Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Idea Quest College Preparatory
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
most Definitely, it shows in there testing and the results they get from their test

Idea Quest College Preparatory
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
yes, students with time do develop respect for not only their teachers, but everyone around them.


Idea Quest College Preparatory
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
yes , very much so. I have met some of my daughters friends from the same school and they all have the same characteristics, very compassion, caring students. im very pleased

Idea Quest College Preparatory
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
my daughter has been going to this school since she was in 3rd grade and this school has taught her to be a very honorable, grateful, sincere person. im very blessed.

Idea Quest College Preparatory 5

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
This school has instilled in my child a piece of hope for her future. its a great school.


Idea Quest College Preparatory
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 04, 2016
- a community member
Ms. Thomas, Its teachers like her that make a difference in my daughters life. she has instilled what hard work will do for an individual and how it can make a difference when you apply your best in something you enjoy doing. My appreciation for this teacher is overwhelming. what a devoted hard working teacher she is. Rosana Garcia(Abigail Kellers mom)

Idea Quest College Preparatory 5

Posted February 09, 2015
- a parent
Every review is skewed by ones personal experience, so it is hard to be objective when rating a whole school. We have been there for three years with 4-6 kids, two moved to another school to play football. Having said that, my experience is generally great. Our kids are pushed to work hard and held accountable for their behavior and work. While I don't believe there is such thing as a perfect school, because kids have different needs, I do believe this school has a great combination of academic rigor, extracurricular activities, socio-economic mix and accountability (discipline). I like the uniforms, I like the college-going culture & I like the teachers/staff. Lastly, I like that all my kids are on a campus together, K-12. I prefer a smaller school where my kids are not just a number. If I had one suggestion for improvement it would be a better/more facilities for extracurricular activities. For examble, it is impossible to give enough gym time to the number of teams trying to use the one gymnasium/cafeteria, but they make due.

Idea Quest College Preparatory 1

Posted July 16, 2012
- a parent
don't believe he hype. Although IDEA says all of its students graduate being accepted into a four year college, the reality of this is very different from the positive goal. I have watched, over the passed three yeras as the most experienced teachers and those with master's degres are allowed to move on. How can you build continuity and a culture with such a huge turn over rate? parents are not informed about what is really happening on the campus. The leadership does not want to improve. It's sad.


Idea Quest College Preparatory 3

Posted May 21, 2012
- a parent
The student to teacher ratio is way to high. I believe it is above 30 to 1.

Idea Quest College Preparatory 3

Posted September 06, 2010
- a parent
Teachers (for the most part) at this campus really go above and beyond when it comes to education. My son's have attended IDEA Quest for a few years now and have really shown considerable improvements in reading, math, and respect skills. Sadly, since there has been a new administration, things have slipped. I see disorganization and I've now seen a teacher be let go within the first 3 weeks of school. Something is going on at this campus and it needs to be addressed. I will be removing my children due to the recent chaos but as far as teachers go, I'll be really sad to say goodbye to them. I think that with enough parental support, our children can thrive at most public or private schools. IDEA Quest has potential... I'm sure they will gain my respect once again at some point in the future.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Idea Quest College Preparatory
14001 North Rooth Road, Edinburg, TX  78541
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (956) 287-1003
Last modified Idea Quest College Preparatory is a Charter school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top