Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
160 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

NHHSA does its utmost to serve the individual needs of each of its students, even disciplinary cases. However, for the welfare of all families concerned, there is always a reasonable line that must be drawn, and NHHSA does so with its policy on illicit drug use while attending the campus. No NHHSA student has ever been required to study off-campus except where illicit drug use or threat to the safety or well-being of other on-campus students is concerned. We are disappointed when we have to do so, but we must protect the integrity of our school and all students in our care. NHHSA does, however, appreciate your feedback.
October 08, 2012

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (4 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


New Horizons Home School Academy
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
The secretary that used to work there was a very nice person. It’s unfortunate she is no longer there.

New Horizons Home School Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
I cannot comment on all of them. It would be unfair judging everyone for the teacher mu child was assigned to. But this young lady is not qualified to be a teacher. Constantly googling answers is totally unacceptable.


New Horizons Home School Academy
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
They don’t really pay attention to the work being assigned. They just divide a textbook in the number of months the kids attend school. For example, for a child who is starting to learn multiplication, it will take a few months to really master the concept and then the tables. In their curriculum, they assign all multiplication tables AND start on divisions on a 2-month span. Do they really think children will master multiplication and division in 2 months? I don’t think they do. I just think they don’t even know what work they are assigning.

New Horizons Home School Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Again, good leaders lead by example. When children witness the principal yelling and disrespecting parents, what message is she sending to children?

New Horizons Home School Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted February 15, 2016
- a parent
Not really. Good leaders lead by example. Two of NHSA’s policies are: 1) denim are not allowed (except for Fridays) and 2) If you arrive 5 minutes late the child will not be allowed in the classroom. The principal is rarely there when classes are supposed to start, and I don’t think and I ever saw her not wearing jeans. What message is sending to children? Do as I say, not as I do?


New Horizons Home School Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Somewhat effective

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
I will give the teachers the benefit of a doubt and say somewhat effective as I am not impressed with the level of interaction and implementaion of teacher led courses.

New Horizons Home School Academy
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted October 27, 2015
- a parent
The challenge of the right amount of homework provided is less of a concern to me as a parent. I felt that my child may not have been as challenged or directed to truly understanding the coursework provided. Whether your student is learning Math or Grammar on their own, I would not recommend any student take on a new language without the assistance of a fluent teacher/tutor. Parent(s) or the person in charge of the student's curriculum should be very concerned to provide the appropriate teacher and tools to insure the student learn the correct pronunciation, grammar, communication and writing of the new language. Without feedback on incorrect answers how can one expect that a student's time invested in learning a new language would have even been beneficial to that student?

New Horizons Home School Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 13, 2015
- a parent
From my experience I can tell you that New Horizons Home School Academy really cares about your child’s education and development. The teachers are wonderful and are always willing to help with individual attention. From the Director to the support staff this school is dedicated to the success of your child. I’m very happy that my daughter attends New Horizons Home School Academy and I would not have her go to any other school. I highly recommend this school for your family.


New Horizons Home School Academy 5

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Our experience has been nothing short of amazing. New Horizons Home School Academy provides a warm and nurturing environment that allows each student to flourish because not only are they interested in your child’s education, but they are also interested in your child’s overall well-being. The Director and staff are extraordinary and it’s evident that they are dedicated to the success of each child that walks through their door. I am proud and fortunate to say that my child attends such a remarkable school.

New Horizons Home School Academy 5

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Wonderful school! My kids have loved coming to this school and have just blossomed here. The teachers are great and give the individual attention needed, staff is friendly and always willing to help. My son had struggled with ADHD, in public school they simply put him in special ed and refused to work with him any further, but once I brought him here he shined! They came up with a program that has done wonders for him. Very happy to have found this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Horizons Home School Academy
11444 Rojas Dr., Suite C6, El Paso, TX  79935
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. (915) 856-7243
Last modified New Horizons Home School Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top