Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
El Paso, TX
Students enrolled: 421

3 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Travis Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
Travis Elementary is AWESOME! When I first saw the school, I wasn't certain that it would be a good school for my kids, but I decided to give it a chance. I'm so glad that I did! As one person told me, "Travis is a diamond in the rough." This is so true. Every person I've met in the school has been great. Staff/Teachers are very approachable and willing to help. And while at first glance, there doesn't seem to be a lot a parent involvement, I can see them working behind the scenes by the support the students receive. My children love the school, and I'm very glad they're happy and learning! Specifically, I like the consistency in required behavior for the students - in general, the students are well-behaved and respectful - and the communication between the school (teachers, as well) and parent
1 person found this helpful

Travis Elementary School 5

Posted November 11, 2013
- a community member
In all the time I have volunteered with Travis Elementary I have seen one thing, Determination. The principle strives daily to make the school a place that the students would want to be. The teachers I have met are all about the students, they work very hard to instruct the students in everything they need to know. The school is very clean and safe. I have found it to be a very learning rich environment.
1 person found this helpful


Travis Elementary School 5

Posted November 03, 2013
- a parent
Many of the reviews of this school are old and outdated. My two children have attended Travis for the past two years and it is a GREAT school. The teachers are very involved with helping each student reach their full potential. The principal is working very hard to ensure that all students are striving for success. Test scores for this school continue to climb and exceed expectations. IF you are wary about the area the school is located, please know that this is a VERY safe school. I would recommend this school to any and all military parents who move into the area. GO TORNADOES!!!!!!
1 person found this helpful

Travis Elementary School 1

Posted September 27, 2013
- a parent
This school has a lot of bad reviews and I agree with them. My son is in Pre-K and it is one main teacher with about 20 students. They only tell you if your child is doing bad behavior wise. The only reason my kids go here is because it the school in our district. We will be looking for another school for my kids to attend.

Travis Elementary School 1

Posted November 11, 2010
- a parent
This school is horrible the principal has no control of her students and the teachers are weak and pathetic its not fair that the teachers use spanish as a crutch. I dont speak spanish neither do my children so its pretty pathetic that teachers use that as an alibi for bad teaching. The teachers are more concerned with getting by than making a difference with these kids. The principal is so scared to make a decision to discipline unruly kids that, the teachers dont respect her. I am sick of this school and this weak principal, i wouldnt recommend noone send their child here. How can you rate a school where military kids seem to have it the worst, simply pathetic.


Travis Elementary School 1

Posted September 09, 2010
- a parent
Due to a lawsuit that occurred in 1977, if you live in the Travis or Burnet district you are totally screwed. Too many parents wanted to transfer their kids out of the ghetto and EPISD put a stop to it. This school needs the $$, I mean your child to attend. The area surrounding the school is so frightening you may feel the urge to arm yourself. I guess homeschool or seek refuge at a private institution...

Travis Elementary School 2

Posted June 19, 2007
- a parent
Although I was pleased with my son's third grade teacher, that was the only thing I was happy about with the school. There is a major lack od discipline. The teachers are forced to teach to the TAKS tests. I had to send my son there because of where our military housing is located. Things were so bad that I am homeschooling next year. There is not one school in this district that I would trust with my child's education.

Travis Elementary School 2

Posted May 04, 2007
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Travis Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2007
- a former student
This review submitted without content.

Travis Elementary School 2

Posted July 26, 2006
- a parent
when we first sent our son to this school we were told his teacher was very good but i wish the worried more about social skills and the children than the test scores all the time. the also need to screen their lower grade teachers a little better they need to be able to make things more exciting to learn,

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Travis Elementary School
5000 North Stevens Street, El Paso, TX  79930
(915) 231-2740
Last modified Travis Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Travis Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top