Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Charles Middle School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a teacher
This is a great school. The teachers, staff and administration care about the students and work hard to help the students succeed. This is one of the top performing middle schools in the district.

Charles Middle School 1

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
This school is awful. The staff lie, manipulate and do not do what is the best interest of a child's education. Their anti bullying policy is a joke. They like to push things under the rug. The curriculum is below par even in the GT program. At least 2 years behind on curriculum. GT here means powerpoints, and lots of them. I've actually sat through a 3 period long humanities class and seen ZERO instructions or teaching at all. But hey they did 12 worksheets. On more then one occasion my daughter has been refused to use the bathroom. On more then one occasion she has not be allowed to use the office phone to call me. Then is reprimanded for using her personal phone. The office does not call when an incident occurs. Nor does the nurse allow a child to call when sick. At least when your number is not a 915 number. Teachers are not always fair taking away points from some for late work and not others. Are there some good teachers? Yes. Far and few between. If you want your child to have a good education in a fair school, this is not the school. We are looking for a new school.


Charles Middle School 4

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
Overall this is a great school. We moved here at the beginning of my daughter's 7th grade year. Typically her grades fall a bit when she starts out at a new school. This wasn't the case at Charles, she did well for the entire school year. I was personally contacted by teachers who had concerns or compliments throughout the school year, I was very pleased with her teachers with one exception. As a bonus, the office staff are the friendliest I've encountered out of the various schools my daughter has attended. It's nice to be able to call the school or walk in and be met with a friendly face.

Charles Middle School 5

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
This is my daughters first year at Charles and it has been a great experience so far. She is in all GT classes and her teachers are great. The band program is also excellent.

Charles Middle School 5

Posted April 27, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Charles Middle School 1

Posted July 28, 2008
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Charles Middle School 0
no rating

Posted February 13, 2008
- a student
Charles middle school is a really good school. The teachers put a lot of time and effort into teaching the students. The students also put a lot of time and effort into learing and doing extracarricular activities. The students are very bright young people. And will do wonderful in the future because of the establishment Charles has done. So good job to administration, students, staff.

Charles Middle School 2

Posted March 04, 2007
- a parent
Really bad middle school. Poor discipline, with a spineless principal. GT kids treated poorly, with little to do, and few incentives. Librarian is awful, doesn't encourage kids to be in the library. If you have other options, avoid this school.


Charles Middle School 5

Posted September 08, 2006
- a parent
Charles is a great school. The teachers, the administration, and other staff are all there to help in the education of every child. In 2006 the state test scores improved so much that other schools are looking into what Charles' teachers did to merit such success. My congratulations to the students, teachers, and administration on their success. Way to go Chargers.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charles Middle School
4909 Trojan Drive, El Paso, TX  79924
(915) 821-2850
Last modified Charles Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charles Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. Top