Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Frank Macias Elementary School

Public | PK-3 | 1232 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2011

My daughter is in the third grade and sometimes has to eat lunch from a previous day or the breakfast they ate that morning they never have enough food left for third graders the cafeteria staff is rude to them ive had two other kids attend FME and its always been the same no matter how much we complain things never change and to pick them up after school is TERRIBLE .. The only person there im grateful for is Mrs. Keeton my son was with her in kinder and learned immediately how to read thank god this will be the last year i have to deal with that school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2010

First off let me say I have had two of my kids come to this school over the past five years. The first, my son, sailed through without any major bumps. The second, my daughter, had some family issues with my divorce during this time. I don't think she would have made it through without the help of her counselor. He was always there to LISTEN to her when she needed it. He was also there to help ME with referrals for outside counseling for my issues. What a truly wonderful man.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

I have three children attending Frank Macias, the least I can say is that it's a wonderful school, I know my children will have a firm foundation. If your child is going to Kinder this year, do her/him a favor, request Ms. Keeton to be their teacher. She was my son's teacher this year and he is reading better than my second grader, Ms. Keeton is very dedicated and caring, she's by far the best teacher at Frank Macias.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2008

Wonderful, wonderful system. Friendly staff. Great instruction. All the support one could ask for.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted October 11, 2008

My daughter loves this school and so do her parents. The teachers care about thier students. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2008

Great teachers and administration who are willing to work and go the extra mile for the children, and parents. School is low income but not low performing. Recognized campus.


Posted August 29, 2008

I like the general atmosphere at this school. The scores are great which shows the school has it's priorities straight.


Posted August 27, 2008

This school is big but it has a welcoming atmosphere. The teachers are caring and focused on instruction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2008

I quickly transferred my children from this school as it did not work for my family. I have one son who is top A student. I quickly brought this to the teacher's attention during several after school meetings and she did nothing to challenge him. Several'teacher letters' was sent home in a language I could not speak and the curriculum and homework was unorganized.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2008

Some teachers shout to much to the kids and are not always taking care of the kids properly, they chat among themselfs.Yes the principle is never around and picking up the kids is a headache.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2008

I love and am very proud of this school. Everything that has been accomplished has been the result of hard work and, above all, teamwork. I totally disagree with the last post. I don't feel any 'improvement' is needed.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2008

I don't know what that last parent was talking about, but it's obvious he/she has a axe to grind. Frank Macias Elementary is a wonderful school for both my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2008

I don't give good rating to frank macias it needs alot of improvement
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

the principle is never around or available. The parking and picking up of the students is horrendous. They do not send home notes for parents to see their children receive awards. I have only seen 1 award ceremony all year and I have 3 children that get awards every 6 weeks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2007

This is my first child that goes to school, i was very concerned and worried I was going to leave him there by himself the first day but when I met the staff at the orientation they I felt I could trust them with my child. Looking at the test scores from past years really made me feel my son was going to one of the best school. I couldn't be happier. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 18, 2007

We were very fortunate to have Ms. Alvidres as the pre-school teacher for my son. She is a wonderful very professional teacher. Unfortunately, the school's administration lacks not only good manners, but also the interest on doing things right. I left countless messages for the principal to contact me, he never responded. The only way to be able to talk to him was if you were lucky to catch him in the hall or the cafeteria. They lack enough support for the teachers. The security in the school is non-existent. Their logistical planning is really bad, from drop off to pick up and any events they try to 'plan' yet they do not request parents input.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2007

I wouldn't think of being at another school. This staff consistently takes kids that come from low socioeconomic-'at risk' backgrounds, single parent families and turns out well rounded, high scoring, high quality and respectful students. What more could you ask for?
—Submitted by a staff


Posted February 27, 2007

I mean, what else can be said about a school given an 'Exemplary' rating by the Texas Education Agency and a 'Distinguished Schools' award by the federal government. This school 'bar none' is the top rated elementary in the west Texas area. I'm happy to say I'm involved with such a fine school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2004

I feel very safe that my child is in this school. I have never seen a school with this type of security and care for the children. I love how they have everything set up to protect our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2004

I have enjoyed our time here at Frank Macias Elementary. I feel like it's a big school but it seems homey and inviting at the same time. The teachers work very hard to provide the best opportunities for their kids. Their counseling and administrative staff really helped me when I needed it and that says a lot in my book.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 89% in 2011.

201 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
98%
Math

The state average for Math was 87% in 2011.

235 students were tested at this school in 2011.

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female91%
Male93%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantaged96%
Special education86%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)93%
Proficient in English91%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%

Math

All Students92%
Female93%
Male92%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Special education100%
Not special education92%
Limited English proficient (LEP)92%
Proficient in English92%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant92%
Gifted/talented100%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the Texas Assessment of Knowledge and Skills (TAKS) was used to test students in English language arts and mathematics in grade 11. The grade 11 exit Level TAKS is a high school graduation requirement. TAKS is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 79% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
67%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

Source: Texas Education Agency

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Female68%
Male76%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Special educationn/a
Not special education72%
Limited English proficient (LEP)69%
Proficient in English72%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant72%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted71%
Bilingual66%

Math

All Students71%
Female68%
Male73%
Black or African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White100%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Special educationn/a
Not special education71%
Limited English proficient (LEP)71%
Proficient in English71%
Migrantn/a
Not migrant71%
Gifted/talented100%
Not Gifted70%
Bilingual70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013, the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) was used to test students in reading and math in grades 3 through 8; in writing in grades 4 and 7; in science in grades 5 and 8; in social studies in grade 8; and end-of-course assessments for English I, II, and II, Algebra I and II, biology and US History. STAAR is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Texas. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

The different student groups are identified by the Texas Education Agency; if there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Texas Education Agency

  • In 2010-2011, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2009-2010, this school was rated "Exemplary".
  • In 2008-2009, this school was rated "Exemplary".

About the tests


Texas uses Accountability Ratings to indicate the overall performance of each school and district. The ratings are based on TAKS test results, dropout rates for grades 7 and 8 and school completion rates for grades 9 through 12. Schools and districts rated under standard accountability procedures are designated as Exemplary, Recognized, Academically Acceptable or Academically Unacceptable. Schools and districts rated under alternative education accountability (AEA) procedures are designated as either AEA: Academically Acceptable or AEA: Academically Unacceptable.

Source: Texas Education Agency

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 92% 52%
White 7% 29%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander N/A 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Limited English proficient (LEP) 67%N/A17%
Source: TX Education Agency, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
Beginning teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • WILLIAM PATTI
Fax number
  • (915) 852-7547

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14521 Horizon Boulevard
El Paso, TX 79928
Phone: (915) 926-4600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT