Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
484 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cathedral High School 1

Posted June 15, 2013
- a student
At this school, bullying is an integral part of the culture, not only tolerated by the staff, but encouraged, and the staff often participates in it themselves. Students are quite often rowdy both on and off campus--actually more so than at any public school I've seen. Drug use is common, as at public schools, but the goody-two-shoes image Cathedral likes to project makes them hypocrites on that. Not interacting with girls on a daily basis leaves a big hole in a teenage boy's psychological development that a lot of these sad individuals don't seem to mind.You can actually get a good education at a public school; the public schools generally have more resources and you won't be left with this distorted view of the opposite sex born of unfamiliarity.

Cathedral High School 5

Posted February 28, 2013
- a parent
Cathedral High School in El Paso is truly unique. Besides the excellent academics, the school also promotes a sense of brotherhood and service. Young men who attend learn how to be truly Christian and to have integrity in a world which is truly in need of both. I recommend it highly.


Cathedral High School 5

Posted January 19, 2012
- a student
This is the best school in Texas. The bonds created with my classmates will last forever. In other high schools the students are only teach how to study and read a book. At Cathedral you are taught how to succeed in life. They will give you the tools for being a successful entrepreneur, 98% of students go to college and the 2% go to the military. This school changed my life. This will be the high school of my sons.

Cathedral High School 4

Posted June 29, 2010
- a community member
Excellent, well rounded curriculum based on the principles of faith. Great counselors especially for college admissions. Good balance between academic and extra-curricular activities.

Cathedral High School 1

Posted June 25, 2010
- a student
This schoool is dangerous for your son. In my first year I got into 3 fights and the etachers would just watch and then after it was over they would just suspend us for a day like if nothing happened. There are fights everyday in the parking lot of the school. There is also rich kids who make fun of your old car or mistreat you because of financial reasons. There is also constant dirty talking about moms( and i mean nasty) and lots of drug influence. 40% of the people i knew smoked weed. Also if you want your son to have social sills with girls DO NOT SEND HIM HERE. not worth the 6k


Cathedral High School 1

Posted April 08, 2010
- a parent
This is the worst school I've ever seen. The students are encouraged to 1) treat girls as nonentities and 2) bullying between the boys is acceptable. The administrations 'boys will be boys' approach combined with a lack of discipline make this a school to avoid.

Cathedral High School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2009
- a student
CHS at el paso is with no doubt the greatest school in texas. the all boy academy gives young men like me the opportunity to succeed and believe that there is only one way in life. from good to great

Cathedral High School 5

Posted May 04, 2009
- a parent
Cathedral HG fits all my expectations as a parent looking for my sons' best education. Cathedral high Academic standards, self-discipline and moral values makes it the best choice.


Cathedral High School 5

Posted March 15, 2007
- a parent
My son has been at Cathedral High School he has matured as an individual and as a human being.Cathedral has what no other school offers to reach high goals academically, as well as spiritually. They catechize every day so when he will grow up he will look back on his years as a Cathedral student, and be forever grateful for what he is,Cathedral was a part of him.

Cathedral High School 5

Posted November 12, 2003
- a parent
For my son it was a great experience to graduate from this great institution which is one of the best high schools in el paso

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cathedral High School
1309 North Stanton Street, El Paso, TX  79902
(915) 532-3238
Last modified Cathedral High School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Cathedral High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top