Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bliss Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 574 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in El Paso

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $106,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $930.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

28 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

I have three children that attend school at Bliss and we love it there. We have been at bliss school for 5yr. My kids are happy and they have loved every teacher that they have had. When we first got there I really don't care for the principal but since Dr. Brooks has taking over its a lot better. The only problem that I have had is bullying during P.E. Sometimes I feel like the coaches are not paying enough attention to what is going on. Also over the yrs I've notice how some parents complain a lot about the school, but wont step up and volunteer to help make a change.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2013

My son is in pre-k and the only issue we have had so far was a discrepancy with his teacher. When I went to talk to the principal about it she automatically said no problem we will switch classes and put him with the other teacher. The next morning he had a new teacher. I was quite shocked on how fast she got it done. Also this year they added a music program for the older kids which I know they didn't have in the past which is great. The only thing I don't like is the fact they don't have buses for the kids who live 2 miles out. For the parents that work its very difficult for us to bring our kids to school when as a military wife we know our husbands can't just take off work to being the kids to school. Other then that the school is great. No issues of bulling that I see and they have a gentleman up front with the preachoolers when they are let out so no one goes missing or gets to wild which is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2013

My daughter attends first grade at this school and for me has been of great benefit to her. If it has its flaws like any school but as education is very good. There is always unhappy parents who think their children are the only ones that exist and claim that teachers are just for them and that's impossible. I just read that treat children as military lunchtime and that is false. Children have enough time to eat and cafeteria compared to other schools in the EPISD here are very flexible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2013

My daughters attended this school and all I can say is that it was not what I expected. Everyday I had my daughters teacher tell me she had ADD. My daughters got very very poor grades and not enough teacher-student one on one. Also, they have you wait outside a gate to pick up your children and then coral you in when they are let out. Also no after school programs. I wish I could have rated this school lower then one star. My kids are now straight A students at their new school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2012

This is by far the worst school my children have ever attended! The principal does not care about the children or the education that our children receive. She never turned in the funding paperwork for our kids to have a computer lab so they have gone the first half of the year without computer. There is no art or music class and they only get to go to the library once a month. They treat the children like soldiers rushing them to eat and forcing them to go outside after luch even when the temps are as low as 40degrees! The parents werent allowed to use the printers in the school until they were almost a month into the school year because the principal said they couldnt afford it. Sshe shows favoritism among the children as far as their uniforms go too. My daughter was in a navy dress and was sent home because it had sparkles on it. She is in 1st grade. But the army liason's daughter only has to wear uniforms when she feels like it. They dont do things to try and get the parents involved either. In previous schools I was allowed to volunteer and we had plenty of activities to raise money for school. not here. If we get stationed here again they will be home schooled
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2012

My daughter just completed Pre-K here, and while I think her teacher was awesome, the school itself in terms of safety for the children is horribly lacking. I stoped taking my daughter to school before class started because many times there would be no one on the playground in charge of watching all the kids. Over half the time when I would come and pick my daughter up from lunch there would be no one watching the children other then the cafeteria workers and the preschoolers would be acting wild and even out in the hall outside the cafeteria playing. Once a preschooler even manged to leave the building unnoticed during lunch, cross a four lane road, and walk a block from the school before her teacher was able to catch up with her. The lady at the front desk is always to busy on her phone or gabbing with people to be able to properly watch the one and only door that leads out of the school to public ground to be able to make sure no children do leave unauthorized. Ive talked to the prenicapal on several occasions about this and all I ever got from her was, "NEXT YEAR we have more people to help fill in". So glad we are leaving because I highly doubt next year will be any better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2012

I have to agree with most of these posts. I do not like the school as a whole. The administration doesn't care about the parents at all. I cant get into that school without them harassing me. I have health issues that make it hard for me to stand out in the heat to wait for my kids. When I have to get them to go to the doctor, and call the school ahead of time to have them waiting for me I am told yeah they will be waiting for you then I end up waiting for up to 20 to thirty minutes waiting for them to get them out of class. Even when they have been told that I can not wait I have to get to my appointment. I have never dealt with a school that doesnt allow parents to come in at any time, sign in as a visitor and either go help in the classroom or just go peek in on the children. You are not allowed access to your child/ren at all. It is almost like your kid becomes a prisoner when they walk in the door. My kids have dealt with bullying, but my husband and I have taught our kids to defend themselves. if someone is mean to my kids they will get the same in return. I understand making it safe for the kids but come on really?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2012

ZERO is what I would rate Fort Bliss Elementary!! My Son has been getting bullied. School called me today and my son was in the nurse office,hehas a scrapes on the back of his head and back from some boy pushing him down on the pavement . No one had no Idea what happened. I will be pulling my kids from this school. This school is full of bullies and a lacks a whole lot of other things . I'm sick of my child getting hurt this is the 3rd time . Parents also need to teach there kids why it's not cool to be a bully or put up with it . Also watch out for the parents that road rage after getting there kids from school .Kids and Parents being bullied here .. And My husband called the school and so did I on 3 days in a row they had the Taxas flag upside down . You think at first when you move here that it's going to be a military style school ,, NOOO IT'S NOT . houses around the school looks like the projects .trashy trashy .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2010

Biss elementary is a big dissapointment. We thought it would be disaplined. From the principal down lacks education and know how in dealing with bullying, EFMP children ect. God help us when the 25 thousand more soldiers come here. Principal at Bliss does not want to hear anything negative about her school and make excuses on why these children are lacking dicsipline. The uniforms are a mask of what this school really is. It is a failure to the community which should demand more from a school on a military post. Teacher texting when they should be paying attention to students who are harrassing special needs children. I would run the other way if you could to get away from this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

My daughter is nearing completion of First Grade at Bliss. She enjoys school. I am mostly pleased. I have an 'easy' child who never gets into trouble and has been selected for Gifted/Talented. I cannot give the school 5 stars, however, because there is no Art or Music program available for her grade level. It's nice that she goes to P.E. everyday, but my active child could easily miss a couple P.E. periods for the sake of music and art if it were available. In summary; a good academic and fitness education, sorely lacking in music and art for the little ones.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2009

Bliss teachers and staff you're doing a great job. My child has been attending this school for the past 3 years. I moved my child from another school and am glad I did this. I beleive any parent who has something derogatory to say or write about the school should sign their name. The teachers are caring people who treat us with respect. 'If you want to be treated with respect then you should give respect.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

I hate it, my son is getting bullied, he used to love school and now we are dealing with nervouse breakdowns of him.the teachers and principle wouldnt do nothing and I am taking my son out of this school now. also thinking about going into public about this. Almost every parent I know has issues with this school some way or another!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2007

This school is lacking a lot of security, especially for being on FT. Bliss. There are a few good teachers, however some seem to not have any patience. The PTA is unorganized period. The schoolyard is never clean. The pick up arrangement that they have created is a catastrophe. They need organization.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

Bliss elementary has got to be the worst school that my daughter has ever attended. There is no interest in parent concerns from the principal. I requested to speak to the principal but he never got back with me after several messages. I have disenrolled my daughter for this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2006

I have to agree with a few parents on Bliss Elementary School for the fact that I have had quite a few incidents regarding teachers and security for that matter.From registration day until now it's been pretty bad. I have to say that pretty much everything is unorganized and there are plenty of rude teachers including the ones that help to check ID's. We need to explain detail for detail why we need a pass to anywhere in the school! I am not happy at all and will not have my daughter going to this school after this yr is up for sure!They need to get their priority strait and learn to welcome parents in respectfully! Where are the sports?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2006

My daughter went to Bliss last year and her transfer got approved for this year. I was extremely happy with what she learned and has retained from last year. My only issue is that the outside supervision before school could be improved. I'd drop my daughter off and 3-4 of the supervisors would be in a circle talking not paying attention to the children. My daughters teacher seemed to miss a lot of days but that didn't affect her learning. I was also wondering why the PTA didn't promote collection of the box tops. In all I am happy with Bliss but if I could afford a private school I would go for it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2006

My son attended Bliss. The lack of continuity in his classroom was a major issue. The principal seems to have a fair grip on academics however tends to get over the top on security issues and loses focus of the students and learning. There is not a lot of parental involvement and the PTA was small and somewhat ineffective. I would not recommend this school. It would be preferable to homeschool.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

My daughter went to a civilian school for her Pre-K year and it was HORRIBLE! So I had her tranfered to Bliss for her Kinder year and I LOVE IT! The security was a major issue with the other school and with Bliss, I was confident that she was safe. The teacher she had was great, my daughter retained almost everything she learned. I was always informed of situations and her progress other than during P/T conferences. The principle and staff were very helpful when approached. All in all, I LOVE this school and will have my other daughter go there as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2006

I am not impressed by the way this school has performed. The teacher let my second grader (with others) watch a movie that had a little boy fully naked, and with anotomy showing.(I watched the movie before writing a report on it). Another example is when I went up there to complain, 2 English speaking teachers suddenly started talking spanish to each other during the meeting. This has been done frequently around my daughter as well, making her feel out of place and not welcome at this school. Then there's the lunch issue: My grandmother passed and I helped pitch in with the funeral...making a financial hardship on us. I was behind on her account $2.40...and they would only give her stale bread with cheese and water. She asked if she could have mayo for it and was yelled at. Next year I'll definatley pay for private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2006

My children are former students of Bliss Elementary School. The school is good for some people, but my children are better off in public school. Some teachers are great while others aren't. One child excelled and the other regressed. I feel that the school has some young teachers that lack the experience needed to teach more 'active' children. I have had to retain one of my children when Bliss Elementary School promoted her. She simply did not learn her basic skills to go to the next grade. When I recognized the failure, I put her back a grade to keep her from failing when Bliss Elementary School felt she needed to 'just try harder'. I have learned from my mistake at changing schools for my kids!!'
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

57 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

58 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 82% in 2011.

40 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
89%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

40 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
96%
Science

The state average for Science was 87% in 2011.

40 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black or African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students86%
Female92%
Male82%
Black or African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education87%
Limited English proficient (LEP)67%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant86%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female83%
Male62%
Black or African American79%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education40%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant75%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students81%
Female81%
Male81%
Black or African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Special education60%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students90%
Female94%
Male84%
Black or African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education60%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Female85%
Male100%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Special educationn/a
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students95%
Female93%
Male100%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English94%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Science

All Students95%
Female93%
Male100%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special educationn/a
Not special education95%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English97%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
75%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
74%
Science

The state average for Science was 73% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female96%
Male96%
Black or African American100%
Asiann/a
Hispanic90%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Non-Gifted95%
Bilingual86%

Math

All Students90%
Female92%
Male88%
Black or African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education90%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English90%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant90%
Gifted/talented88%
Non-Gifted90%
Bilingual86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female70%
Male67%
Black or African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English68%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant67%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted69%
Bilingual57%

Math

All Students58%
Female70%
Male50%
Black or African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special educationn/a
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)43%
Proficient in English58%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant57%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted58%
Bilingual57%

Writing

All Students69%
Female84%
Male59%
Black or African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)57%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingual71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female65%
Male76%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic57%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education80%
Not special education68%
Limited English proficient (LEP)25%
Proficient in English69%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant68%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted67%
Bilingual27%

Math

All Students82%
Female75%
Male88%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special education67%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)75%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingual82%

Science

All Students80%
Female76%
Male83%
Black or African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Special education67%
Not special education83%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English81%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant81%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingual55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 40% 29%
Hispanic 39% 52%
Black 14% 13%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 11%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 3%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • IRMA BROOKS
Fax number
  • (915) 566-2806

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4401 Sheridan Road
El Paso, TX 79906
Website: Click here
Phone: (915) 587-2540

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Radford School
El Paso, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT