Advertisement
Advertisement

The Selwyn School

Private | PK-12 | 294 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Denton

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $137,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $810.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 4, 2012

A wonderful hidden gem! Tremendous education, even in the early childhood. Loving, well educated teachers. Our family loves it here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2010

We love Selwyn! I feel that the education my children get at Selwyn College Preparatory school is an ivestment that will pay for itself because they will actually know how to study and be self-motivated when the attend college. Selwyn teaches students how to think rather than how to sit and be fed information. Every student's opinion is valued at Selwyn and because they don't have to take time in the classroom to teach to the TAKS, there is time for discussion of the subject at hand. Selwyn's teachers truly care about the students and their approach instills a love of learning!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2010

I have been extremely disappointed with this school. Our daughters teacher has been very destructive to our daughters desire to learn. She is extremely negative and plays favorites among the students. My wife and I are both educators and have been appalled at the lack of professionalism at this school - teacher discussing other students by name at our parent conference, teacher posted student grades on the wall, teacher spoke very freely about religious beliefs to the young students making them feel negative about their personal beliefs...Administration seems to turn a blind eye to complaints by parents and continue to allow teachers act in ways that are distructive to the students. I have heard MANY complaints from other parents and things only continued to get worse as the year went on. We cannot wait for this year to be over!!! I would NEVER recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Selwyn is wonderful. There are only 8 children in my son's kindergarten class and the quality of teaching is great. My son learns so much and has really been able to blossom at Selwyn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2010

the school is a great school for preK through 5 but it lacks boy students above that age. it is great for preK through 5 cause it's a good inviorment for your child's early age. But when you get into middle school thats when it gets bad! They say bad words, are not nice,and are not big at all. maybe 10 people per grade. and high school problely has 20 people in all! after all of this. This school is just for the youngsters.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 25, 2010

The Selwyn School is a waste of money. One of the worst school I have ever put my child in. The teachers and staff are hypocritcal and biased toward students by picking favorites and not treating all children as equals. They are not focused on the importance of education. I would never recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2009

Selwyn has been and continues to be such an amazing experience for our son. It balances challenging academics and a nurturing environment perfectly. We love the enrichment programs and we are so grateful that we aren't faced with yearly TAKS testing. It is a bit of a drive for us and is a financial sacrifice, but well worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2009

I am grateful every day to have such an incredible school for my son. Selwyn offers such a safe, nurturing environment where my son has just blossomed. Even at a young age, the curriculum has been wonderful and diverse, including math, science, reading, writing, music, arts, computer, and nature studies on the beautiful 90 acre campus. In my opionion, Selwyn is the clear choice for a non-sectarian, college prep education in Denton. We even commute 40 minutes to get there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

Waste of money, all whole year wasted.. very cliquish and ran by money
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2008

The tree shaded, 92 acre campus has been great for our young teen. The strong academic curriculum in a small school enviroment allows children to think like the independent people they are. My son has been able to participate in all sports and activities. He has gone from loathing the big public school atmosphere to looking forward to going to school every day. He even misses it during holidays. It's a safe, drug-free enviroment and it has made a great change in my family's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

The Selwyn School provides an excellent academic environment for children of all ages. The campus is unique, safe and nice. The teachers genuinely care for the students and strive to do their best. The 3rd-5th grade science, humanities and mathematics programs are excellent. Interestingly, the academic program includes a nature center to enhance science education, and specialized music and art classrooms to encourage creativity. My daughter is happy to go to school and enjoys learning. We highly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2007

My son was graduated from Selwyn with high national honors. He loved it and we loved the care and concern shown by everyone involved with his education in the basics all children should have and do not get. Highest marks all around! The travel program was particularly fine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2007

I have two children who have attended Selwyn. All of the new facilities in the world could not compare to the genuine care for the overall student given at Selwyn. Both of my children have been exceptionally happy and academically challenged in all of their classes. This school provides a natural, safe environment that is not duplicated elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2007

My son has learned nothing the past 3 years at Selwyn. For the cost of $10,000, we expected a little more. Little parental involvement. I would never recommend this school to anyone. Save your $!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2006

Disappointing. Some classes overloaded with acting out kids so the smart, quiet ones like my son, were not challenged. Teacher could (OR WOULD) not discipline - bad behaviors distracted from learning environment. Some teachers could not consistently maintain a simple individual education plan. Administration would cover up for teacher when complaint made. Social environment OK but very small classes made for few potential friends for son. Parent cliques. For the money, not good enough an educational challenge for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

Good small school, safe environment, large open campus. The teachers care about the students. Strong music and arts. High School is just getting started students mostly 9th and 10th grades in 2006, adding one grade per year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2006

The Selwyn School provides excellent personalized instruction, challenging students at all levels. Focus is on educating the whole child, artistically, musically, athletically and academically and introducing them to the world through numerous cultural events.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

Andrew moved to Selwyn in 8th grade after some bad experiences in the Denton ISD. We are now So far at Selwyn he has blossomed under the attention of some exceptional teachers, a lot of very good teachers, and a very high level of parent involvment in the programs and activities. Selwyns facilities are a bit worse for wear, but the outward appearance of the school does not reflect the experiences to be had within. The perspectives program , music and arts programs and ability to participate in and be supported in almost any interest have been great. The sports program is small in the upper school, but the coaches are dedicated and the teams have been quite successful. Selwyn has converted my kid from a math hater to a mathlete. The community, teachers and staff have been wonderful and I highly recommend the school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2006

Classroom size is excellent with a very caring student teacher enviroment. Family friendly campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2005

My child has attended The Selwyn School since she was 16 months old. The teachers at The Selwyn School work hard to achieve the best from each student. My child's teachers were all well educated and provided additional instruction to me on many occasions. The headmaster is competent and greets each child by name every morning. He is a gifted leader who has developed relationships with Denton community leaders over several decades. The assistant headmaster is also dedicated to serving the students of this school. He is also a gifted chemistry teacher. Fine arts enrichment is excellent. The chess club is in it's second year and is a great addition to the school. Several booster organizations exist to sponsor school events and projects. No evening PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 37%
Asian 7% N/A
Two or more races 6% N/A
Hispanic 4% 47%
Black 2% 14%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (940) 383-0704

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3333 W University Dr
Denton, TX 76207
Website: Click here
Phone: (940) 382-6771

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Luminary School
Denton, TX



Legends Academy
Denton, TX





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT