Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Desoto East Middle School 5

Posted April 20, 2014
- a parent
Great School love the Principal , hard working staff. I love isteam program. My child is doing great. Also the band, new dance group, and our PTA feel really a part of the school . Thank you.

Desoto East Middle School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a community member
DeSoto East Middle School is the only school in District that has the highest scores for STAAR. The principal is working hard to make sure this school is always on the top. I have read some posts that do not like the school or the principal. It is only my opinion but if you don't like working at East Middle School or like the principal, leave. Why waste your time. You won't be missed.


Desoto East Middle School 1

Posted September 13, 2013
- a teacher
Obviously the principal or her secretary wrote the positive reviews. No teacher at East would say Donna Blackburn is a great principal. If she was so great why does se have the highest turnover in the district? Why did 16 teachers leave this year eventhough she tried to block some by giving negative references or simply not calling back. She spends 95% of her time sitting in her office on the computer. The only time she is in the hallway is if central office comes by. She has a girl club at school that she chooses by hair length and skin color.....the longer the hair and lighter the skin the better for her. Isteam.....lol don't get confused that's a smoke screen I wouldn't put my dog in there. Blackburn should not be a principal, she things she has Dr Harris in her corner so now she thinks she can do anything. I have one more year and I'm done with school and done with Desoto East.

Desoto East Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a teacher
Great!!! We are now a magnet school for the very intelligent students in our south Dallas area. East Middle School is one of very few schools to win two distinctions in the 2013 school year.

Desoto East Middle School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a teacher
my school is awesome. we have a iSTEAM academy. my principal is the greatest. DeSoto East!


Desoto East Middle School 4

Posted October 18, 2009
- a community member
This school is on the cutting edge of instruction and curriculum. The administrators are very thorough, organizes, personable, and effective. The students are awesome! The school is very structured and energetic...focused on exemplary rating.

Desoto East Middle School 5

Posted October 11, 2009
- a student
i think it is a great school with nice teachers and most nice students.i love going to school everday now.

Desoto East Middle School 0
no rating

Posted March 29, 2009
- a student
This school is horrible! Ms.Nevels worries about the wrong things. Instead of worrying about our test scores she worries about our dresscode. We are very unorganzied. They pick at the littlest things.The teachers don't teach anything at all.


Desoto East Middle School 5

Posted September 04, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Desoto East Middle School 2

Posted August 26, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Desoto East Middle School
601 East Belt Line Road, DeSoto, TX  75115
(972) 223-0690
Last modified Desoto East Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Desoto East Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top