Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Americas High School 2

Posted November 15, 2011
- a parent
AHS is a great school but the new 2010-2011 principal is the worst.the principal never returns my phone calls. The last time we spoke over the phone she was very rude with me. hopefully the get a new prncipal next year because she is the worst principal I have had to deal with!

Americas High School 5

Posted April 05, 2011
- a community member
I was a student there... I graduated 2005 this school gave me great experience never had any issues with no one from the staff.all of the teachers I had where friendly and dedicated to their job.thank you for this great experience.


Americas High School 4

Posted October 01, 2009
- a community member
I am A former student, i attended AHS my freshman and sophomore years. I live in Alaska now and i wish that i hadn't moved compared to most schools on a national level it isn't the greatest but it is by far a better school than most. the student teacher relationship is great and they have an extraordinay amount of extracurriculars, the JROTC program is on of the best in the state, even on a national level, the band cheer and dance is amazing. compared to the other two schools i've attended in my high school carrer AHS is byfar the best school I've attended.

Americas High School 5

Posted April 05, 2009
- a parent
as a parent of a sophmore student t this school i have been very impressed with the capability of the teachers and staff at this school

Americas High School 5

Posted April 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Americas High School 4

Posted March 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Americas High School 4

Posted January 09, 2009
- a community member
I am writing this review as a part two reviewe to a previous post i made. In regards to the review posted on December 17, 2008 in which was repeatedly posted. I am a former student and am currently attending UT Austin. Reasons for the school having such a high growing population rate is because the city is expanding and Fort Bliss is growing in population. Therefore, the district is attemptin to construct more high schools. However, with parents voting against legislation like a recent bond that failed, school constructions will be yielded for the time being. Therefore, you will continue to see high classroom student capacities. If you thought it was hard to see your counselor to speak with you one-on-one, then you just didn't try hard enough. There's no excuse for not being able to see your counselor. They want to help! I've run out of space to write more...

Americas High School 0
no rating

Posted December 17, 2008
- a student
The school cannot handle the burgeoning population in the area. It seems that many of the counselors spend more time managing data entry than actually working with the students. There is also the inadequate size of the cafeteria and the crowded classrooms. Students also have a difficult time getting the services they need. Even seniors have a hard time getting basic classes required for graduation. Colleges that do not already have a working relationship with the school from better days have a hard time breaking through the bureaucractic mess after working around the unusual year round schedule.


Americas High School 5

Posted October 14, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Americas High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2008
- a parent
This is just a great school! My daughter loves her school and has really flourished even more so. She has had a great experience and all the faculty and staff have been awesome. Americas is one of the best schools in the city and definitely in the district. What an awesome group of devoted individuals this school has.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Americas High School
12101 Pellicano Drive, El Paso, TX  79936
(915) 937-2800
Last modified Americas High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Americas High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top