Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


El Paso Academy West 3

Posted March 01, 2014
- a community member
As a student of this school, let me be one of the first to say that if you are an artistically inclined child, rather than a 'just-get-through-my-classes' type, or if you want any extracurriculars... This is not the place to go. The only elective available from this small school is art. Furthermore, if you're all about the high school experience, you probably won't get it here; it feels more like a middle school, to be honest, with the challenge level to match. I understand that they are to offer AP classes in the future, but it isn't likely that a lot of the student body will be taking them. A lot of children seem to be quite content here, but I simply would rather go to a public school, because there are many more options for the student body than garden work parties or blood drives.

El Paso Academy West 5

Posted April 12, 2011
- a community member
I am a former student from West. Im so glad that I had the gone there! As someone had said kids who have a not so good past, well i go in that catagory. My home school was Coronado and both years i was there i got put in alternative. Not happy bout it which is why i decide to get out and go to West. At the time Ms.Duggar was the principle and she accepted me with open arms and im glad she did. Attending West really did change my ways. I didn't get into much trouble anymore. Teachers were great there at the time i was going(: This school has more one on one with the teachers and students which is why its a good school. They work hard to make sure thestudents learn what they need to know in order to pass the TAKS test.


El Paso Academy West 5

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
My son had a wonderful experience and learning oppurtunity at this school. El Paso school district is very overcrowded, and does not seem to care about the kids who are struggling or just not acknowledged because there is no time for them. Ms. Duger, the principal of this school, is non-judgemental and excepts all students as they are. The staff there are very positive and welcoming. There are alot of kids who attend who have had some trouble in the past, but the superintendent and the principal, along with staff and teachers make it clear to them that there is a 0 tolerance for bad behavior. Not all the students there have been in trouble, but a majority there have made mistakes, like most of us, or are young moms, etc, and are there strictly to learn. I recommend this school.

El Paso Academy West 5

Posted July 16, 2009
- a parent
Thank God for this school! My son was failing in public school, he was lost. Since he began at this school he gets all A's and B's. He does not have to fit into a perfect little box here. The principal is easy to communicate with and there to lend a helping hand whenever needed.

El Paso Academy West 5

Posted September 05, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.


El Paso Academy West 4

Posted July 12, 2008
- a parent
I love the experience my son has had in this school. He went from failing completely in public schools to A & B student. Most importantly my son is in a relaxed environment where his educational needs are being met without the pressure of crowded schools and uncaring public school personnel.

El Paso Academy West 5

Posted June 18, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

El Paso Academy West 3

Posted August 16, 2007
- a student
El Paso Academy West is a good school. But some of the teachers are spanish speakers so they just speak spanish to most of the students while the other non-spanish student speakers have to suffer and not really learn anything because the teachers are concentrated on teaching the spanish speakers how to read in english. Although some of the teachers do try to help you with things like if you have a question they wont get mad at you like they would in most public schools and the Principle and Assitant Principle are awesome


El Paso Academy West 4

Posted July 15, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

El Paso Academy West
1065 Doniphan Park Circle, El Paso, TX  79922
(915) 845-7997
Last modified El Paso Academy West is a Charter school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
El Paso Academy West Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top