Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,633 students|Advantage Academy
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

A great place to send your scholar. AA has the very best interest of the student at heart. We are building champions.
August 16, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
71 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 93 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Advantage Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted April 02, 2016
- a community member
I learned no math from 6-8 grade. In currently failing at my new School and I can t even comprehend a basic Algebraic function.

Advantage Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 02, 2016
- a community member
I went there and even the staff avoided eachother, some "honesty". And as for fairness? You only had fun if you were a teacher's favorite


Advantage Academy 1

Posted April 02, 2016
- a community member
As a Student at this school from Kindergarten to eighth grade, I can honestly tell you I received an inadequate education coupled with psychotic teachers and staff. A common occurrence at school was us getting nearly hour long talks from a discipline coordinator about how terrible we were because of how loud we would be in the cafeteria. Then, we wouldn't complete class abd we'd get blamee for that also. Not to mention the teachers who had no idea what was going on.

Advantage Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
I would thank the nurse from last year is she were still there. She was always kind and patient with our kids and this new nurse leaves much to be desired. I don't appreciate staff being fake in front of the parents and then completely opposite in front of the students.

Advantage Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
They cannot possibly teach these fine qualities when the staff is doing the opposite. Kids learn by example.


Advantage Academy 1

Posted February 05, 2016
- a parent
This schools staff doesn't act professional or empathetic towards their students. They choose to treat children with disabilities as a behavior problem rather than a disability. The teachers are protected by administration no matter how they behaved. Excuse after excuse is given and nothing in favor of the child.

Advantage Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
The nurse has been very sweet and patient, as well as making sure to update parents about their students.

Advantage Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very ineffective

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Teachers treat students with disabilities as if their disability is a behavioral issue, rather than a legitimate disability. However, they pick and choose the students they mistreat in this way.


Advantage Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
No, because it shows strong racial biases, as well as a bias toward students with disabilities.

Advantage Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 04, 2016
- a parent
Teachers punish students based on who they like more. They punish students for things they didn't actually see for themselves, and some students are told things like, "I'll believe other students over you."

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Advantage Academy
618 West Wheatland Road, Duncanville, TX  75116
Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 93 reviews. (214) 276-5800
Last modified Advantage Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top