Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
22 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 28 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Calhoun Middle School 3

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Calhoun is now back on track to be a really good school now that they have a new principal. Thank goodness the last principal left (or was asked to leave) and took his bullying tactics with him. What a shame that so many excellent teachers left because of his management style of intimidation. Now get rid of the IB program, and Calhoun will flourish. Moral has been at an all-time low. My concern is that two of the assistants under the former principal are still there. Reassign them to different schools and have a clean sweep of the negative influences.

Calhoun Middle School 1

Posted September 10, 2014
- a parent
Lazy, teachers don't care, why do students have to "earn" the right to go to the bathroom?


Calhoun Middle School 1

Posted March 20, 2014
- a community member
My school is boring and corrupted. Many teachers are lazy, do not teach anything, only yell at us and wait on the day to end. I am a six grade student. That IB is lame, only for their papers, nothing in there.

Calhoun Middle School 5

Posted October 16, 2012
- a parent
My child attends Calhoun. One of the best things about Calhoun is that my child looks forward to going to school every morning! I have observed that the teachers are very experienced, caring, attentive to students' needs, and communicate well with parents. The Head of School is a strong leader with excellent interpersonal skills, exceptionally talented at organizing, and a vision for improving the school. The administration as a whole is very efficient and active. The school seems very safe and secure. As a whole, the students seem to be free of worries about safety and are able to spend their mental energy on academics and activities. Calhoun is an International Baccalaureate school, so students learn in a global context. We couldn't be happier with the school, and I'm pleased to see that the administration does not rest on its laurels - the school is always improving.

Calhoun Middle School 1

Posted July 20, 2012
- a community member
I certainly did not like this school at all. Teachers were very disrespectful, and I went in to talk to one of the principals, as I went into his office, he went outside saying as if he had to watch what went on in the hallway, I was very ashamed of the way the teachers treated my daughter there.


Calhoun Middle School 1

Posted March 06, 2009
- a parent
i really didnt like my children going to CMS. Some of the teachers were rude to my childern. I just over all didnt like the school. I am glad that my childern are out of that school.

Calhoun Middle School 5

Posted August 03, 2008
- a parent
Calhoun has the strongest committment to students that I have found. An outstanding fine arts department, excellent support staff and Mr. Sims is one of the best principals I have had for my children. CMS truly makes Denton proud.

Calhoun Middle School 5

Posted January 03, 2007
- a parent
What a great school Calhoun Middle School is! The teachers, staff, and administrators really care about the students. My two children had a wonderful experience attending Calhoun. I always enjoyed visiting the school because of the positive and encouraging attitude of teachers and staff. They made everyone feel very welcome, students and parents alike. I wish Calhoun had had the dress code when my two kids went there. The dress code has eliminated many petty problems among the students, and I believe that kids behave better when they are dressed nicer. The dress code has created a very professional look and attitude among the students. Calhoun provides 'dress code assistance' to students in need. Every middle school in Denton should institute a standard dress code like Calhoun.


Calhoun Middle School 2

Posted March 31, 2006
- a parent
Very disappointing experience at Calhoun. The band program and teachers were great. We left Calhoun and went to a private school because of the apathy in the administration and staff on the first day of school.

Calhoun Middle School 5

Posted May 05, 2004
- a parent
I have enjoyed having my kids at CMS. The teachers are caring and committed. I love the standardized dress code. It has made such a difference in our family. Keep it up Calhoun!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Calhoun Middle School
709 West Congress Street, Denton, TX  76201
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. (940) 369-2400
Last modified Calhoun Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top