Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Clint Q Smith Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 511 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Duncanville

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $100,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,090.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2013

Great school with awesome teachers and staff. My son loves this school. Teachers and staff knows each child by name.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2011

It is a great school, wonderful teachers & staff - most important, my child is excited to learn since day 1. I absolutely like the parent involvement and principal supports new ideas. Looking forward to more sucessful years @ Smith!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2011

Smith Elementary has always been a top notch school. Very good caring veteran teachers. My children went the school and are now college graduates.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2011

I love this school and my 3 children do also. They are so involved with the children and the principal is Awesome!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

I have a 4th grader who is in Ms Winn class. He really like Ms Winn and she has been a great help with assisting him in learning. Also my K-5 student has a great teacher as well. My student love Ms Richardson and has learn alot being in her class. These are two outstanding teachers. Mostly everyone is excellent to work with including the lunch room staff, Pricipal and Assist Pricipal. Great Job Smith
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

I've had a good experience at this school. Teachers have been open to parental invovlment. My daughter 4th grade teacher Mrs. Craft is awesome she gave great suggestions on what I can work with my daughter own. Environment seems pleasing and the office staff was welcoming. If any complaints, I believe teachers need more help in disciplining misbehaving students in class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2009

My baby girl goes there and always come back home with a smile on her face she say she love her teachers Mrs.Valintine and Mrs.Reid I think that they are pretty good teachers ,too. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2006

We were really impressed with Smith when our son was in first grade. At that time, it was known as Smith Academy. It had excellent an outstanding principal and many advanced programs for the kids. That changed the next year, with the change in principals. DISD decided all elementary schools should be equal, but rather than adding to the other schools, resources were withdrawn from Smith. Children were no longer allowed to talk at lunch nor to go outside after lunch. Recess was eliminated. The school day for these K-4 kids was longer than for highschoolers. We pulled our sons out and homeschool them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2005

This school is as close to private as you can get in a public setting. We really enjoyed the Kindergarten teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2005

Smith is a great school with great teachers. It has provided a very stable foundation for my children in the past 5 years. We have been a part of each grade offered at Smith and I can def. say that the whole staff seems to work well as a team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2004

I attended Smith from 1st grade all the way up to 6th grade. Smith is the best school I know of, I always came home with a smile on my face. We had lots of field trips, excellent teachers, and lots of learning with fun. I also love this school because there wasn't ever any violence or referrals written up on kids.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

95 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
99%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

95 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
75%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

105 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

106 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
85%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

105 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students89%
Female85%
Male94%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education100%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)83%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant89%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students86%
Female76%
Male96%
Black or African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Special education75%
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English87%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female88%
Male83%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education91%
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)64%
Proficient in English88%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students83%
Female84%
Male82%
Black or African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special education58%
Not special education86%
Limited English proficient (LEP)82%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant83%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students95%
Female98%
Male92%
Black or African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special education91%
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
73%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
53%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

85 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Female74%
Male78%
Black or African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education78%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant76%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted73%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students47%
Female53%
Male40%
Black or African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special educationn/a
Not special education49%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English46%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant47%
Gifted/talented89%
Non-Gifted42%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Female66%
Male60%
Black or African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English62%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant62%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted53%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students65%
Female66%
Male64%
Black or African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged72%
Special educationn/a
Not special education64%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant65%
Gifted/talented95%
Non-Gifted56%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students73%
Female84%
Male64%
Black or African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special educationn/a
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted65%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 45% 13%
Hispanic 36% 52%
White 12% 29%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 8%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • JULIE HARGROVE
Fax number
  • (972) 708-3030

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1010 Big Stone Gap Road
Duncanville, TX 75137
Phone: (972) 708-3000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Summit Learning Center
Duncanville, TX


Advantage Academy
Duncanville, TX




Ume Preparatory Academy
Duncanville, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT