Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
17 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Dripping Springs High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
I do believe some teachers have good intentions but most attempts at communication are ineffective in the end.

Dripping Springs High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
the school does not aid in the development of grit but instead the advantaged youth who already have the positive traits attain success.


Dripping Springs High School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
The school teaches students to not volunteer for compassion but so that you can earn some silly badge at graduation as you accumulate volunteer hours to look good to other colleges. The competition also dissuades students from supporting peers in the name of winning.

Dripping Springs High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 28, 2016
- a community member
Cheating on assignments is prerequisite to success at this school. And all with any success cheat in order to get by. This is due to the intensive workload of very unengaging tasks. Here I learned that the only way to succeed is to get your nose brown from the staff, while coning them behind their backs all in the name of getting into some pompous university sooner.

Dripping Springs High School 1

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
I could not be more disappointed with this school. The problem with these small town schools is they are very narrow minded, and are very judge mental to people who are diverse or different. There is a lot of bullying that occurs at this school not a specific group everyone bullies everyone. And besides the social aspect of this school their academics aren't too great either. They focus more on athletics more than academics. Athletes get a lot of leeway compared to non athletes. A good majority of their teachers are coaches who know nothing about the subject they are teaching. Would not recommend this school there are better options in the Austin area.


Dripping Springs High School 5

Posted April 30, 2015
- a parent
We could not be happier with Dripping Springs High School, where I have two ninth graders in the GT program. The teachers, superintendent, and principal have all been thoughtful, caring, and highly informed. Bruce Gearing and Joe Burns are fantastic . . . you could not hope for better. Retta Green, the lead counselor, is truly a wonder and provides the same services you would get at an elite private school (far more, actually). As a case in point, she--and all the counselors--meets with students individually during their freshman year to talk about goals and map out a college prep course plan for all four years. They then have that meeting every year thereafter to readjust according to students' needs. The homework load is tough at times, but mostly because my kids are in Olympic level training six days a week. My kids' teachers are extraordinary, very experienced, and, like Ms. Green, go light years beyond what is necessary. I feel that my children are learning from the best of the best--and that goes for the administration, too. We are very grateful to everyone at the high school who works so hard on behalf of all the kids.

Dripping Springs High School 2

Posted November 02, 2014
- a student
Very guilty of prioritizing the wrong things. Grades are more important than physical or mental health, and football and band are more important than grades. I always got the impression that coming to school sick was preferable to gaining one horrific absence. This school may be better than some other public schools in the state, but coming from private school, it was appalling. Diversity is hugely lacking and, by extension, the general populus is mostly judgemental and unaccomodating. Students who rely on more than just luck to choose the appropriate "your/you're" are few and far between, and signs/posters put up in the hallways by students have major grammar and spelling errors. Obviously the education quality cannot fully make up for the social and administrative failings. At the very least, if they won't treat the student like an adult human being, they should provide an adequate education, but even that appears to be too difficult. Overall, not great, by any means.

Dripping Springs High School 3

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
its ok. wish there was more diversity. its an 'old school' district trying to grow up into the new millenium.


Dripping Springs High School 5

Posted July 08, 2011
- a parent
I noticed that the class sizes are a little larger than the state average (very surprising). However, the district's students are more well behaved and more acdemically focused than most of the schools in Texas. We moved here because of the exemplary rating and state standing for academics.

Dripping Springs High School 5

Posted April 30, 2011
- a student
I love this school and this district. I feel like, because of the great quality of teachers and student around me, I know where I'm going with my life. I am a freshman at this high school and this year has been great. In 6th grade I was recognized as a "Gifted and Talented" english student and the class for us is terrific. The swim team has an amazing coach and we work as a team, not just as individuals. Some of the teachers are not up to par, however, and if your child doesn't think they'll do well in that class because of them, I would urge them to switch out of the class. Whether your child concentrates on sports, needs help passing classes, or can only think outside of the box, I sincerely believe this is the school for you.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dripping Springs High School
P O Box 479, Dripping Springs, TX  78620
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. (512) 858-3100
Last modified Dripping Springs High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top