Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-3
Private
Denton, TX

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


7 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Community School 5

Posted August 31, 2010
- a teacher
I am a teacher, a parent, and a longtime friend of Community School, and I have always found it to be a loving and supportive place for children and their families. Safety and communication are important parts of our Community School family. The July 19, 2010 entry, unfortunately, was posted by a FORMER employee who spent limited time with us. I find her accusations completely inappropriate and misplaced. If you have any doubts, make an appointment to come visit us!!!

Community School 5

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
We sent both of our children to Community School when we moved here from California. Our children love it and we love it! The Montessori philosophy is good, but what makes this school important to us is their commitment to helping children have good social skills, including helping them learn to negotiate disagreements. We love this school!


Community School 5

Posted January 13, 2008
- a parent
I love this school! This school combines the child-centered and holistic aspects of the Montessori method with teaching social and civic responsibility at age-appropriate levels. These are professionals who truly care about the children and their development. This is my daughter's first school experience and they have been very sensitive to her needs and context.

Community School 4

Posted April 26, 2006
- a parent
Loving staff. Perfect for the parent who seeks a small, homelike environment for preschool. A little rule-bound (i.e. kids must be specific ages to do certain activities---I wished for more student-centered organic learning). Also really missed an opportunity for an involved parent group so the school could capitalize on the wealth of knowledge and energy of parents at other times than field trips.

Community School 4

Posted April 03, 2006
- a parent
Solid pre-school option. Quality staff who genuinely cares for the kids. Lots of fun activities along side good Montessori learning activities. Art once or twice a week, plenty of outside time, weather permitting. Fun field trips from time to time as well.


Community School 5

Posted October 14, 2005
- a parent
Warm, supportive and stimulating environment; truly builds from the interests of the child while challenging the individual to excel at their own pace. Consistent with the Montessori philosophy while bridging didactic curriculum with student centered inquiry methods. The teachers and director have an intuitive sense of the nature of each child and respect and honor the individual while creating a community of learners. Low (if any) turn over rate offers children consistent care and support for a three to four year span of time. Primary and elementary classes frequently interact in community experiences which strengthens the power of multi-age grouping benefits. Frequent opportunitites for outside play in a large shaded yard are available each and every day; field trips to community resources add to the meaningful and natural experiences for each child. A treasure of humanity hard to be found in schooling options available today!

Community School 4

Posted July 18, 2005
- a parent
In some ways Community School is the best preschool and early elementary school in Denton. They're well-established, have a low student-teacher ratio, take great field trips, have an enormous shady playground, and the building feels more like a home than a school. They offer art, music, and Spanish classes in addition to the regular curriculum, but the students only get about 20 minutes for each activity before they're lined up to do the next thing. The atmosphere is kind of elitist and the price is high. The children seem like little adults, only more repressed. Some of the teachers want every little thing to be perfect. They're very, very picky and controlling.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Community School
2046 Scripture Street, Denton, TX  76201
(940) 382-3216
Last modified Community School is a Private school that serves grades PK-3
Community School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 7 reviews. Top