Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
DeSoto, TX
Students enrolled: 2,238

3 stars
Based on 22 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


26 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desoto High School 5

Posted August 17, 2014
- a community member
I am a 2007 graduate of Desoto High School and I couldn't be more proud of that fact. Through the hard with if the president of the school board, Warren Seay, the high school has truly taken a turn for the better. The facilities are top notch, and the collegiate programs are very detailed and cover a great range of studies. I have two nephews that are on their way to three high school this year, and I know they'll be receiving a great education because we put in what we want out of it. I graduated with a full scholarship and an currently getting my Masters. DHS was pivotal to my success.

Desoto High School 4

Posted November 21, 2012
- a parent
challenge your child, my child had a great experience at Desoto..also he challenged himself by taking all AP classes, so he was not in a class with 41 students..His classes were small and comfortable but more challenging than what regular students attempted..you get what you put in..Teachers communicated weekly like I asked and he go a full scholarship to college, was 22 in his graduating class..4.29 gpa..I am proud he was an eagle..


Desoto High School 5

Posted September 09, 2012
- a student
I'm currently a sophomore at this school. With the new additions to the high school, security has tightened and students respect the building. In 2012, the Academy section was finished, adding various programs to the school. The students are overall respectful, and the staff motivated. We have a new principal at the high school who encourages school spirit and has zero tolerance for excuses. Desoto High School has really improved since the last principal was here.

Desoto High School 4

Posted October 31, 2010
- a community member
I believe this school has a strong principal with good ideas. There is always room for improvement as we strive for excellence. Parental involvement is always the key to success and accountability in any school.

Desoto High School 1

Posted June 02, 2010
- a parent
It is such a shame to see this school going in the direction it has taken. It is only getting worse. My brother graduated from here in 1989. I attended up until 1994. I was having many problems w/teachers & I remember my mother going into the counselors office with basically no response. After there was pretty much nothing she could do, she decided to get out of this city & relocate to a much smaller town. Thank God she did. Because now I have children & one which will be entering high school this upcoming school year & there is no way on God's green earth that I would ever let her attend such a school. It has gone down hill since I left there in '94. In fact, I would not let either of my children attend DeSoto ISD.


Desoto High School 0
no rating

Posted March 15, 2010
- a parent
You can't blame the teachers or the school district when there only a handful of parents showing up for PTA. You're child represents who you are. Not enough parent involvement, quick to show up for a football/basketball game, but can't find the time to talk to your childs teacher or volunteer their services for a couple hours.

Desoto High School 0
no rating

Posted February 06, 2010
- a parent
I would rate this school at a rate of 1 for poor. The school expectations is low, especially for kids with disabilities.

Desoto High School 1

Posted April 24, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Desoto High School 1

Posted April 07, 2009
- a student
This school is terrible. I have had little to no positive experiences with its faculty, students, and structure. It is a school comprised of failure and false hope.

Desoto High School 1

Posted February 20, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desoto High School
600 Eagle Drive, DeSoto, TX  75115
(972) 230-0726
Last modified Desoto High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desoto High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top