Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-8
Public district
El Paso, TX
Students enrolled: 1,151
 

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hornedo Middle School 4

Posted November 03, 2014
- a community member
Student here- i was in the GT classes. This school is a great school academically. The teachers and staff members are friendly and helpful AS LONG AS YOU DON'T GET PUSHY. There are teachers (Like Ms. Benford) children dislike, but she simply runs her classroom as an intensive workspace. The children, however are very rude and condescending at times. The general atmosphere generated by the students is dark and cynical, with lots of black comedy. I recommend this school academically, but the students are another story...

Hornedo Middle School 4

Posted March 04, 2013
- a parent
Really like this school! So glad I did my research and decided to live on the west side of town and have my children attend Hornedo. They are very military friendly and keep you informed of all the happenings. The new military liaison is very informative and plans activities for the military kids so they can get to know each other. The school also doesnt put up with any bull and I like that! If you are looking to move to El Paso the biggest mistake you could make is NOT having your children attend Hornedo Middle.


Hornedo Middle School 2

Posted October 09, 2012
- a parent
First I would like to say , PTA meetings at 9:30 on a weekday morning .It must be a joke but it is not .Administrators with no power .Why are we paying them a robot could do there job.We should pay good teacher and forget the puppets . This school treat there students with no respect at all.

Hornedo Middle School 5

Posted February 04, 2009
- a student
I am a student at Hornadoe Middle school and i just absolutly love it! There are great teachers who care about the kids and more than 600 friends i can make. Since i am a new student the first day i was immediatly greated with 'Hi! My name is______. Whats yours?' I now have great friends but most importantly I'm getting a great education. Unlike my other school i went to.

Hornedo Middle School
no rating

Posted March 06, 2008
- a parent
2007-08 has been a huge challenge for this school. When the new Brown Middle School opened this year, the EPISD, in all it's wisdom, tried to solve a severe overcrowding problem at Franklin High School by taking all the 6th and 7th graders from Hornedo over to Brown then moving the 9th grade in with the 8th grade at Hornedo. After a lot of growing pains this school has somehow managed to continue fairly well. This is a temporary solution to an overcrowding problem that is present in all the westside schools. EPISD feels that these super-size schools are OK. I feel they are a disaster waiting to happen. Control becomes the issue, not education.


Hornedo Middle School 5

Posted December 20, 2005
- a parent
HMS is a very large middle school. My daughter is enrolled in the G/T Humanities, Sci-Tech, and Math programs. For the first time in 6 years she is being challenged. Would recommend any or all of these programs. Additionally she plays in the Orchestra. El Paso is fortunate to have an amazingly robust strings program for all levels of players. School very well run to accomodate 1800+ 6-8th graders. A bit overwhelming when they first start but the kids seem to settle in.

Hornedo Middle School 4

Posted August 15, 2005
- a parent
had a good GT and music program. My child was very well prepared for high school.

Hornedo Middle School 5

Posted August 02, 2005
- a student
I attended this school and loved it. There was virtually no fighting or drug problems. They parent involvmentwas at an all time high and the extra school activities were excellent! The arts were greatly appreciated at Hornedo which lead to an outstanding band and orchestra. I would highly recommend this school to anyone looking for a good safe middle school.


Hornedo Middle School 4

Posted May 19, 2005
- a teacher
Hornedo is an outstanding school with exceptional teachers, terrific coaches, but administration does not work well with students. The office is not student friendly. It is an extremely competitive school in everything band, orchestra ,sports and grades. Remember there are over 500 students per grade level. Athletics are superb at this school but tryouts consists of 100 to 150 students competing against each other to make the teams.

Hornedo Middle School 4

Posted April 03, 2005
- a student
Great school! The teachers work extra hard for the students, and they create a safe, creative learning environment.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hornedo Middle School
6101 High Ridge Drive, El Paso, TX  79912
(915) 231-2200
Last modified Hornedo Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hornedo Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top