Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Raphael School

Private | PK-8 | 535 students

We are best known for High expectations.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in El Paso

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $134,600. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $740.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 6, 2010

My son was in kinder this year. He was reading by november and had a wonderful caring teacher. He cant wait for first grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

Great school, teach good values & morals to the kids, the students are very kind and disciplined. parental involvement is great too. Parents work very closely and actively for the benefit of the kids. It has good academic standards, the kids are very well prepared when they leave. Too bad it's only up to 8th grade. Couldn't find a better school!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2009

This school is very helpfull; it is like an early admitions colleg for high school. Your child we be getting strate A's in high school and will probobly know more than you when they graduate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

This school is wonderful. The level of education the children receive is excellent. It is the best decision I have ever made with regards to my children. They are now getting a top notch education and a strong foundation in faith. It is a down-to-earth community with loving teachers and staff. Highly recommended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2008

My son has attended St. Raphael School for two years now and loves it! The small classroom size gives my son the opportunity to get more 'one on one' instruction. The spiritual guidance he receives on a daily basis will live on with him as he grows into a respectable man. As a single mother, I struggle at times to continue with his private education, but the investment is well worth it as I can only give him so much guidance; the rest is up to Him! It's a great school with lots of parent involvement and fun family oriented activities throughout the year. Afterall teaching our children, strong family values, high morals and ethics will certainly go a long way in this day and age. You and your child will truly enjoy our family type atmosphere as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 10, 2007

St.Raphael is a wonder school. My husband and I work hard with our son's studies to continue being a part of this school. My son is in the 5th grade and is extremely happy to be part of the SRS family. He's been there since 1st grade and we couldn't have asked for a better school for my son. My son's wonderful spirituality, respectfulness, confidence and self-worth are reflections of how the schools' environment has positively affected my son's personality. We're lucky to be part of it and grateful to the caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2007

Two of my 3 sons have graduated from SRS and it is the best money we have invested. The teachers are wonderful as is the staff. There is not much extra curriculum involvement but there are sports. Parents need to be very involved and help their children with homework and projects. The discipline and respect towards others is also greatly encouraged. I have been a parent at this school for 14 years and still have 2 more to go. The environment is like a big family where everybody knows each other. The kids leave more than prepared to high school and are always in the ranked students at there schools. Highly recommended
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2006

Both of my kids have been at SRS since pre-K. I find that all the teachers know my kids, even if they weren't in their class. The entire school is a small community. The teachers are excellent; they willingly give their time to tutor or help the students during, before, or after school, whether the student is in their class or not. The students are led by example to be the best they can be, in their personal lives as well as academically. Parent involvement is highly encouraged, the principle is highly visible and accessible, as well as are the teachers. Most of the teachers have their own kids here, so they are not only our kids' teachers, they are our friends and family. SRS is a great community school where we are all family!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2005

St. Raphael School in El Paso, Texas offers one of the finest Catholic educations in the area. St. Raphael School has a staff and administraion that is exceptional. Parent involvement is incouraged and appreciated.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 3, 2005

This school is very close knit. It has a stringent but fair discipline system. There are not many extracurricular activities except in sports. Parent involvement is this school's strong point and a definite plus. Mass on Friday's is a great experience. Academically they are as challenged as any public school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

St. Raphael has high academic standards. It has a rigorous curriculum and requires a lot of involvement from parents in their children s' education. At the end of the year everybody breathes a big sigh of relief, students, parents, faculty and staff. I highly recommend this school if you are willing to work and study hard.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 84% 51%
White 14% 31%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2% 4%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Catherine Pynes
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • TCC,NCEA
Fax number
  • (915) 598-3002

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of El Paso
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
  • flag football
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball
  • flag football

Arts & music

Music
  • Band

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cathedral High School,Loretto Academy,
Bel Air Medical Magnet School
many of the early college high schools in the area
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2310 Woodside Drive
El Paso, TX 79925
Website: Click here
Phone: (915) 598-2241

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT