Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 10 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School 2

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
I agree with some of the previous comments. I am leaving this comment in the hopes that someone will get the message. This school could be better. Alexander has a lot to work on. My child is in the 4th grade and has been there for three years and I am unimpressed. The teachers are great. The administrators need to be reorganized. The principal is a lot of the issue. I believe that parental concerns have been ignored. I believe that there is a lack of innovation on the part of the principal. I do like the Assistant Principal...But ultimately, the principal makes the decisions and she is inflexible and is getting a wake up with no PTA and no parental help. Parents inaction speaks volumes.

S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School 2

Posted October 27, 2013
- a parent
Alexander has good teachers despite an administration that is "out of touch". The teachers would be even better if they had a better leader. Low Morale of the teachers and parents plague this school. It shows with the lack of PTA and other activities. believe this school probably was good and is living on past achievements rather than setting and or raising the bar. The rating of 5 is accurate. I also think that there is an attitude of unprofessionalism right down to the flip flops the teachers wear. Sidewalks they want the kids to sit on are never clean. Dismissal procedures are unsafe. Too few staff members minding the ship. Chaotic. I've had kids try and get in my car. Adults that (in an effort to get to their kids at dismissal) frequently cut in the kids single file lines. It's a lot of problems at Alexander. Are the teachers good? Well that's a mixed bag much like the school. It's too few good anything at this school. The great school and TEA ratings are accurate. Mediocre at best.


S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
Alexander is a great school, all of my children go to Alexander. Alexander is located in a little neighborhood in Duncanville TX. The only thing I don't like is how parents will lie in order to get their kids into our school. If you live in Desoto, or Lancaster please take your kids to the correct school. I can see the school from my front porch and go there all the time for activities. Administration does not let out of control kids run the school, admin runs the school. I can say that because my kids have gone to the school since kinder. No body is perfect but your children are able to learn in a safe, happy, controlled environment. If you don't like it take your child to a private school and stop hitting "messy" low blows.

S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School 5

Posted October 24, 2013
- a parent
The staff is great with the parents and the students! I have always enjoyed volunteering at Alexander and helping staff and students when I can. I know we all work and it is hard to find time but if we can give a little time we could make this great school even better!

S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a community member
Alexander is a great school. These teachers work to help each child. If you think your child is not progressing here, look for some other cause than the teachers. Why would a school that works so hard for its great ratings purposefully ignore a child? These teachers want success for every child.


S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School 3

Posted January 22, 2007
- a parent
I do not feel my child has learned that much here- I feel it has put her more behind than when she started. She does not bring home books to read out loud in Kindergarten- very concerned and pulling her out.

S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School 4

Posted January 18, 2006
- a parent
After two years at this school, I have nothing but the highest respsect for its' staff and faculty. My son looks forward to going to school most everyday and absolutely loves his teacher this year as well as his teacher last year. The faculty is always more than willing to help, whether it be answering a question regarding schoolwork or questions regarding advice on how to handle certain situations between school and home. Go Alexander!

S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School 5

Posted August 31, 2005
- a parent
Alexander is the best elementary school is Duncanville. It has unique programs that helps the students academically achieve. It has reading programs for the younger grades, math programs for the upper grades and an awesome art program led by the PTA.


S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2004
- a parent
Alexander Elementary has earned its reputation as a great school. The best in the duncanville system and surrounding area. Unfortunatly, dogma of the current school board and upper administration, coupled with mindless zero tolerance and TAAKS testing overshadowing actual education is ruining the district. The dress code is absurd, enforcement draconian. The school day too long for elementary students especially considering they are often denied recess, on 'silent' lunch or given very little time to learn social skills. Physical education and art-music programs are depreciated. It seems rather than give kids a liberal education the admins preference is producing unthinking, unquestioning cogs for the corporate machine.

S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School 2

Posted August 26, 2003
- a parent
The dress code in the Duncanville school district is a waste of time. They try to run the PE classes like a boot camp. Give me a break. Respect these kids and give them recess. I don't choose for my tax money to be spent degrading these kids in this manner.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School
510 Softwood Drive, Duncanville, TX  75137
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 10 reviews. (972) 708-2500
Last modified S Gus Alexander Jr Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top