Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


9 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


El Paso Jewish Academy 5

Posted June 12, 2010
- a parent
This school has far exceeded my expectations in education, and the principal as well as the teachers are in the highest echelon of their profession. My child has excelled in every aspect since being at the academy, which I credit to the superior teachers and staff. They truly care about the children. It saddens me that the negative comment was made about "unruly" children and discipline issues, it is far from the truth, I would only attribute such comments from the parents of "unruly" children who were not sided with in discipline issues. The families at our school are committed, involved, and the very best!

El Paso Jewish Academy 5

Posted June 10, 2010
- a parent
EPJA is, by far, one of the strongest Jewish day schools in the country. It's the whole package -- strong and highly organized leadership, teachers and academics in a nurturing environment that fosters creativity, curiosity and a love of learning. Our daughter attended elementary school at EPJA, and it was positively one of the best experiences of her young life. Our family moved to the east coast last year and our daughter transferred seamlessly into a larger and well-established Jewish day school near Philadelphia. The excellent Jewish and secular educations she received at EPJA more than prepared her for this transition, and she has continued to flourish. Children who have the opportunity to attend EPJA are very fortunate.


El Paso Jewish Academy 5

Posted June 09, 2010
- a parent
We transferred to the EPJA from a public school in El Paso. We wanted a better academic alternative and found that and more. This school has a heart and soul. Children from 1st to 8th interact in a caring and respectful way, clearly living the Jewish values that are infused throughout the program. Graduates do exceeding well in high school. There is a list in the hallway of the elite colleges the students go on to attend. It is a challenging curriculum, including Hebrew and Spanish in the upper grades. The teachers, Head of School and staff are remarkable. We are very happy.

El Paso Jewish Academy 1

Posted May 16, 2010
- a community member
Is it possible to put 0 stars? The principle does not care for the children and will not deal with problems. This has caused the only commited families to leave. Do not ruin your childs eduction by going here. Children are wild and unruly. The principal would rather close the school than deal with problems. A sad disappointment. All other comments are out of date and small class size can mean 1 child per grade.

El Paso Jewish Academy 5

Posted February 15, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


El Paso Jewish Academy 3

Posted June 01, 2008
- a community member
Reply to May 12, 2008 posting: As a grandparent, many of your points regarding EPJA are valid. Although many parents are extremely involved in the future course of the school, students of these parents also have benefits that uninvolved parents do not have. Parents in public school settings do not have this control, nor do they in other area private schools. In essence, the board of directors is controlling much of the school. Yes, the new principal works very hard, but it has become a day care, which interrupts and affects day to day learning. This is a business, not a day care. The class of 2007 was an exceptional class, but it would be interesting to see ratings of the 2008 and future classes as a comparison. Strong secular does not make up for weak Judaics. Many changes need to be make EPJA the school El Paso needs.

El Paso Jewish Academy 4

Posted May 12, 2008
- a parent
Reply to August 28, 2007 posting: We're also parents at EPJA. This school is CONSTANTLY improving. Our children are receiving a strong secular education, and are having a positive Jewish experience, which to us is so valuable. We are like a family at EPJA, and we take responsibility for contributing to the success of our school. The smallness of the school, allows you as parents to have your voice heard and to affect the course the school takes. Our hats off to the strong board and hard working principal. We've been with the school for eight years, and have experienced continuous improvements through the years. Most past graduates have chosen to go into the Coronado International Baccalaureate Program. For example, in 2007, out of a graduating class of 7, the 5 who chose to apply for the challenging IB program were all accepted. We're proud of our school and it's graduates!

El Paso Jewish Academy 4

Posted September 21, 2007
- a parent
This Jewish Community Day School for grades 1-8 offers an excellent secular education as well as a Judaics curriculum to boot. The school has great student/teacher ratios and encourages family participation. There are a variety of after school programs offered throughout the year. Students graduate from the school and enter high school excelling in all areas. Alumni have been very successful after their years at the EPJA.


El Paso Jewish Academy 2

Posted August 28, 2007
- a parent
This school was a disappointment for my family. Small class size should mean more time for individualized help, but this was not the case. There were many discipline issues that harmed class learning. Administration did not take care of the problems. In early grades, homework was given weekly but in upper grades it often required hours because the teachers did not coordinate assignments. Assignments were given but never picked up. Another problem was class time. Students have Judaics part time so secular classes are very short. El Paso ISD requires 90 minutes of math and reading daily. At the Academy, my child received 45 minutes in each, far short of the time needed. We felt the weak Judaic curriculum did not make up for important class time missed. There are several excellent public schools in the area.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

El Paso Jewish Academy
805 Cherry Hill Lane, El Paso, TX  79912
(915) 833-0808
Last modified El Paso Jewish Academy is a Private school that serves grades 1-8
El Paso Jewish Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 9 reviews.