Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public
Edgewood, TX
Students enrolled: 305

2 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Edgewood High School 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a community member
The new admininistrators at the High School are hateful and show favoritism to the wealthy kids.Support staff are treated badly.
1 person found this helpful

Edgewood High School 4

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
I AM THE PTO REP FOR HIGH SCHOOL, AND WE ARE IN THE MIDST OF A LIBRARY REMODELING PROJECT. WE NEED EVERYTHING FROM BOOKS TO WIFI UPGRADES. ANY HELP IS APPRECIATED. OUR SMALL LITTLE CAMPUS GETS LEFT OUT OF A LOT OF BENEFITS BECAUSE THE OLDER KIDDOS ARE MORE SELF SUFFICIENT, AND PARENTS TEND TO BE LESS INVOLVED THE OLDER THEY GET.


Edgewood High School 3

Posted October 17, 2011
- a parent
My academic rateing for Edgewood is good. My child is a sophomore with a learning disability and she has shown great progress from year to year. The school has it's problems, as does all schools, but over all the school academics are good. I only wish that t hey would put more money in classes and not into athletics. They hire to "WIN". They spend to WIN. If your child is not a who's who's child, they are set aside and not allowed to excel in athletics. Athletics is great, but an extra. Winning is great, but an extra. How much do you win when you compromise the self-esteem of a child for the WIN. So the athletics department in this school rates 1 star.

Edgewood High School 5

Posted August 23, 2010
- a parent
Way to go students & teachers for receiving an exemplary rating. Have a GREAT 2010-2011 school year. Who said you had nothing to "crow" about? Let us hear that crowing noise. SUPER JOB!!!!!!

Edgewood High School 5

Posted July 26, 2010
- a parent
I am not an administrator, teacher, or employee of the district, no matter what it may "sound like". I write positives where some write negatives. EVERYONE means ALL. EVERYONE does not share this opinion. We have been in other schools with far greater issues. Not EVERYONE will be pleased & will always find a fault. I did not read anywhere that any particular school was on an exemplary TAKS list. This must be a "joke" or rumor. Maybe, this school is on the list for 2010.


Edgewood High School 1

Posted July 11, 2010
- a parent
July 7 - are you an administrator? Sounds like it. Everyone in this community knows that this district has political appointees for administrators who do the bare minimum. The bare minimum is offered in course offerings and the district does only what it must for the district - not the student. There is nothing to crow about in a district that should be exemplary...but that is not. Leadership is a joke.
1 person found this helpful

Edgewood High School 0
no rating

Posted April 30, 2010
- a parent
They place too much inportance on boys sports. Sports are great and they do teach the kids skills, but I will repeat what I have said before...how many kids playing sports in Edgewood EVER got a FULL scholarship to a college? What they need is to put more money into helping make the kids ready for the real world, so they can get a real job. Football is a sport, not a job skill required to make it in the big city. I love Edgewood, but the school falls short in several areas.
1 person found this helpful

Edgewood High School 1

Posted February 16, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Edgewood High School 1

Posted February 02, 2010
- a student
This school has no computer classes worth anything, all of the classes seem to repeat what we learned last year and the year before and the year before that. The athletic department is a joke! They are given way too much money and should go towards different classes other that ag or athletics. If your not in athletics in Edgewood ISD you apparently won't make it in life. When I did play sports the coaches said that this is how you are encouraged to make better grades. I am making alot better grades than when I was in athletics. There is probably one in nearly a million people from Edgewood that will make it to pro sport. It's a waste of time!
1 person found this helpful

Edgewood High School 0
no rating

Posted January 13, 2010
- a parent
I was concerned when I read that the ACT/SAT scores were 'really low' so I did some investigation. The district average score for SAT: 973, state average: 987...district average for ACT: 21.1, state average, 20.5. While the scores are not shining, they are certainly not 'really low'. There is so much more data to consider than just performance on college entrance exams.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edgewood High School
804 East Pine Street, Edgewood, TX  75117
(903) 896-4856
Last modified Edgewood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edgewood High School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top