Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-12
Public charter
Duncanville, TX
Students enrolled: 1,630
 
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

A great place to send your scholar. AA has the very best interest of the student at heart. We are building champions.
August 16, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Amount of homework:
SCHOOL LEADER
Homework is a way for AA scholars to get the practice they need to work toward a high level of rigor in their classroom. In the real world, practice, additional learning, and determination are required for success in life.
Posted August 16, 2015

Develops respect:
SCHOOL LEADER
Each campus has a Discipline Administrator who works with campus administration to build a sense of community, respect, and caring.
Posted August 16, 2015


Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
AA is a "faith friendly" District. HS students are required to participate in community service hours.
Posted August 16, 2015

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
A great place to send your scholar. AA has the very best interest of the student at heart. We are building champions.
Posted August 16, 2015

Advantage Academy 5

Posted February 28, 2015
- a community member
The kitchen staff are so beautiful and kind(Ya sabes) pls let them know how wonderful they are


Advantage Academy 5

Posted October 27, 2014
- a parent
Great staff, professional teachers. A good alternative to public school. Most ratings are posted by disgruntled employees trying to discredit the district as a parent my child has shown much improvement over public schools with over crowding. Classes are smaller and individual attention given to students is a plus

Advantage Academy 1

Posted September 24, 2014
- a parent
I'm soooo glad we left this school. My child is doing so good in a public school. Parents stay at this school because they don't know any better or they don't care. I reported one stealing. She turned on the tears and got away with it. No the principal doesn't take a stand. He would not take action with this parent. But if it had been a student they would have had the police out there. My child made all failing grades there. Since being in public school he is passing everything. Guess what?? They have teachers that know what they are doing. We got so use to everyone at Advantage Academy lying and nasty hateful. At GPHS you don't have that. What the girls did at GPHS, you'll never see at Advantage Academy. Not the GP campus. I've seen life away from that school. Parents your kids deserve better. They really do.

Advantage Academy 1

Posted September 23, 2014
- a community member
Its sad that noone at central office wants any input on what happens on campus, but the minute you disagree or have your own opinion about something, they threaten you with"You know we can let you go, at any time." We have had more than qualified coaches on staff, but the assistant athletic director position was given to the most unqualified staff member of all. She knows absolutely nothing about athletics, or the rules of UIL. She changes numbers on teachers SELF evalutions, and blames the number changes on people who have nothing to do with it. They are also the worst paying charter school, in Texas. You wonder why everyone quit? Central office staff tries to bully good teachers, and force some to leave. I must admit, the principals were the best, but that lady over PE is truly a horrible boss.


Advantage Academy 1

Posted July 15, 2014
- a teacher
I find it curious that the school has this many ex-employees to make negative comments. Open your eyes, AA. When nearly an entire building of certified elementary teachers do not return the following year (most of them left by choice), you're the one with the problem. This school has the worst teacher turnover I have ever seen or heard of. This turnover happened at North Duncanville year after year after year, and is still happening. But they can't let go of their pride in order to see that maybe, just maybe, they need to quit blaming everyone else and look in the mirror. The kids will continue to suffer until AA admin gets their act together. Seriously, let go of your need to control and micromanage and get with it.

Advantage Academy 4

Posted June 27, 2014
- a teacher
Advantage Academy has all certified teachers, A curriculum director with a doctorate, and at least two certified Principals--the GP Assistant Principal and the Waxahachie principal proudly display their credentials. Teachers care about the students and the administrative staff is always ready to greet you with a smile. I find it curious that previous negative comments are all from ex-disgruntled employees.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Advantage Academy
618 West Wheatland Road, Duncanville, TX  75116
(214) 276-5800
Last modified Advantage Academy is a Charter school that serves grades PK-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Advantage Academy Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. Top