Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Dripping Springs, TX

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dripping Springs High School 2

Posted November 02, 2014
- a student
Very guilty of prioritizing the wrong things. Grades are more important than physical or mental health, and football and band are more important than grades. I always got the impression that coming to school sick was preferable to gaining one horrific absence. This school may be better than some other public schools in the state, but coming from private school, it was appalling. Diversity is hugely lacking and, by extension, the general populus is mostly judgemental and unaccomodating. Students who rely on more than just luck to choose the appropriate "your/you're" are few and far between, and signs/posters put up in the hallways by students have major grammar and spelling errors. Obviously the education quality cannot fully make up for the social and administrative failings. At the very least, if they won't treat the student like an adult human being, they should provide an adequate education, but even that appears to be too difficult. Overall, not great, by any means.
1 person found this helpful

Dripping Springs High School 3

Posted August 16, 2014
- a parent
its ok. wish there was more diversity. its an 'old school' district trying to grow up into the new millenium.


Dripping Springs High School 5

Posted July 08, 2011
- a parent
I noticed that the class sizes are a little larger than the state average (very surprising). However, the district's students are more well behaved and more acdemically focused than most of the schools in Texas. We moved here because of the exemplary rating and state standing for academics.

Dripping Springs High School 5

Posted April 30, 2011
- a student
I love this school and this district. I feel like, because of the great quality of teachers and student around me, I know where I'm going with my life. I am a freshman at this high school and this year has been great. In 6th grade I was recognized as a "Gifted and Talented" english student and the class for us is terrific. The swim team has an amazing coach and we work as a team, not just as individuals. Some of the teachers are not up to par, however, and if your child doesn't think they'll do well in that class because of them, I would urge them to switch out of the class. Whether your child concentrates on sports, needs help passing classes, or can only think outside of the box, I sincerely believe this is the school for you.

Dripping Springs High School 2

Posted January 03, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Dripping Springs High School 4

Posted November 09, 2009
- a parent
The staff is friendly. The teachers seem to be dedicated to doing the best that they can despite the large class sizes. The school board is excellent. The excellent band program resulted in state championship for marching bands. Parent involvement is very high for a public school.

Dripping Springs High School 0
no rating

Posted October 29, 2009
- a parent
the students as a whole are tolerant and supportive of each other.....despite 'sterotypical differences'....

Dripping Springs High School 5

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
Just a darn good school. Great teachers and students!


Dripping Springs High School 4

Posted July 28, 2009
- a student
I have two main problems with this high school. We aren't allowed to have off-campus lunch, not even seniors, despite a multitude of places to eat within two minutes of the school. My other big problem with the high school is its location. The district is very spread out and as far away from the city of Austin as Dripping Springs goes, both of which are two significant inconveniences. DS has a good academic reputation with UT Austin, which makes for a strong application. I always found it easy to learn at DSHS, and my classes usually had a positive atmosphere. Some teachers are sub-par, but they are the minority. Cliques, drinking, parties, and drug use are all somewhat prevalent, but falling in with the wrong crowd is by all means avoidable.

Dripping Springs High School 0
no rating

Posted December 15, 2008
- a parent
This school puts obstacles in front of the kids and calls it 'rigor.' Do not try to have a conversation with a teacher, especially if you have a question - the teachers are always right and the students always lie. Principal is weak. I would not send any more of my children here, and pulled out the ones that had started. Shameful excuse for education.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dripping Springs High School
P O Box 479, Dripping Springs, TX  78620
(512) 858-3102
Last modified Dripping Springs High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dripping Springs High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top