Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Howard Burnham Elementary School

Charter | K-4 | 428 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in El Paso

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $187,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2013

The ladies at the front desk are very friendly and helpful with the exception of Martha who is rude and abrupt. The principal changes every year. Dr Lorraine ODonnel would be sure to address herself as Dr. She was always off campus and never atttended any meetings with parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2012

We are starting our third year at this school and we have had a very good experience. All three of my children read above level. My son was diagnosed with adhd last year and without the support and dedication of his teacher it would have been a very difficult year for him. This school does not allow parents to "hover" all day as they do in the public schools. However, that doesn't mean you can't communicate and form a relationship with your teachers if you make an effort. But the you do have to make an effort and really as a parent you should be doing that anyway right? Remember that the negative reviews are the result of very specific experiences and is not to say you will have the same experience. If you want a smaller school with a big emphasis on academics and more controlled environment then you might like this school. the school does have an excellent speech therapist, beyond that I don't think they can accommodate. To sum up, the teachers at this school are caring and highly qualified. They work hard for your kids and most are approachable. Based on my experiences, I would recommend this school. And most importantly, my kids love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2012

This is my children's first year at this school. My son is in 3rd grade and my daughter in 1st. So far we have had a great experience and are very satisfied with the school. Yes the teachers are a little hard on the students as far as academics, which is great because they challenge them to do their best and not be lazy like other school districts do. This school has a private school atmosphere. I don't know why people complain of not being able to communicate with teachers because I have been able to schedule meetings with them and can approach them after school with no problem at all. My children love this school. If you like for your children to be challenged academically, learn discipline and like private school atmosphere, then this is the school for you!!!!....By the way I've heard so many lies and negative things about these charter schools which mostly come from people that have never even had their children in these type of schools....please don't listen to people that like to open their mouth without even knowing what they are talking about...I suggest you check out the schools in person and do some research before making a decision or going by what other people say!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2012

Coming into this school was great! Our first year was when my daughter was in kindergarten and she had the most outstanding teacher. However, it has progressively gotten worse as time goes by. Now my daughter is in second grade and I can not get the teacher to communicate with me beyond the bare minimum. My daughter has great grades, her lowest is an 84%, but, they recommend summer school. And when it is recommended, then they mean it is required to move on up to the next grade. Yes, there is academic discrimination going on at this school. It seams that parents are minimally involved, however, major involvement past what the school invites the parents to is highly discouraged! I think that the teachers could be better if they were not so harshly controlled by the superintendent; thus, this is also the issue with keeping principals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2011

This school was such a dissappointment. I'm at my wits end waiting for the school year to end. This school really ruined not only my 1st experience with my child in school, but my child's experience as well. My child went from being excited to go to school, neat coloring, dedicated, to being discouraged by the teacher, literally having nightmares at night because teacher tells him he's not doing good. I DO NOT recommend this school. I've tried meeting with the teacher & have the principal present, but it would not happen. Prinicipal could never respond to my request. The school makes it very difficult for parents who work to be able to see their child's performances because they hold them during early school hours, Ex: 9:30 a.m. or 11:00 a.m. I can't wait to put my child in a regular public school. I could go on and on about this school, but I only listed the worst. Discouraging teachers, difficulty for parents to be involved, last minute notices, and worst of all, teachers keeping child for tutoring without your permission or without the child needing it. This school has great marketing to lure you in. Don't do it, you'll be very dissappointed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2010

I had great expectations for this school after hearing so many good things about it. I was very disappointed with the experience. My daughter's teacher was fairly good, but my daughter was above the reading level and she didn't do anything to help her continue growing. Is that acceptable from an exemplary school? I had to suggest the teacher to place my daughter in a higher level reading group so she could be challenged because my daughter started to get bored in school. They give the same material to all kinds no matter what level they have...I would expect that from any other school but not from an exemplary. The front desk people are rude and unfriendly, they need motivation to go to work, maybe a higher salary! Communication between parents and administration is non-existent and discouraged! You can't see your kids during school hours! and so on......
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2010

Board membership at Howard Burnham would appear to be highly groomed by the superintendent who as of recently has been unable to retain principals for the two schools in the charter district. For those of us who like to be involved in our children's education it and get regular feedback on their progress, this is not a desirable situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2010

We are a military family that just recently moved to the area. So far, we absolutly love this school. Honestly, it feels as if my son is at a million dollar private school. I would recc. this school to any incomming Army Families!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2010

HB Elementary is a small but growing charter school. The curriculum is highly focused on passing the standard exam required by the State of Texas. Daily PE replaces recess so informal student interaction outside the classroom is very limited. The administration takes great pride in providing access to the arts. Promotional material mention an added emphasis on STEM (Science and Engineering elements) but there is limited evidence that this is taking place in all grade levels. Communication with parents is highly dependent on a website. The school needs to build computer and science laboratories. Public school in the area may be superior to what HB offers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2010

I have kids in kindergarten at this school. I am very happy with the academics. The school is strict with their students, but fair. I email frequently with my kids' teachers and they are responsive. Both of my children are advanced so the teachers are giving them advanced work that is designed specifically for them to challenge them. My main complaint about the school is the short notice given to do things (like get a certain outfit for a concert in less then a week when my husband and I both work full-time or there is an in-class play last minute ). I also have a minor complaint with the automated system they use to communicate. There are just too many phone calls with information for this or that. I wish they had a system where I could opt out of the phone calls and receive notification by
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2009

We removed our children from this school after 6 weeks. The teachers were good and we were happy with the academics (I particularly liked the sections for reading and math so kids could move ahead when they were ready, not when the whole class was ready). However, the new principal was awful!!! One of my children has ADHD and mild symptoms of Asperger's- he has a few relatively minor issues, but overall a good smart kid. However, it became obvious to me on the first day of school that they did not want to deal with any issues or kids with 504 plans. So, basically if you have perfectly 'normal' kids you might like this school- if you have any (even minor) issues, then stay away from Burnham, they don't want to deal with you and will make life hard on you and your kids until you leave.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

I am happy with this elementary school. They do not just teach the TAKS test as many top rated EPISD schools do. There is a multidisciplinary approach I would compare to the two DOD schools I have taught in. I have had no difficulty with communication with teachers or staff. I appreciate how the district keeps classroom disruptions to a minimum. We have a happy 2nd grader who is constantly challenged in a safe learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2009

This school is as good as ANY private school in EL Paso and better than any public one. The Burnham's were well-known educators in NY (where I was raised and attended 13 years of private school). The beauty of the school is that it's success is not dependent on any teacher, but rather it is the learning SYSTEM that all teachers must teach according to that makes the school effective, as evidenced by the fact that the standard test scores remain high even though there is no admisison test to get into the school (unlike Silva for example, which only accepts 'smart' kids who score high enough on their admission test). Also, as a charter school it receives only limited public finds, so staff disorginzation is a small price for getting a private-quality education for free. Otherwise, pay to send your kid to a private school and stop complaining.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

I have had my children in the school district for four years. I have never had a problem speaking with teachers, principle, or anyone else. Progress reports, newsletters, and report card go out on a regular basis. Teachers keep parents well informed for child's progress. Wonderful school!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

i dont know why some people have a problem with this institution. i've found the staff and teachers of good quality. i will update from time to time as i have a 1st grader attending.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2009

I would not recommend this school to anyone. The Principal, Office Staff and Teachers are very disorganized. Repeated efforts have been made on our part to communicate with teachers and administration regarding our son, but we have received no response to our concerns. Academics are also a great concern. I would expect a recognized campus to stress higher academic standards than those without the same title, but this has not been our experience with Burnhamwood. We will not be returning next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2009

This school has small class sizes (my son's class only has 17 students) relative to other schools. The teachers seem generally good. At the very least they are on par with the teachers at the public schools. The main problem with this school is it's horrible about communicating with parents. Often, I receive less than a week's notice about events or functions. It seems very inconsiderate, especially for woking parents. I do not know if this is because the administrators/teachers are disorganized or if they are actively trying to discourage parent participation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 24, 2009

There is no communication chanel between parents and school. You could leave lots of messages to the office or principle, but you always couldn't get any response from them. Even teacher didn't know some school policy when you asked the teacher. The teacher only told you to make an appointment to the principle. It seems they work with the school in a black box. Nobody knows what's going except the principle. I want to withdraw my kid from this school and I don't recommend this school to you. I just want to ask the principle how can you lead the school, teachers and teach the students in the correct ways if you always ignore other persons. The students in this school won't learn any respect to other persons from you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

Parents, please, don't be fooled by TAKS scores alone. After a 3-mo nightmare, I went running back to my local public school. TAKS scores are good because that is primarily the entire basis of the 'curriculum.' Mock TAKS. Practice TAKS. Other than TAKS prep, there is minimal supervision of teachers or accountability when it comes to academic performance. Yet there is this disturbing environment of strict prohibition and control over parental communications. Parental involvement is not only unwelcome, it is prohibited. Any parent-teacher communication occurs only under a controlled setting. There is also no playground and children kept inside for hours except for PE. My child went through 3 teacher, and, in the interim, no lesson plans were prepared or reviewed, childrens' homewok accumulated without being graded, and no progress reports ever issued. Messages left for the principal and administration were ignored until I withdrew my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

Lets stay focus and rate the school not the parenting style of the parents. Remember this are elementary age children not middle school and up. Kids do not complete homework in daycare do to noise and distractions. School has been improving its communication with parents and has a new and more fuctional web site. Hopefully they will have it 100% completed soon. Safety has also increased and new building almost completed. I like the improvements.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

70 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

71 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 85% in 2011.

65 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
96%
Math

The state average for Math was 88% in 2011.

67 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
97%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 90% in 2011.

66 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female100%
Male91%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education96%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English98%
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic98%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged97%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English98%
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students97%
Female97%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic96%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education98%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant97%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Math

All Students96%
Female95%
Male97%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)88%
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a

Writing

All Students95%
Female95%
Male96%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged100%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English96%
Non-migrant95%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
90%
Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 71% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
92%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Female97%
Male95%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic95%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special educationn/a
Not special education97%
Limited English proficient (LEP)100%
Proficient in English96%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant96%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted96%
Bilingual100%

Math

All Students84%
Female90%
Male80%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education85%
Limited English proficient (LEP)86%
Proficient in English84%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant84%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted84%
Bilingual88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female78%
Male83%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education80%
Limited English proficient (LEP)46%
Proficient in English80%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant80%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted80%
Bilingual42%

Math

All Students82%
Female78%
Male85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)85%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingual83%

Writing

All Students82%
Female78%
Male85%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic84%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Special educationn/a
Not special education81%
Limited English proficient (LEP)62%
Proficient in English82%
Migrantn/a
Non-migrant82%
Gifted/talentedn/a
Non-Gifted82%
Bilingual58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 81% 52%
White 13% 29%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native N/A 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races N/A 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 24%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 5%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • AUDREY SHETTY
Fax number
  • (915) 585-8814

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7310 Bishop Flores Drive
El Paso, TX 79912
Website: Click here
Phone: (915) 584-9499

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT