Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
32 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 44 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Howard Burnham Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
teachers are great! they just get trampled over by assistant principal and principal. they have very little resources to teach and to many children per classroom.

Howard Burnham Elementary School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
not this year they could care less in persistence or determination, everyone passes there without trying.


Howard Burnham Elementary School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
no they develop anything but respect. bullying shouldn't be allowed ,everyone should respect one another and it is impossible, since new assistant principal bullies students and parents.

Howard Burnham Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
when kids are being bullied they don't care., they have a lot of bullying yet they don't enforce the kids that are bullies since they don't want to loose a student because that is money for them.

Howard Burnham Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
kids are always tardy and school does not care, also when kids take star test they allow kids that don't pass to pass.


Howard Burnham Elementary School 1

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
Kinder teacher Ms. Ballenger displayed lack of control in the classroom. Yelled at the students even in front of staff and parents. She told students they were immature and not "first grade ready" after the first week of school. Principal Mrs. Shetty showed no genuine concern for the issues at hand and did very little to address them. Teacher's behavior continued dispite addressing it to the principal and HR staff multiple times.

Howard Burnham Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2015
- a parent
Excellent organization, my son had been in this school for 2.5 years and is doing great. He's been doing excellent on all the State exams! He is also always very excited about going to school he loves his school.

Howard Burnham Elementary School 3

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
The ladies at the front desk are very friendly and helpful with the exception of Martha who is rude and abrupt. The principal changes every year. Dr Lorraine ODonnel would be sure to address herself as Dr. She was always off campus and never atttended any meetings with parents.


Howard Burnham Elementary School 5

Posted September 30, 2012
- a parent
We are starting our third year at this school and we have had a very good experience. All three of my children read above level. My son was diagnosed with adhd last year and without the support and dedication of his teacher it would have been a very difficult year for him. This school does not allow parents to "hover" all day as they do in the public schools. However, that doesn't mean you can't communicate and form a relationship with your teachers if you make an effort. But the you do have to make an effort and really as a parent you should be doing that anyway right? Remember that the negative reviews are the result of very specific experiences and is not to say you will have the same experience. If you want a smaller school with a big emphasis on academics and more controlled environment then you might like this school. the school does have an excellent speech therapist, beyond that I don't think they can accommodate. To sum up, the teachers at this school are caring and highly qualified. They work hard for your kids and most are approachable. Based on my experiences, I would recommend this school. And most importantly, my kids love it.

Howard Burnham Elementary School 5

Posted May 19, 2012
- a parent
This is my children's first year at this school. My son is in 3rd grade and my daughter in 1st. So far we have had a great experience and are very satisfied with the school. Yes the teachers are a little hard on the students as far as academics, which is great because they challenge them to do their best and not be lazy like other school districts do. This school has a private school atmosphere. I don't know why people complain of not being able to communicate with teachers because I have been able to schedule meetings with them and can approach them after school with no problem at all. My children love this school. If you like for your children to be challenged academically, learn discipline and like private school atmosphere, then this is the school for you!!!!....By the way I've heard so many lies and negative things about these charter schools which mostly come from people that have never even had their children in these type of schools....please don't listen to people that like to open their mouth without even knowing what they are talking about...I suggest you check out the schools in person and do some research before making a decision or going by what other people say!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Howard Burnham Elementary School
7310 Bishop Flores Drive, El Paso, TX  79912
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. (915) 584-9499
Last modified Howard Burnham Elementary School is a Charter school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top