Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Marks Day School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in El Paso

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $282,400. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $670.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 10 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 14, 2009

My son attended St Mark s during his kinder year and was fortunate to have a caring teacher. However, when he began first grade, things changed. We noticed that he was unhappy and frustrated with school. He cried many times on our way home after school because he was getting bullied and picked on by kids at the school. His teacher informed us that he was behind in class and it was clear that it was up to us to help him. We did, but there was a sense of urgency from his teacher for immediate improvement. So, we took him out of St. Mark s. He now attends a public school. His new teacher has had a remarkable positive impact on him. He has gained back his confidence and looks forward to school! St Mark s maybe a good school for some kids, but it is not the best school for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2009

We are so blessed to have found St. Marks fo our 3 children this year. The teachers are wonderful and very caring while also establishing discipline and character development . It is academically challenging and offers many special classes like art, computer, spanish, music, and library weekly. They have many extra curricular activities and the staff is easily accessible. They took extra care in ensuring we made a smooth transition this year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2008

St. Marks has given my daughter, Jessica, not only the confidence but set her foundations of becoming an excellent student! As a single mom I couldn't ask for a better place to have my lil' one!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

St. Marks Day School has offered me the best enviroment for my daughters, all the teachers are very professional and they have a wonderful program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2007

St. Marks has been a wonderful experience for our family. The education is outstanding and the values that are taught to the children are wonderful. I highly recommend this private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2007

St. Marks has been a wonderful experience for my children. The small classes, AR program, basketball, track, Spanish and computer classes have been a Godsend for my very active children. I would recommend St. Marks to anyone looking for a Christian-based education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2007

My kids have been going to school here for 8 years (since they were 2!) We never intended to complete all of Elementary school here but haven't been able to leave. The curriculum is superb and my kids love everything about it. It is an incredible environment that not only nutures your children's academic growth but also their confidence. You do need to stay involved with what is going on in your childs class, but that's the case at any school! You can't go wrong here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2007

St. Mark's is unique in that the atmosphere is loving and caring. They really go the extra mile to make sure that each child is recognized. My children have been going here since they were 2 and my daughter is in kinder and has been reading since the middle of her pre-k year. She also knows sequential order, her odd and even numbers to 100. Her Spanish is better than mine and I have taken two years in college. The art program is also phenomenal! I am very impressed and will continue to keep my children here until money no longer allows me to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

StMark's has been such a blessing in our lives. Our daughter started prek there and this year is entering first grade. The academics are excellent and way above the public school system here. It's a great Christian environment with a high level of parent involvement. It's definitely El Paso's best kept secret.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2006

St. Marks is a special school to us. We started our daughter there in Pre-K and she continue through to 1st grade. For 1st grade, my husband and I decided to make the transition to neighborhood public school, Mesita Elementary. Mesita had a gifted and talented dual langauage program that everyone raves about. She spent one week at Mesita and it was immediately apparent that we needed to go back to St. Marks as fast as we could. The staff is warm, loving, dedicated and they sincerely love their students. My daughter, doesn't need to be coddled, she just needs adults around her that appreciate her quirky personality. All her teachers at St. Marks have been some the best people I have ever met. It is definitely where we need to be and hopefully will continue her education... by the way, she is reading on a 3rd grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2006

This school has given my daughter confidence and most of all it focuses on a christian environment. I don't hear the ugly use of foul language and she wants to go to school which is very important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 24, 2005

This is the best foundation I could have ever given my child. He started out in the Early Ed. program when his Day Care closed down and he's continued through Kinder there. They have a great program that is advanced compared to other similar programs. After thinking about switching him and looking for another comparable program - I couldn't find one. They have P.E. and a great music teacher with lots of arts and crafts built into the program. By the end of Pre-K my son could write his first name (and last with an example), knew his ABCs and #s to 20. They also had a Spanish class and Computer class he went to weekly. A great beginning - he loves this school!Administration is iffy at times & lack of communication from board and leaders.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

St. Mark's is a very good school. Classes are small and children are given a lot of individual instruction. St. Mark's is now enrolling children through 5th grade and plans to add 6th grade in the near future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 67% 31%
Hispanic 27% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Black 3% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Methodist
Associations
  • NAEYC
Fax number
  • (915) 581-8019

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5005 Love Road
El Paso, TX 79922
Phone: (915) 581-2032

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT