Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-12
Private
Denton, TX
Students enrolled: 637

5 stars
Based on 10 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Coram Deo Academy 5

Posted April 08, 2014
- a parent
Our children have attended Coram Deo Academy for 4 years now and we have been very pleased with the Christ centered quality of education coupled with a world view emphasis, starting in the elementary grades. The flexibility of the signature program as well as the availability of the 5 day program starting in the 5th grade provide options for working parents without compromising the home component.

Coram Deo Academy 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
Our child just graduated from the Flower Mound Campus and we feel our student received an excellent education and is well prepared for the next phase of life. The Flower Mound campus had 35 seniors who graduated with combined scholarship offerings of 3.5 million dollars to major universities. I think that speaks well for the type of education these kids have received at CDA. In today's world, I also appreciate that they are taught to think critically, which I feel is becoming a lost tool of learning. We are SO thankful CDA exists! It truly provides a unique and superior Christian education!


Coram Deo Academy 3

Posted May 08, 2013
- a parent
Our children have attended the Collin County campus (formerly Carrollton) for the past 5 years. This school has a lot going for it, but the lower school leadership is sorely lacking. Teacher turnover for some grades is very high. Teacher changes mid-year without notification by the administration have happened more than once. Emails to the administration go unanswered. Every year we decide to give it one more year, but by mid-year we always wonder why. The education is great when you can get a good teacher, but very frustrating when you have someone who doesn't understand the way that the school/homeschool thing is supposed to work. Since they are attempting to build their own facility they ask for donations on a regular basis, which is annoying. We're already feeling like maybe it's not a very good value for our money, and to keep asking for more money, while giving poor customer service isn't making us feel any better!

Coram Deo Academy 5

Posted September 03, 2012
- a parent
Coram Deo has worked out wonderfully for our family. We have a 4th grader, 8th grader and 9th grader - level of work is very rigorous for all but they are challenged which is good. It is not busy work but worthwhile learning. I read some other reviews about forgetting extracuricular activities due to the challenging curriculum; however, that has not been the case for our family. Our oldest daughter plays volleyball for the school and for a club, our 8th grade son plays competitive lacrosse and our youngest daughter is in dance and musical theatre. They have learned to manage their time and with going to school M/W, homeschooling T/Th; they can do their work during the day, then do their activities/athletics; if they have evening games, that's ok because they don't have to then rush home afterwards and do 2 hrs of homework - they can just complete it the next day on their homeschool day. The teachers we have encountered have been very strong and great Christian role models. Some we prefer over others but that is the way school always is - nothing is perfect and one learns from that too.

Coram Deo Academy 5

Posted November 08, 2011
- a parent
My three children have attended CDA for 7 years now and we could not be more pleased with the experience! I have a child in 5th, 8th, and 11th and while it is hard work in the younger grades, it pays off! I am so pleased with the man my oldest has become and I attribute a large part of his character to the teachers and students at CDA. My children have been able to be challenged academically while still being able to participate in extracurricular activities and have plenty of family time. An added benefit is that the format of the school has made my children experts in managing their time.


Coram Deo Academy 3

Posted March 09, 2010
- a parent
Parent of four kids, involved with this school for six years. I have watched the 'co-teaching' aspect of this school decline with each passing year. The administration is so focused on test scores that the quality of the education has been on the decline. This school does not have an appropriate expectation level of younger students. If you enroll you should be prepared to abandon all extra curricular activities and be willing to forfeit your family weekends. The last three teachers that we have had have not been worth the money spent on the tuition. The school is an excellent concept and should be able to be fabulous but it just is not worth the money. (Carrollton Campus)

Coram Deo Academy 0
no rating

Posted January 29, 2010
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The classes are small; the teachers care and the building of a relationship between the parent and the teacher is awesome. It is a LOT of work but the kids learn so much and what a better time to learn things then when they are young! They learn great study principles for when they grow older. Perfectly equiping our kids for a great future

Coram Deo Academy 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. It is especially perfect for those who are on the line about homeschooling and would like a good hybrid between full time school and schooling completely at home. The quality of the education is excellent; but you still have a lot of involvement with your child's education. Parental involvement in the school is phenomenal and there is a true teamwork relationship between families and CDA. The days your child is not in a classroom are not 'days off' and you need to be prepared to work hard on those days. On the other hand, your child is going to graduate knowing how to think and reason. It's a true classical education and a true Christian education. Having said all that, the one con I can think of is that there isn't a lot of flexibility if your child works very far ahead of her grade level.


Coram Deo Academy 4

Posted November 18, 2008
- a parent
Absolutely wonderful teachers and great atmosphere. Many students though find that the time needed to make good grades very frequently take away much of their time from doing things they love to do.

Coram Deo Academy 5

Posted August 18, 2008
- a parent
Classical Christian education. Small class size, dedicated teachers and active parent participation make it our school of choice!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Coram Deo Academy
4900 Wichita Trail, Denton, TX  75022
(800) 465-0562
Last modified Coram Deo Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-12
Coram Deo Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top