Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Radford School

Private | 1-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in El Paso

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $82,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $580.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 13, 2009

this school is excellent,the kids starting from seventh grade take PSAT prep classes!!this is the best school i highly recomend it here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2009

One of my children chose to go to public school (YISD) while the other was dead set on private. What a difference! Radford has my child preparing to take her PSAT and is only in 7th grade as opposed to my other child whose school counselor told me 'not to worry about it' till 10th grade. The other will be attending Radford next year. The students at Radford are not only 'learning' how to take exams but are taught dining etiquette, arts and music. PreK are taught how to swim as well. Some see this methodology a bit antiquated but in todays society many parents and educators have forgotten the meaning of refinement and education. Something Radford emphasizes for a better groomed and well prepared adult. No, Radford cannot compare to public schools when it comes to athletics and some extra curricular activities. For academics Radford has the advantage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

Curriculum in lower grades lacks rigor and discipline in some cases. Look around before deciding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2008

My son really loves the school. And I am very happy because he has learn so much and he is only in kindergarden.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 13, 2007

I have had my son at Radford for a few years now. Where the public schools failed my son in social interaction, Radford had picked up and made him part of the overall family. Radford is overall a quality school that focuses on a family like environment in my opinion and I do not regret enrolling him there. Radford continues to invest in the academic programs that the public schools have since abandoned (Art and Music to be exact). The piano and computer labs are pretty good and most parents involve themselves in the school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2007

The school is going down hill very fast. The adminstration does little to help kids with college applications; I know of one student who had a very tough time getting the director to write a letter of recommendation. I will give the school one more year, then I'm moving the kids unless there is a big turn around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2007

I attended this school for only a year and a half. It was definitely not what I expected. The only way to get involved in extracirricular activities was to demand them. I did get involved in several clubs/activities, but they were not coached or even funded, we saved our money or asked our parents for money to enroll in competitions. I had three excellent teachers, but by the time I left, two of them had left as well. My parents did not think a thing was wrong until I fully explained everything and they checked into it for themselves. I transfered to a public school,now in college on full scholarship.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 9, 2006

My children have attended Radford school and I know that the teachers and administration are very caring and willing to work individually with each child to insure personal academic success. Sports are not a priority at Radford, education is. Many times people post comments merely to complain, but I must tell you, I am very satisfied with the education my children have received and my oldest is now in college and doing very well. I can thank all the teachers who take an interest in their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

I am very impressed with Radford School. The teachers and administration are very caring people who are willing to do whatever it takes to educate children. If you are looking for a safe environment with a good educational foundation Radford is the place. If you are interested in sports, Radford encourages everyone to participate instead of picking only the best; and their sports are limited. I am very pleased with the education my child is recieving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2006

My child has been at Radford for several years. the one-on-one attention and challenging academics are just part of a great school. Lunch is a dining experience. We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 11, 2006

Radford School does not hold up to its highly reputable name. The quality of education deteriorates with each grade level. Elementary schoolers are the only ones not getting cheated. Middle and upper schoolers will be deprived more than any average public schooler. The academics are sub par and the social skills of about half the students are absolutely horrific. There are hardly any extracurricular activities. Bottom line: This school is a waste of seven thousand dollars.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2006

I only toured this school, but it has very good facilities and the children are expected to be polite (the children stand and greet visitors). The library is average sized, but very nice. There is an indoor pool and all students are taught to swim. Also has very good music/arts facilities. The campus is very safe- surrounded by a iron fence with only one entrance available during the day. Also in a very nice part of El Paso, but very close to Ft. Bliss if stationed there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2006

Just a name, not impressed with academics or extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I think Radford is by far the best privet school in El Paso. The teachers care about students and we are under one of the best directors since Dr. Templin. I really do enjoy and recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 9, 2003

This is an excellent school. The teachers truly care about the students!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 55% 51%
White 34% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Black 3% 13%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • SACS
Fax number
  • (915) 565-2730

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2001 Radford Street
El Paso, TX 79903
Phone: (915) 565-2737

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Loretto Academy
El Paso, TX




St. Joseph School
El Paso, TX



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT