Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
175 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Western Hills U M C 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a teacher
We are a small school, with small teacher/student ratio. This enables us to give individual attention when necessary. Our program includes the normal 3 R's, as well as languages, such as Spanish and Chinese. The school has a computer and music program as well. The school is now under the direction of Mrs. Patricia Aguirre. If you are looking for a school for your child, we have a Mothers Day Out program and grades K-5, with after school care, you should at lease come for a visit.

Western Hills U M C 5

Posted November 10, 2014
- a parent
Best school ever. Caring principal and teachers. Small classes. Excellent music program. Excellent P.E. program. Foreign languages include Spanish and Chinese Mandarin which the children love. Technology class is instructional and fun. Lots of "hands on" learning. I wish this school went all the way to high school.


Western Hills U M C 5

Posted June 11, 2013
- a parent
I have two children in this school. Their music/theatre program is the very best I have seen. The principal is very dedicated and teachers are very hard working. We left the public school system and found heaven in this school. I really wish this school go all the way to high school.

Western Hills U M C 1

Posted April 25, 2013
- a parent
I'd like to point out that if your grandchildren attended here and are now thriving in law school: that was a very long time ago. I attended Western Hills, for two years, and it was a very different school. It was a very good preschool/kindergarten. Thinking that this was still the case, I enrolled my son, when he was old enough to attend the MDO program. BIG MISTAKE! I won't go into details, but will state that my experience was EXACTLY the same as some of the other disgruntled parent reviews on here. The problems at this school emanate from the top, and trickle down to the faculty and staff. The children, unfortunately, pay the price. My son now attends Green Elementary, and while not a perfect school, it is a vast improvement.

Western Hills U M C 1

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
my child went to this school and has had problems in reading and math. i don't think this school did all it could to teach my child the essentials. this school has many teachers degreed in different areas but not many are in education. register at your own risk


Western Hills U M C 5

Posted January 06, 2013
- a parent
In the past year my son has graduated from law school, passed the bar exam on his first attempt and been hired by the district attorney's office here in El Paso. He got his educational start at Western Hills and used it to achieve his goals so far in life. They instill a love of reading and learning in the children they teach here. The teachers are dedicated and enthusiastic. It is a good place to send your children.

Western Hills U M C 4

Posted July 10, 2012
- a parent
Show us a perfect school! Our previous private school (of 4 yrs.) constantly made errors in accounting, attendance, required expensive uniforms, and had other problem areas. The fundraisers were harsh and demanding, and kids were punished for minor things. We agree that WHMD school could be catering to Juarez families and that some teachers don't speak English properly. They also need to show much more Patriotism for our USA. However; our children did well during the school year; all classes are taught in ENGLISH. Like most other schools, this school is not perfect, but I must say the teachers are passionate, dedicated, and with higher education degrees. The principal and teachers always answered our questions. We figured if we want things to be better, then PARENTS NEED TO GET INVOLVED...and we did. WHMDS is working to improve and we will take that any day over expensive private schools and crowded public schools. Chapel service is good for everyone, the music/drama class is good, parts of the curriculum are changing, the campus is safe, nice and clean. We are looking forward to a great new school year. With God's help we will polish this diamond in the rough!!!!

Western Hills U M C 5

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
Western Hills Methodist Day School is a great school. My son went to this school since he was three years old and all the way to 5th grade. He is now in public school and he's doing fantastic. That means he was very well prepared from Western Hills. All his teachers did a great job with him. I really do recommend this school to anyone who is looking for a private school with great teachers.


Western Hills U M C 5

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
My sons attended this school and now they are graduating from middle school with honors. So Western hills did a great job preparing them for middle school.

Western Hills U M C 5

Posted February 22, 2012
- a community member
After reading the last two reviews, I feel that there some information that needs to be corrected. Private school teachers do not have to be certified to teach in Texas, they only need to be degreed. In going over our staff records, there are 6 teachers that have their bachelor's degrees and three that have their master's degrees. Two of the master's degrees are in education and one in Education Media. The standards at Western Hills UMC are high for both staff and students. Students and teachers who do not meet these standards become dissatisfied and post bad reviews of the school. Since these reviews are anonymous.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Western Hills U M C
524 Thunderbird Dr, El Paso, TX  79912
(915) 584-6642
Last modified Western Hills U M C is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Western Hills U M C Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top