Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bassett Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 736 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 11, 2014

Absolutely horrible school. Please if you can avoid it do not send our children here. my son was assigned this school because of our address and I am now looking to move simply because I could not take another year of their incompetence. We PCS'd (moved) here in August and from the start they failed to do their jobs properly. They lost my sons enrollement documents, so we had to have many meetings on his curriculum. They have no transition for students going from a structured elementary system to Middle school. Kids are just supposed to figure it out. This includes textbooks, which my son was told he had to go and get from the school librarian during his lunch time because they do not issue them out during class. There is little to none responsibility for when things go wrong, everyone wants to blame someone else. God forbid your child missed the bus home because they would not let him in the school to use the phone and call me. Twice he had to walk about 5 miles to the house. This is by far the worst school I have ever encountered and hope that this review keep other parents away from it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2014

I am an eighth grader at Bassett, and this is my first year here. I absolutely love it! The people here are so nice, and everyone was talking to me the first day of school. My dad had heard that this wasn't a very good school, but I am happy I decided to go here. Our overall grades aren't very good, but the teachers are amazing. I have have had all A's this year, and I am also the editor for our school yearbook. Even if you are struggling in a subject, there is tutoring almost everyday after school. The school offers a variety of technology programs, such as dollars and sense, keyboarding, and a class just learning about technology, I have all three. I have never been bullied and there are amazing people here to become friends with. I would definitely recommend Bassett for anyone to attend.


Posted May 31, 2013

I was warned about this school before my daughter started by numerous people. I still gave it a chance. WORST decision ever made. Teachers are horrible and could care less about their job. School is way underfunded. 8th graders can't pass the 6th grade star test. I was warned, and will warn others please do not let your child even waste a year at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2012

The only children who are happy, and excel in this school, are the children who are popular, well known, and strong. Parents only see what they want to see; their spoiled little brats happy, no matter how much they hurt the other children.


Posted April 3, 2012

If I could get this school ZERO stars I would. I went against my better judgement and decided to let my daughter attempt to attend this school because it was what she really wanted. One month into the school year we had to pull her out because the bullying was out of control. I got no help from the school. I was even told my one administrator at the school that my daughter was found hiding in a corner holding a backpack over her head crying and then in the next breath she tried to say that my child may be the bully. Every single incident was made out to be no big deal and swept under the rug! I would never suggest the school as a good option to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2012

Bassett Middle has a bullying problem ..... Its the worse school I have ever sent my kid to
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2012

The school has a bullying problem that was taken care of. But as far as the academic goes it does not exceeds the standards to the East where books are available and the children are learning at a higher pace. Plus, candy and slurpees are being sold during lunchtime in which the school tries to compensate for money needed for things that should matter. The PTA worries about replacing the Mascot uniform and a floormat of the school versus the problems of the bullying, education, and what is being sold during lunchtime. Military children are a federal aide number for funding as I see it, but next year not mine.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2011

My son was beat up during the first week of school because he "looked " at a kid wrong. And what did the principle do...nothing. They acted as if i should be grateful that it wasnt anything worse. excuse me but one drive up the road to even get to this deplorable school will tell you why your child should not attend here. The academics are a joke and the drama and bullys that rule socially at this school are not worth the problems they keep creating. stay far far away. To many military kids fighting with the local kids , drugs and other issues abound. while i know it can happen anywhere the difference is itisnt handked well here by the administration. to many chances given on serious violations.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2010

I heard a lot of bad things about Bassett and NOT one of them turned out to be true. My son is very happy there and we are moving out of Bassett's dirstrict and he is not going to change to a different school. He is in the gifted program and the teachers and staff are great. It's all up to the child what they make of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2009

i'm a Bassett middle school parent and i just want to say that this year there has been many parent meetings and parent activities and i just want to thank the principal for all the parent involvement for this year . It has been great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

My son had the opportunity to attend MacArthur, but he decided to go to Bassett. He excelled in many things, A Hono Roll, Track Star, Football Champs, and most important, accepted to a Magnet Program and passed all his TAKS. People are critical because they do not see what is happening because of lack of parent involvement and a poor PTA. Parents are the key to success so get involved and be part of your kids growing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

Personally I think they should restruction the whole leardership at this school. And Put some Principal that can really make a difference in that school. There is really to many prombles. I pull my children out and will not let any more of my children attend that school due to the violence in the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2008

The negitive comments of a very small number of unhappy parents or former students should not reflect upon what's really going on at this school. Bassett has made great progress over the past few years. The administration, faculty and staff are working very hard to make the school one of the best and safest schools in the district. We continue to improve our test scores and our athletic program is still going strong. The school atmosphere is improving and after a twenty years I still love coming to work. I'm very proud of this school and we will only get a lot better.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 29, 2008

If the negative comments from unhappy parents and former are so small, then why is the overall rating for this a 2? You can also take a look at the Texas State report card for this school and see how outstanding the grades are. :)
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2008

We also decided to give Bassett a try for our 6th grader. Staff and principal assured us the rumors were not true and the bulling was at a minimum. Well, they lied!! Our child is picked on and bullied on a daily basis. Our phone calls our not returned and the staff just does not seem to see what is going on in their hallways or just doesn't care. This school is the most disgusting and incompetant school I have ever had the displeasure of even hearing about. I am so ashamed as a parent that I even subjected my son to such a school where the students are not put first and the parents are ignored!! We will definatly not be keeping our child in this school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2008

we are a military family when we moved here to el pas I heard bad stories about bassett from othere parents I decided to let my 6th and 7th graders try baseett out..I am happy with the school dont have any complaints both my kids are on the honor role and I feel that bassett staff is doing a good job to change the bad rep...go hounds
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2008

They days of bad education at Bassett are long gone. Students were expected to rise to the occasion, teachers were expected to provide solid instruction, and parents were expected to show up. This year, this happened - scores have reflected this, and more importantly Bassett reflects this. Just a short time ago, students were walking through the doors believing anything goes within the school's walls, parents blamed administration, and teachers were left to try deal with complex social-economic issues of the area. Together with the help of students, parents, teachers, and administration the school has taken control. The result a real success story.. good job!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 13, 2007

The students were not issued books the first month of school; however, each student had a book for every class which they left in the classroom. If the student needed to take a book home he or she was allowed to check out the book. Bassett has done an outstanding job of improving performance across the board. I think the biggest problem this school faces is parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2006

There is almost no parent involvement. If you are a parent, please see what you can do to help make our school safer and more enjoyable for your child so that he or she have a chance at success in the classroom. Let's work together to ensure your child's a success.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 14, 2006

The children are behind the other schools in the district because they did not have books for the first month of school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2011.

238 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2011.

238 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 86% in 2011.

238 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Math

The state average for Math was 81% in 2011.

238 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 94% in 2011.

239 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

298 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2011.

298 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 79% in 2011.

299 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 95% in 2011.

298 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
91%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Female82%
Male72%
Black or African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
American Indian or Alaska Native80%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special education44%
Not special education79%
Limited English proficient (LEP)50%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant77%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Black or African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
American Indian or Alaska Native60%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Special education38%
Not special education76%
Limited English proficient (LEP)55%
Proficient in English75%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant74%
Gifted/talented87%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Female79%
Male65%
Black or African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Special education36%
Not special education74%
Limited English proficient (LEP)39%
Proficient in English79%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant73%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students75%
Female77%
Male73%
Black or African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education45%
Not special education77%
Limited English proficient (LEP)52%
Proficient in English78%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant75%
Gifted/talented100%

Writing

All Students90%
Female98%
Male82%
Black or African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Special education64%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)80%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant91%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students86%
Female89%
Male82%
Black or African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Special education30%
Not special education88%
Limited English proficient (LEP)56%
Proficient in English90%
Migrant71%
Not migrant86%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Black or African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education30%
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)54%
Proficient in English82%
Migrant71%
Not migrant79%
Gifted/talented100%

Science

All Students71%
Female68%
Male74%
Black or African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Special education33%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)30%
Proficient in English79%
Migrant33%
Not migrant72%
Gifted/talented96%

Social Studies

All Students88%
Female89%
Male86%
Black or African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Special education44%
Not special education89%
Limited English proficient (LEP)65%
Proficient in English91%
Migrant67%
Not migrant88%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

231 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

217 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 70% in 2013.

229 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
59%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 84% in 2013.

215 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 75% in 2013.

198 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 63% in 2013.

197 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
45%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 78% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
84%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 97% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Chemistry

The state average for Chemistry was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Reading

The state average for English I Reading was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English I Writing

The state average for English I Writing was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Reading

The state average for English II Reading was 78% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English II Writing

The state average for English II Writing was 52% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Reading

The state average for English III Reading was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
English III Writing

The state average for English III Writing was 42% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Physics

The state average for Physics was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
U.S. History

The state average for U.S. History was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World Geography

The state average for World Geography was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
World History

The state average for World History was 70% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Female55%
Male50%
Black or African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracial86%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander60%
White69%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Special education12%
Not special education55%
Limited English proficient (LEP)15%
Proficient in English59%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant52%
Gifted/talented93%
Not Gifted49%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students56%
Female63%
Male50%
Black or African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
Multiracial71%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islander60%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education29%
Not special education59%
Limited English proficient (LEP)28%
Proficient in English61%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant56%
Gifted/talented87%
Not Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Female62%
Male52%
Black or African American68%
Asian50%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Special education11%
Not special education66%
Limited English proficient (LEP)8%
Proficient in English66%
Migrant33%
Not migrant58%
Gifted/talented86%
Not Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students53%
Female54%
Male53%
Black or African American53%
Asian20%
Hispanic51%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Special education17%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)18%
Proficient in English59%
Migrant33%
Not migrant55%
Gifted/talented85%
Not Gifted51%
Bilingualn/a

Writing

All Students48%
Female54%
Male42%
Black or African American58%
Asian67%
Hispanic43%
Multiracial83%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Special education8%
Not special education56%
Limited English proficient (LEP)5%
Proficient in English57%
Migrant33%
Not migrant49%
Gifted/talented81%
Not Gifted45%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students63%
Female69%
Male57%
Black or African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Special education16%
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)18%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant63%
Gifted/talented95%
Not Gifted59%
Bilingualn/a

Math

All Students42%
Female47%
Male38%
Black or African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Special education29%
Not special education44%
Limited English proficient (LEP)30%
Proficient in English44%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant42%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Gifted42%
Bilingualn/a

Science

All Students58%
Female54%
Male61%
Black or African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Special education31%
Not special education60%
Limited English proficient (LEP)15%
Proficient in English63%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant59%
Gifted/talented95%
Not Gifted54%
Bilingualn/a

Social Studies

All Students47%
Female43%
Male51%
Black or African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Special education31%
Not special education48%
Limited English proficient (LEP)5%
Proficient in English52%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant47%
Gifted/talented90%
Not Gifted42%
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Algebra I

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic97%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant96%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted95%
Bilingualn/a

Algebra II

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Biology I

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Chemistry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English I Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English II Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

English III Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

English III Writing

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

Physics

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a

World Geography

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a

World History

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Special educationn/a
Not special educationn/a
Limited English proficient (LEP)n/a
Proficient in Englishn/a
Migrantn/a
Not migrantn/a
Gifted/talentedn/a
Not Giftedn/a
Bilingualn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Academically Acceptable".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Recognized".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Academically Unacceptable".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 75% 52%
White 13% 29%
Black 7% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2% 0%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 21%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • LESA PROVENGHI
Fax number
  • (915) 565-1562

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4400 Elm Street
El Paso, TX 79930
Website: Click here
Phone: (915) 231-2260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Radford School
El Paso, TX


St. Joseph School
El Paso, TX




Loretto Academy
El Paso, TX


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT