Students enrolled 161

Contact this school

3333 West University Drive
Denton, TX 76207

School website
(940) 382-6771
(940) 383-0704
Nearby homes for sale
Map of The Selwyn School address.

4 stars
Based on 26 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

October 04, 2012
A wonderful hidden gem! Tremendous education, even in the early childhood. Loving, well educated teachers. Our family loves it here.

- submitted by a parent
May 19, 2010
We love Selwyn! I feel that the education my children get at Selwyn College Preparatory school is an ivestment that will pay for itself because they will actually know how to study and be self-motivated when the attend college. Selwyn teaches students how to think rather than how to sit and be fed information. Every student's opinion is valued at Selwyn and because they don't have to take time in the classroom to teach to the TAKS, there is time for discussion of the subject at hand. Selwyn's teachers truly care about the students and their approach instills a love of learning!

- submitted by a parent
April 29, 2010
I have been extremely disappointed with this school. Our daughters teacher has been very destructive to our daughters desire to learn. She is extremely negative and plays favorites among the students. My wife and I are both educators and have been appalled at the lack of professionalism at this school - teacher discussing other students by name at our parent conference, teacher posted student grades on the wall, teacher spoke very freely about religious beliefs to the young students making them feel negative about their personal beliefs...Administration seems to turn a blind eye to complaints by parents and continue to allow teachers act in ways that are distructive to the students. I have heard MANY complaints from other parents and things only continued to get worse as the year went on. We cannot wait for this year to be over!!! I would NEVER recommend this school.

- submitted by a parent
no rating April 19, 2010
Selwyn is wonderful. There are only 8 children in my son's kindergarten class and the quality of teaching is great. My son learns so much and has really been able to blossom at Selwyn.

- submitted by a parent
March 17, 2010
the school is a great school for preK through 5 but it lacks boy students above that age. it is great for preK through 5 cause it's a good inviorment for your child's early age. But when you get into middle school thats when it gets bad! They say bad words, are not nice,and are not big at all. maybe 10 people per grade. and high school problely has 20 people in all! after all of this. This school is just for the youngsters.

- submitted by a student
February 25, 2010
The Selwyn School is a waste of money. One of the worst school I have ever put my child in. The teachers and staff are hypocritcal and biased toward students by picking favorites and not treating all children as equals. They are not focused on the importance of education. I would never recommend this school to anyone.

- submitted by a parent
November 10, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
October 28, 2009
Selwyn has been and continues to be such an amazing experience for our son. It balances challenging academics and a nurturing environment perfectly. We love the enrichment programs and we are so grateful that we aren't faced with yearly TAKS testing. It is a bit of a drive for us and is a financial sacrifice, but well worth it!

- submitted by a parent
no rating May 10, 2009
I am grateful every day to have such an incredible school for my son. Selwyn offers such a safe, nurturing environment where my son has just blossomed. Even at a young age, the curriculum has been wonderful and diverse, including math, science, reading, writing, music, arts, computer, and nature studies on the beautiful 90 acre campus. In my opionion, Selwyn is the clear choice for a non-sectarian, college prep education in Denton. We even commute 40 minutes to get there!

- submitted by a parent
January 09, 2009
Waste of money, all whole year wasted.. very cliquish and ran by money

- submitted by a parent
May 06, 2008
The tree shaded, 92 acre campus has been great for our young teen. The strong academic curriculum in a small school enviroment allows children to think like the independent people they are. My son has been able to participate in all sports and activities. He has gone from loathing the big public school atmosphere to looking forward to going to school every day. He even misses it during holidays. It's a safe, drug-free enviroment and it has made a great change in my family's life.

- submitted by a parent
November 19, 2007
The Selwyn School provides an excellent academic environment for children of all ages. The campus is unique, safe and nice. The teachers genuinely care for the students and strive to do their best. The 3rd-5th grade science, humanities and mathematics programs are excellent. Interestingly, the academic program includes a nature center to enhance science education, and specialized music and art classrooms to encourage creativity. My daughter is happy to go to school and enjoys learning. We highly recommend this school

- submitted by a parent
August 24, 2007
My son was graduated from Selwyn with high national honors. He loved it and we loved the care and concern shown by everyone involved with his education in the basics all children should have and do not get. Highest marks all around! The travel program was particularly fine.

- submitted by a parent
July 03, 2007
I have two children who have attended Selwyn. All of the new facilities in the world could not compare to the genuine care for the overall student given at Selwyn. Both of my children have been exceptionally happy and academically challenged in all of their classes. This school provides a natural, safe environment that is not duplicated elsewhere.

- submitted by a parent
May 29, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 29, 2007
My son has learned nothing the past 3 years at Selwyn. For the cost of $10,000, we expected a little more. Little parental involvement. I would never recommend this school to anyone. Save your $!

- submitted by a parent
August 19, 2006
Disappointing. Some classes overloaded with acting out kids so the smart, quiet ones like my son, were not challenged. Teacher could (OR WOULD) not discipline - bad behaviors distracted from learning environment. Some teachers could not consistently maintain a simple individual education plan. Administration would cover up for teacher when complaint made. Social environment OK but very small classes made for few potential friends for son. Parent cliques. For the money, not good enough an educational challenge for my son.

- submitted by a parent
May 31, 2006
Good small school, safe environment, large open campus. The teachers care about the students. Strong music and arts. High School is just getting started students mostly 9th and 10th grades in 2006, adding one grade per year.

- submitted by a parent
May 18, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
May 16, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a former student
April 07, 2006
The Selwyn School provides excellent personalized instruction, challenging students at all levels. Focus is on educating the whole child, artistically, musically, athletically and academically and introducing them to the world through numerous cultural events.

- submitted by a parent
March 06, 2006
Andrew moved to Selwyn in 8th grade after some bad experiences in the Denton ISD. We are now So far at Selwyn he has blossomed under the attention of some exceptional teachers, a lot of very good teachers, and a very high level of parent involvment in the programs and activities. Selwyns facilities are a bit worse for wear, but the outward appearance of the school does not reflect the experiences to be had within. The perspectives program , music and arts programs and ability to participate in and be supported in almost any interest have been great. The sports program is small in the upper school, but the coaches are dedicated and the teams have been quite successful. Selwyn has converted my kid from a math hater to a mathlete. The community, teachers and staff have been wonderful and I highly recommend the school to any parent.

- submitted by a parent
February 16, 2006
Classroom size is excellent with a very caring student teacher enviroment. Family friendly campus.

- submitted by a parent
April 26, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
March 19, 2005
My child has attended The Selwyn School since she was 16 months old. The teachers at The Selwyn School work hard to achieve the best from each student. My child's teachers were all well educated and provided additional instruction to me on many occasions. The headmaster is competent and greets each child by name every morning. He is a gifted leader who has developed relationships with Denton community leaders over several decades. The assistant headmaster is also dedicated to serving the students of this school. He is also a gifted chemistry teacher. Fine arts enrichment is excellent. The chess club is in it's second year and is a great addition to the school. Several booster organizations exist to sponsor school events and projects. No evening PTA.

- submitted by a parent
February 07, 2005
My child has been in the Montessori program since 3 years of age. I am exceptionally pleased with the fullness of the experience, academics and happy environment. If you have a child that is focused, this is a great place for them to realize everything they can be.

- submitted by a parent
August 11, 2004
Geared towards the 'whole child' not just academics and test scores. Instruction is accelerated above public school grade levels. Relaxed atmosphere where staff, parents, children and environment are respected. Kids are encouraged to meet their potential in academics, arts and sports. Very high parent envolvement in all aspects of the school. Proud to have my kids in attendance.

- submitted by a parent
February 07, 2004
The warm, relaxing, family atmosphere Selwyn provides is quite special. The low ratios and caring teachers and administrators assist in making the students develop a love of learning.

- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »


Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 30, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Selwyn School
3333 West University Drive, Denton, TX  76207
(940) 382-6771
Last modified The Selwyn School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
The Selwyn School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 28 reviews. Top