Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Nelson Elementary School 4

Posted December 16, 2013
- a parent
My son went here for Kinder in 2010-11. Our experience was great, and Mrs. D was a wonderful instructor. Everyone was so kind and the facility was new and very nicely planned out.

Nelson Elementary School 5

Posted November 12, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. We have only had positive interactions here. My children have learned so much and the teachers really care. The principal is very friendly and very accommodating to our family!


Nelson Elementary School 1

Posted October 14, 2013
- a parent
I had problems with my daughter at this school last year. I pulled her out to go to another school in the district. My Multi disabled son was called in to go to this school this year as they were to have better programs for him than his last school. Sadly mistaken. In the 6 weeks he had been there they have not taught him a thing they said they would. My son LOVED going to school. He had no desire anymore and cries to stay home. This school is horrible. The staff is rude, uneducated, and just plain out not fit to be dealing with children.

Nelson Elementary School 3

Posted October 26, 2010
- a parent
We have mixed feelings after coming from another school in the district. Our child's grades have decreased and overall interest in school is not what it was. We understand some of this could be due to the move, but this campus is not as friendly as the previous school. We've had one phenomenal teacher and a not so great teacher here, and the principal is rather cold and unapproachable. Another big issue is the lack of a school zone. Children are expected to walk along a stretch of 50 MPH road to school and this is extremely unsafe! The children perform well on tests and are learning, but we feel like there is room for improvement that could take this school from adequate to fantastic. We hope that as this new school "matures," this will happen.

Nelson Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
I think Nelson has awesome teachers and staff who are dedicated to the students.


Nelson Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
All of the teachers and workers at Nelson are very helpful and nice. They actually care about their students and their parents. Everyone seems to work together very well.

Nelson Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
great teachers,friendly atmophere,caring staff, clean facitities, I know when I send my child he will be treated fairly, kindly, and caring

Nelson Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2009
- a parent
I have a special needs son. The school and district staff have been very accomodating and understanding. I love my childrens teachers as well. This school is one of the best in the area!


Nelson Elementary School
no rating

Posted July 31, 2009
- a parent
Nelson elementary is an amazing school. My kindergartener was in Mrs. Davidson's class and I was sad when the school year ended. She taught him a lot and made the most amazing Mother's Day present for all the moms by compiling all the kid's favorite food their moms make. I cried when i got mine.

Nelson Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 25, 2009
- a parent
I love this school. I have a Student in Mrs. Bakers K class and she is amazing. My daughter has learned so much.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Nelson Elementary School
3909 Teasley Lane, Denton, TX  76210
(940) 369-1400
Last modified Nelson Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Nelson Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. Top