a great school with a community feel. The staff are very helpful and kind. The Teachers and Coaches are willing to go the extra mile to help your student be as successful as they want to be. It is the responsibility of the parent to instill a good work ethic in their children and then the Teachers can help the child acomplish all the success that the child is willing to work for. This is the standard at Guyer, as long as the child wants to learn and succeed the Teachers and Coaches will give every effort to make that possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2014

This year we have been blessed with teachers & assistants that truly understand my son's issues with executive functioning. These teachers grade him on his work & encourage him to do better with corrections & test re-takes instead of just giving him a zero when something is not turned in on time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2014

I am proud to be the parent of 2 Guyer Wildcats one academicaly driven and the other a Varsity Athletics Member. I am thankful for the environment that Guyer provides my teens, an environment of positive reinforcement and support to achieve their accomplishments on their own, make mistakes and learn from them and to be successful Adults in life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2013

The athletics in this school are very competitive and very challenging. The coaches are strict and if you participate in a sport, be prepared to pay a lot of money for fundraising and equipment.The counselors are not as helpful as you would think they are. They appear to be nice, but will hardly do anything to change your schedule and you have to make an appointment way in advance to even be able to talk to one. The freshman principal is not helpful either. However, the fine arts programs are wonderful and have a friendly atmosphere. Many teachers are not enthusiastic about their job or do not know much about their subject. Textbook work is all that happens. Although I am only a freshman, I have already experienced difficulties and annoyances with Guyer.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2013

Guyer High School is a disgrace to education, very few teachers are there for anything other than a paycheck. My daughter was bullied, harrassed and hazed, by both students and teachers, especially in the athletics departments. Administration did nothing to protect or defend her, and one teacher even told me that "she is not their to babysit, they are on their own". If not for us pulling her out of that school I truley believe she would not be with us today. Unless your child is a football player, avoid this school if possible. Her first comment after attending her new school: "wow Mom, they actually care if I learn something here".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2011

My daughter attended another high school in town but graduated from GHS. It is a large school with many opportunities, but feels like a family atmosphere. I appreciate the fact that the principal works to keep the class sizes as small as possible. The teacher and administrators really care about kids and are involved in providing an excellent, challenging, learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

Guyer is a great school with great teachers and coaches for all the students as i have seen. Keep up the good work!


Posted May 4, 2011

Parents: It is YOUR responciblity to provide a good kid to the school that will learn & not hinder other students. Don't throw off your responcibilty to the school to raise your bad child. If you don't like what the school is doing then get involved. Exchange studends, when local students are doing well them Ok other wise not at the exspence of local students just becouse you can host!. Sport should come second to good grade & real learning, not the other way around like most USA schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2009

Guyer, which is now finishing it's fourth year is a competitive school in all areas of academics, athletics, and fine arts. It has grown to be the best school in the city. The teachers are there for the students, and they are always understanding. The school really excels in the science program and fine arts department, with a quickly growing athletic program. The school is well run, the office always communicates with the staff, and in turn the students are more informed creating a calm environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2009

I transfered to guyer from ryan and guyer is wayyy better. The teachers help you when you need it and they always keep the students behaved. Iloveit!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 11, 2009

My son goes to school there. The administrators, counselors, and faculty are amazing. The teachers push the students to work hard and achieve. My emails and phone calls have been returned and teachers seem to truly care about their students. His coaches encourage him even though he's not the strongest athlete. They support the academics as well as their sport. We are truly lucky to have our son at such a strong and positive school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

This is a very good school. i've gone to aledo all my life and never have i passed with 80's or 90's in even one six weeks. i am now!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2008

I recently graduated from Guyer High School and I have nothing but excellent things to say. I am not enrolled in the Plan II Honors Program at the University of Texas @ Austin and I must say that my teachers prepared me well. The campus is beautiful. All of the resources (libraries, sports fields, weight rooms, class rooms, etc,) are new. Barbara Fischer, the principal, is in my opinion the best suited for her job in the Denton Independent School District. She is caring, compassionate, humble, and motivating. She leads by example and rarely is discouraged when others are. Although Guyer is relatively new (about 3 years old) it is a rising school. The location is also fabulous in an upper middle class suburban neighborhood. Guyer was great and it will continue to be a great High School.


Posted July 24, 2008

Guyer is a great school the facility is great for a good learning enviorment. The facilty is great and care about the students more then about they care about themselves A++ High School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2008

My son just completed his freshman year and I have to give alot of credit to this teachers and this beautiful high school. He likes his teachers and has made numerous friends. He has maintained an A average and his coaches not only care about his growth in sport, but also his academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

Part of the problem is the teachers can't call long distance from the school and alot of us in the school district are in the 972, 817 area code and the school is in 940 area code. I've had that excuse from both the high school and middle school teachers for reasons they can't return phone calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2007

This is a great school and well run. Most of the teachers seem to care about their students and enjoy the opportunity to influence them. I would like more frequent communication from the teachers to the parents though.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

568 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2011.

572 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
81%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 91% in 2011.

474 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2011.

475 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 76% in 2011.

475 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
84%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 93% in 2011.

477 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 95% in 2013.

524 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 89% in 2013.

527 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 95% in 2013.

531 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
94%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 98% in 2013.

526 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female98%
Male95%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Special education75%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%

Math

All Students91%
Female92%
Male89%
Black or African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Special education54%
Limited English proficient (LEP)63%

Science

All Students97%
Female98%
Male96%
Black or African American98%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)76%

Social Studies

All Students99%
Female99%
Male99%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White99%
Economically disadvantaged98%
Special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

498 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
15%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

576 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
94%
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

538 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
31%
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

614 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

632 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
73%
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

545 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

546 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

536 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
98%
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
21%
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

597 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
88%
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

541 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students82%
Female86%
Male77%
Black or African American79%
Asian100%
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education17%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)33%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talented96%
Not Gifted80%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Students98%
Female97%
Male98%
Black or African Americann/a
Asian100%
Hispanic93%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant98%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted97%
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Students93%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African American90%
Asian100%
Hispanic81%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education62%
Not special education94%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant93%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted91%
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Students87%
Female89%
Male85%
Black or African American92%
Asian100%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education40%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)52%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant87%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted85%
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Students77%
Female86%
Male70%
Black or African American67%
Asian95%
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native83%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education29%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)15%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Students68%
Female79%
Male59%
Black or African American60%
Asian89%
Hispanic42%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native100%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special education15%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)9%
Proficient in English73%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant68%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted63%
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Students86%
Female88%
Male84%
Black or African American85%
Asian100%
Hispanic75%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education18%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Students65%
Female68%
Male62%
Black or African American54%
Asian87%
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special education5%
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)13%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant65%
Gifted/talented94%
Not Gifted61%
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Students48%
Female59%
Male40%
Black or African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic43%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Special education13%
Not special education52%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English49%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant48%
Gifted/talented86%
Not Gifted44%

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Students89%
Female91%
Male87%
Black or African American78%
Asian100%
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education45%
Not special education91%
Limited English proficient (LEP)53%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant89%
Gifted/talented99%
Not Gifted87%
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Students86%
Female88%
Male85%
Black or African American73%
Asian100%
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education43%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)42%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted84%
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Students77%
Female74%
Male81%
Black or African American68%
Asian100%
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special education41%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)31%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talented96%
Not Gifted75%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 29%
Hispanic 22% 52%
Black 9% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 5%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • BARBARA FISCHER
Fax number
  • (940) 369-4965

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Water polo
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Water polo

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7501 Teasley Lane
Denton, TX 76210
Phone: (940) 369-1000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Lake Dallas High School
Lake Dallas, TX



Marcus 9th Grade Center
Flower Mound, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT