Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School 5

Posted September 17, 2015
- a parent
Great teachers, great staff, and a very welcoming environment for students and parents. I am proud my kids attended this school. They were pushed academically to be a success, but they were also taught how to be a good person and someone who can be productive in real life too.

Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School 5

Posted November 18, 2009
- a student
I go to this school and I must say that it is very enjoyable. We have a student council, We have a our own school broadcast (that the students make), we have choir (shool and city), band, art, and I am a library assistant. The teachers don't have the best of tempers but I must say that it is better than average.


Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School 1

Posted June 05, 2009
- a student
I went to brandenburg and i didnt like it at all! yesterday was the last day of school and no one cried to leave the teachers they cried for their friends. I have to say they are too strict on dress code and some teachers are offensive and will throw your things.I had to deal with that..But, i just didnt like it..And there's only like 1 field trip.So students prepare to be dissapointed and written up for stupid things.

Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School 1

Posted March 13, 2009
- a parent
They don't teach anything at this school other than the academic achivement tests. So much for being recognized, if the students can only perform for one test.

Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School
no rating

Posted May 17, 2008
- a teacher
I thought at this school for a brief time. It was hard to get to know the staff. The principal was difficult at times to deal with. I do agree though that out of all the intermediate schools in Duncanville this is the one you want your kid at. There are high expectations for the students as far as academics.


Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School 3

Posted September 09, 2007
- a student
I think this school is good but it needs more fun such as field trips.

Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School 5

Posted August 16, 2006
- a parent
After reading the reviews, I had to give my opinion. The school did not receive 'recognized' because the students already knew the material. Some teachers have given up their time to help these children succeed. I commend the staff at Brandenburg for the hardwork they put forth. My child received commended performance for the first time ever in math and know that it was his teacher that gave him the confidence and skills he needed. I know longer fear for my child in his grades and he no longer is scared or dreads going to school. The most beneficial thing about this school is that they not only teach about academics, but prepare your kid to become productive citizens. To see some of the comments that were placed seems discouraging, but I saw it as a lesson for our children to become more independent and responsible for their actions.

Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School 3

Posted June 12, 2006
- a parent
This school is very much a mixed bag. Most of the teachers are very good; qualified, caring and conscientious. The curriculum is challenging. It offers the beginnings of Duncanville's excellent music/band program. However, your child may very well learn that not all teachers are concerned, fair, careful, sensible or ethical. Some teachers are apathetic, your child may learn apathy. Some teachers are disorganized, your child's grades may suffer for the teachers shortcomings. Some teachers are overwhelmed, some are plain offensive. This is also a school that is not interested in parent feedback and discourages parental involvement, you will have to be ready to push back.


Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School 5

Posted October 19, 2005
- a parent
Excellent teacher/parent communication. As good, or better than as any local christian school in the area.

Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School 4

Posted February 10, 2005
- a parent
Brandenburg is an excellent school for its size. We pulled our daughter from a small private school in the area and put her in Brandenburg in the middle of 5th grade. The classes are much larger but her grades have exceeded our expectations and she is a straight 'A' student. The administration does a great job however, we do feel at times a lack of professionalism from some of the teachers in the fact that they display attitudes and slang language (not foul, just slang) to the students but feel that our daughter is well grounded enough to overlook it. Our daughter enjoys being at Brandenburg most of the time and that she has benefited from her time at Brandenburg Int. I would like to see more extra curricular activities for this age group such as drama/choir, etc. in the future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School
1903 Blueridge Drive, Duncanville, TX  75137
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (972) 708-3100
Last modified Grace R Brandenburg Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top