Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
23 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 34 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Hornedo Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
My 7th grade daughter is constantly challenged with projects and homework and is held accountable for her work. The symphony is very competitive and there is huge involvement.

Hornedo Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
Yes, the students, especially, in GT are challenged to be resourceful and be attentive and respectful towards their teachers.


Hornedo Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
My daughter is very focused on helping others and being involved. In addition, there is a real focus on inclusion.

Hornedo Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
Excellent GT program that makes the kids accountable for their work. Huge band/symphony program that encourages participation.

Hornedo Middle School 5

Posted June 06, 2016
- a community member
Wonderful school with great teachers and a supportive principal. Very involved PTA. The location is excellent and the facilities are first class.


Hornedo Middle School 2

Posted March 26, 2016
- a parent
For as great as this school is supposed to be I was unimpressed and so glad we moved! My son was at the top of his class until his GT math teachers stopped teaching?! Either you do it on your own or your out of luck. He asked for help and she said she couldn't tutor him or even answer any of his questions because she was too busy. And there is a huge problem with bullying. The school is too big and the counselor didn't do anything about the problem. She made it much worse when she had my son and another kid come talk it out after a third kid said something. ?!?

Hornedo Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Ineffective

Posted March 26, 2016
- a parent
Not all, but some. Some of the teachers are truly great at what they do, others just don't care and expect the students to teach themselves.

Hornedo Middle School 2

Posted September 25, 2015
- a parent
Office staff needs to learn some manners! They mock patents and are not supportive. Very disappointing.


Hornedo Middle School 4

Posted November 03, 2014
- a community member
Student here- i was in the GT classes. This school is a great school academically. The teachers and staff members are friendly and helpful AS LONG AS YOU DON'T GET PUSHY. There are teachers (Like Ms. Benford) children dislike, but she simply runs her classroom as an intensive workspace. The children, however are very rude and condescending at times. The general atmosphere generated by the students is dark and cynical, with lots of black comedy. I recommend this school academically, but the students are another story...

Hornedo Middle School 4

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
Really like this school! So glad I did my research and decided to live on the west side of town and have my children attend Hornedo. They are very military friendly and keep you informed of all the happenings. The new military liaison is very informative and plans activities for the military kids so they can get to know each other. The school also doesnt put up with any bull and I like that! If you are looking to move to El Paso the biggest mistake you could make is NOT having your children attend Hornedo Middle.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hornedo Middle School
6101 High Ridge Drive, El Paso, TX  79912
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 34 reviews. (915) 231-2200
Last modified Hornedo Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top