Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 25 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Ross Middle School 1

Posted September 26, 2015
- a parent
My child and I had nothing but continuous problems with not only the teachers and students but the staff as well. From bullying to theft, to total unaccountability of my child. It got to the point where I realized that the principal put all of the work that he should have been responsible for on his three assistant principals. I never once met the actual principal because he was never involved with any aspect of my child. I transferred my child to another middle school that i have to drive her to and from just so that she can have a chance at a better education and feel safe and happy doing so. I would not recommend this school to anyone.

Ross Middle School 1

Posted May 23, 2014
- a parent
Horrible school. From the teachers, support staff and administrators. There is a lack of discipline or reinforcement of rules at this school. Not impressed and will not be sending my child here. There is a reason why so many military families choose to go to other schools or homeschool. Very disappointed in this school especially being one that is supposedly has a high military child population. The classes are taught in dual languages so to me as a parent I feel that it takes away from critical instructional time.


Ross Middle School 2

Posted April 18, 2014
- a community member
I went to this school for my 6th and 7th grade year, and it was TERRIBLE. Some of the teachers were very rude and uptight, but other teachers are very clingy. I HATED this school. I am a military child, so I've gone to lots of schools before. All the students had their own cliques. It is not a very helpful school for new or military students. The office clerks are VERY rude and non caring, but the vice principal Mr. Djebrane was very nice and helpful. The students are mainly 'nonmilitary.' I would not recommend attending this school.

Ross Middle School 5

Posted January 08, 2014
- a community member
Honestly, I've been at Ross since 6th grade and I wouldn't change it for the world. Yes, there are some bad kids but there are kids like that in many schools. The staff is in no way rude, and the teachers are wonderful, of course not everyone will think the same though. The newest principle is also very nice. Honestly, it is a great school, even though I know some may not agree. The school lunch system could improve though..

Ross Middle School 4

Posted November 21, 2013
- a parent
I was very hesitant about sending my child to this school. Not only is the location not appealing but having my military child move from a school of all military kids, to a school where she would be mixed in with everyone else, was a little unnerving. However, she has adjusted well and is learning a variety of academic and social responsibilities. Also, through her extra-curricular activities, she is able to be more involved in her school. With any situation, you get out of it what you put into it. As parents, we attend all school functions and have been pleased with the welcoming atmosphere and genuine greetings that we get from the administration and teachers. This school is not perfect, as no school is, but we have thus far been pleased with our experiences here.


Ross Middle School 5

Posted August 06, 2013
- a community member
For all the parents that are coming from a military back round, and find this school with no discipline. Yes, I'm sorry to say our schools have no discipline. From the teacher to the superintendent - No Discipline. I am a 1981 Ross Rebel Pride Graduate where Pride, Discipline, was instilled into our brains by one Man, and no it was not the Principle Mr. Chisari although he was a decent and fair Principle. that one man was the greatest coach that ever lived Coach W. Hartley.

Ross Middle School 4

Posted November 20, 2010
- a community member
I was in this school in 1964, at the sixth grade level. I was not any good speaking or writing in english when I got there. I studied there for only one year. When I finished I was pretty good at both, and got trough school with good grades. So people do not blame the school for bad parenting. By the way I am not Mexican.

Ross Middle School 3

Posted August 23, 2010
- a parent
Yes indeed, it is the Middle School assigned to the Military Children living in Ft. Bliss. We are not very happy either .. BUT ... it isn't as bad at all. You have to look at the good things first. Academically we have been surprisingly pleased. The 6th grade teachers were actually very good and our daughter learned well and mastered her TAKS tests also amazingly. Of course you can always do more, teachers and students and parent(s). We have made only good experiences with the school staff, no matter if administration, teachers, or office staff. What we didn't like is, that students, parents, and office staff, as well as teachers speak Spanish more than English. It should not be allowed for staff and students to speak any other language on campus but English. Many kids at the school have a bad attitude, no respect, and no disciplin. However, we managed.


Ross Middle School 2

Posted July 15, 2010
- a parent
I am shocked that this school has a rating of 5. This school is located right outside of Fort Bliss Military Installation. Military children in housing at this location are assigned here. As a military mom, I am appalled that our children are forced to attend schools that are not even qualifying. I transfered my children out of here (because they are a failing school) AND because discipline is non-existent. Schools need to get tougher regarding discipline and learning English. This school is a joke.

Ross Middle School 5

Posted May 08, 2010
- a student
ross middle is the best school ive ever been to.they will show a good example for kids.now i really recomend your child to go there because they are like experts in teaching.they are so good that they got me a 100 on my math and i got commended on my reading.bravo to the teachers and bravo to my home middle school Ross

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Ross Middle School
6101 Hughey Circle, El Paso, TX  79925
(915) 887-3060
Last modified Ross Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Ross Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top