Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charles Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
I'd love to thank Ms. Null who really helped show my son that he can do anything he sets his mind to. He ended up being elected into NJHS and so much more! She is no longer at Charles but I would still love to give her some kind of recognition. Also I'd like to thank Ms Holguin for believing in my son and always telling him he's great and deserves to be great.

Charles Middle School 5

Posted October 15, 2015
- a parent
The staff at this school is amazing! They truly care about their students! They always go above and beyond and show the kids they care. Without teachers who care you get children to stop caring. So by showing the motivation and respect that they need, you get more who succeed!


Charles Middle School 5

Posted May 29, 2014
- a teacher
This is a great school. The teachers, staff and administration care about the students and work hard to help the students succeed. This is one of the top performing middle schools in the district.

Charles Middle School 1

Posted January 09, 2014
- a parent
This school is awful. The staff lie, manipulate and do not do what is the best interest of a child's education. Their anti bullying policy is a joke. They like to push things under the rug. The curriculum is below par even in the GT program. At least 2 years behind on curriculum. GT here means powerpoints, and lots of them. I've actually sat through a 3 period long humanities class and seen ZERO instructions or teaching at all. But hey they did 12 worksheets. On more then one occasion my daughter has been refused to use the bathroom. On more then one occasion she has not be allowed to use the office phone to call me. Then is reprimanded for using her personal phone. The office does not call when an incident occurs. Nor does the nurse allow a child to call when sick. At least when your number is not a 915 number. Teachers are not always fair taking away points from some for late work and not others. Are there some good teachers? Yes. Far and few between. If you want your child to have a good education in a fair school, this is not the school. We are looking for a new school.

Charles Middle School 4

Posted June 18, 2013
- a parent
Overall this is a great school. We moved here at the beginning of my daughter's 7th grade year. Typically her grades fall a bit when she starts out at a new school. This wasn't the case at Charles, she did well for the entire school year. I was personally contacted by teachers who had concerns or compliments throughout the school year, I was very pleased with her teachers with one exception. As a bonus, the office staff are the friendliest I've encountered out of the various schools my daughter has attended. It's nice to be able to call the school or walk in and be met with a friendly face.


Charles Middle School 5

Posted May 26, 2013
- a parent
This is my daughters first year at Charles and it has been a great experience so far. She is in all GT classes and her teachers are great. The band program is also excellent.

Charles Middle School
no rating

Posted February 13, 2008
- a student
Charles middle school is a really good school. The teachers put a lot of time and effort into teaching the students. The students also put a lot of time and effort into learing and doing extracarricular activities. The students are very bright young people. And will do wonderful in the future because of the establishment Charles has done. So good job to administration, students, staff.

Charles Middle School 2

Posted March 04, 2007
- a parent
Really bad middle school. Poor discipline, with a spineless principal. GT kids treated poorly, with little to do, and few incentives. Librarian is awful, doesn't encourage kids to be in the library. If you have other options, avoid this school.


Charles Middle School 5

Posted September 08, 2006
- a parent
Charles is a great school. The teachers, the administration, and other staff are all there to help in the education of every child. In 2006 the state test scores improved so much that other schools are looking into what Charles' teachers did to merit such success. My congratulations to the students, teachers, and administration on their success. Way to go Chargers.

Nearby schools

Charles Middle School
4909 Trojan Drive, El Paso, TX  79924
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (915) 849-3940
Last modified Charles Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top