Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newton Rayzor Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 647 students

International Baccalaureate®

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 25, 2013

VERY impressed with the faculty and staff at Newton Rayzor Elem! As a retired educator with 32 years teaching experience, I recognize quality when I see it! I'm so happy that my grandchild attends such an outstanding school which is clearly representative of what Denton ISD values in a great education for its students!


Posted October 24, 2013

I love the school and my kids do too! The music and spanish teachers are awesome! My kids love to go to school because they love the IB school style of teaching.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

Newton Rayzor Elementary is one of the best schools that I have ever seen. My children have been at this elementary from PreK to Fith grade this year!!!! My son also from prek to third this year, they love the school anf teachers, and I am a volunteer at their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2013

Very passionate and committed teachers. Keep up the good work teachers! The children are very blessed to have you. I've not seen so many hard working teachers at a school. The school is improving every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2013

This School is wonderful!!! The last two Head of School (Principle)assignments have been the best thing for this school. From research I completed and friends that had kids in that school years ago, the school has completely transformed itself from being somewhere where you would not want your kids to go to being one of the most desired schools in Denton. The school has a waiting list that they can never clear due to the high demand and request for transfers to it. The IB program is excellent and teaches the kids how to learn, nopt how to memorize facts. Concepts are discussed and growth is encoraged. I have challenging intelligent kids that push teachers and limits and the school has done a wonderful job teaching and guiding them. Highly recommend. As to bullying, I believe it is taken seriously at the school. Two years ago my daughter received a bullying report for stepping on someones fingers accidently when the student said my daughter had done it on purpose. The counselors spoke with both children and resolved the issue to everyones satisfaction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

My daughter attended N. Rayzor for Kindergarden & 1st grade, and part of 2nd grade before we moved. It's a fabulous school. The IB program had my daughter thinking not just about learning but self-improvement as well, and her reading skills developed very quickly. The school doesn't give easy A's, but they do make getting A's easier through involvement with the kids. My daughter also participated in Groove Squad, a cute little dance troupe, and she loved getting active and dancing to music in front of an audience with more kids in her grade. Parents were also encouraged to get involved, and Newton Rayzor made it wasy to keep up with events for parents to attend and help with. Overall, I have to say I'd recommend the school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2012

Very progressive school with a strong leader! Very peaceful learning environment. My husband and I are professors at UNT and were not pleased with our neighborhood school. We transfered our child who is gifted into Newton Raysor. What difference? He is so happy and challenged! Thank you Denton ISD for bringing IB Program at Elementary Level. Agree with previous reviewer---best kept secret in Denton ISD.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2012

I absoultely ADORE the school! We moved to Denton in the beggining of the year from NW Louisiana. My son was in 1st grade. We left a horrible school, where the teacher wouldn't even take the time to teach him to read because he has ADHD and dyslexia. In the matter of 3 months at Newton Rayzor he went from not being able to read, failing everything and severe conduct problems to reading at 2nd grade level, and A in conduct and loving school!! He even told me that he has never had so many friends as he does at Newton Rayzor. Now he loves school and can't wait to start 2nd grade in a few weeks. Any school that can do such an amazing transformation in a 6 year old in less than 3 months is worth 5 stars in my book :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2011

I like this school because there are challenging projects, but the teachers help us. The extracurriculer activities are very good. The principal pays attention to every one and gives a warm greeting to everyone. This school has taken a big leap from where it used to be. The teachers are good and teach in fun ways. Parents are very involved in their childrens classes. Newton Rayzor is a excellent school. It has a strong principal and the teachers are deeply involved with every one of the students.


Posted April 15, 2011

Newton Rayzor has some strong points: 1) it's an IB school and the IB program is excellent, 2) the extra curricular activities are excellent and the teachers involved in those activities are devoted to the students, and 3) there is an excellent GT program, 4) the teachers in the lower grades (k-3) are exceptional, 5) parents are very involved, and the school is safe. It also has some weaknesses, though: 1) the administration does not stick by the anti-bullying policy - if your child is bullied, they'll stick it on him and say it's his fault, 2) the upper level teachers (grade 4, 5) are poor communicators (students don't understand assignment, miss parts of it, parents don't get information in a timely manner), poor at classroom management, and do not involve parents in the classroom, 3) the school teaches to the TAKS test. My son's teacher teaches "tricks" to ace the TAKS rather than give a solid grounding in the subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2011

I went to this school along with my sister about four years ago. We hated it. I once had a project to do but the teacher barely explained anything and kept nearly everyone in at recess because we couldn't understand it; only one of the students actually got it done. She criticized me twice, once because she claimed I 'plagiarized' and the other because I cut something the wrong way. Meanwhile my sister was always in trouble simply because her classmates didn't like her. She was framed and the teacher didn't to anything to help. One time when she was just working she went '___, help ___ put her desk in the corner'. The student she asked was one of the ones who was bullying her. I can safely say we had a grand total of four friends at that school, and if it's anything like it was then, do NOT send your children to it.


Posted October 14, 2010

This is my daughter's second year at Newton Rayzor. She has really grown all-round. The IB program encourages creativity and critical thinking. I would like to see a bit more emphasis on reading and writing in second and third, but her teachers could not be more caring. My son is in Kindergarten and loves his teacher. It's October and I can already see his growth in reading and writing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

I don't like the format of this site. When someone has something to say that's not suitable to say the principal doesnt post it. This school is not all so great! the principal and staff are very negative to the kids, that are different race, gender. My child didnt learn to much. her teacher was busy talking on the phone all the time and chatting with other teachers in the hallway.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2010

I think the attitude of the teachers and principal at this school is great. They aren't just teaching to the test, and I think that takes courage. The love of learning is so much more important. I've seen that my child did better at this school (and did well on the tests) without all the unnecessary stress.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

This school has undergone a huge transformation in the last few years. New leadership, new teaching philosophy, recently authorized as International Baccalaureate (one of the few public schools to have this distinction), and a vibrant learning community. The entire school atmosphere and philosophy is about kids and learning. Character education is embedded through the IB attitudes and profiles. Higher level thinking is the focus. Teaching to the test is a thing of the past, yet test scores are good and all standards are taught. This school goes above and beyond. Just walk down the halls and you'll feel the learning and excitement. We're thrilled to be part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

I am glad my children are attending this school. The staff is very helpful and the teachers are attentive, I know my children are getting an above average education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 12, 2008

My granddaughter attended Kindergarten and was in Ms. Ganns class. She loved the class and especially Ms. Gann. She learned so much and excelled in reading this year. I am not aware of what is going on in the other classes, but Kindergarten turned out to be so rewarding for my granddaughter this year. Kathy Poulson Grandmother
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2008

my daughter loves going to Newton Rayzor elementary. The classes are small and she is learning a lot.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

This was a great school until the new principal took over a so-called 'Leadership' position. She is definitely not warm or caring and should not be entrusted with leading anyone; especially the leaders of tomorrow.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

One of the worst schools I have ever had the displeasure of coming into contact with. Lousy communication on all accounts, high turnover, a noticeable bias, principle lacks leadership and concern for ALL students education. I'm sending my kids to a different school in the district next year...Do not send your kids to this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

56 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

56 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
86%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

55 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

51 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

68 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

70 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

66 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
85%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic100%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students91%
Female88%
Male96%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English89%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students82%
Female87%
Male78%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)46%
Proficient in English93%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant82%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students84%
Female90%
Male77%
Black or African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)77%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant84%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)90%
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)78%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students97%
Female100%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English98%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant97%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students85%
Female90%
Male81%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education60%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

79 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
62%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Female85%
Male85%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education80%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English85%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant85%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted83%
Bilingual100%

Math

All Students63%
Female55%
Male68%
Black or African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education50%
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted58%
Bilingual100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Female76%
Male79%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Special education60%
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted72%
Bilingual82%

Math

All Students64%
Female61%
Male69%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education17%
Not special education67%
Limited English proficient (LEP)81%
Proficient in English65%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant64%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted56%
Bilingual100%

Writing

All Students66%
Female70%
Male58%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Special education20%
Not special education69%
Limited English proficient (LEP)47%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant66%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted59%
Bilingual56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Female86%
Male69%
Black or African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted73%
Bilingual44%

Math

All Students75%
Female86%
Male64%
Black or African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English77%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted70%
Bilingual56%

Science

All Students79%
Female83%
Male76%
Black or African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracial40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special educationn/a
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted75%
Bilingual78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Recognized".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 52% 29%
Hispanic 33% 52%
Black 7% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 24%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 9%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 am
School end time
  • 2:50 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • HAPPY CARRICO
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (940) 369-4924

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Emotional behavioral disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • First Baptist Church
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Running Club
Girls sports
  • Running Club

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Cup Stacking
  • Gardening
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
650
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
700
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1400 Malone Street
Denton, TX 76201
Website: Click here
Phone: (940) 369-3700

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Legends Academy
Denton, TX


Community School
Denton, TX


Luminary School
Denton, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT