Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mary Immaculate Catholic School

Private | K-8 | 515 students

Academic excellence in Catholic and Christ-centered Environment
 
 

 
 

Living in Farmers Branch

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $126,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $840.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 8 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

23 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2014

Honestly I truly believe the good reviews are made by the staff to trick people into thinking it is a good school in which no way in hell it is I despise this school and every kid that went there I know for a fact hated it to its very core.


Posted April 30, 2014

MIS is truly a wonderful school with dedicated staff and a challenging curriculum. This is our son's first year at this school and it truly feels like being part of a family. They offer so many experiences and programs he could not get anywhere else. It is very family oriented and offer many events that include the whole family. My favorite is the monthly service project where the children bring in items to help local charities. Principal Krause is an outstanding leader. I am so glad we found MIS and look forward to the next 7 years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2014

MIS is simply the best value in the DFW area. The academic rigor, expectation of student performance and behavior, parent involvement, spiritual guidance and sense of community is without parallel. We are proud to have been part of the MIS family for 9 years, and we look forward to a few more. Go, Mustangs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2014

This is our first year at Mary Immaculate and we love it! Our daughter had learn so much and she treasures her friendship with her friends at Mary Immaculate. Teachers are wonderful, just whole community is amazing. We can't wait to enroll her little one in Kindergarten soon. We LOVE MIS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2014

I graduated from Mary Immaculate and it supplied me with countless memories I will always hold dear to my heart. The lower grades proved to be excellent for teaching discipline in order to instill good behavioral habits. As the grades increase, there is a stress placed on academics, yet I believe that the stress is not strong enough to make the high school transition as easy as it could be. Although the teachers need to tailor the classes to each student, I think that it would be beneficial to teach the pupils about the future by supplying them with more difficult tasks. The teachers, however, are absolutely wonderful and qualified, making the lack of challenging work possibly a curriculum problem. The spanish program also could use improvement, for once I got to high school, I was behind in the language department. This was not a huge dilemma, but just a though. Overall, Mary Immalculate was a fabulous foundation, but the academics could use updating to allow more challenging tasks for the students.


Posted February 15, 2014

I graduated from Mary Immaculate School, and I thoroughly enjoyed my experience at MIS. The teachers and students are welcoming and that helped make my experience there to be quite enjoyable. The teachers/staff genuinely care about the students. I gained many valuable skills such as: confidence, organization, sociability, and being more assertive when asking questions. MIS is a great school!


Posted January 14, 2014

My family recently relocated to Texas from another state and my children were new to MIS last year. We do not live close to the school, but it is definitely worth the drive. I highly recommend Mary Immaculate School! The school offers opportunities for faith development in the Catholic tradition, academic excellence and personal growth. My two children are very happy here and receiving an excellent education. The teachers are amazing and the other students were very welcoming to us. We definitely feel like we are party of the Mary Immaculate family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2014

Great school! We moved from Dallas to Coppell a couple of years ago. We attended a catholic school in Dallas but had heard the Coppell ISD was incredible so we put our children at Town Center Elementary. After a few short weeks, it was evident the CISD was just another public school district. We found Mary Immaculate and were blessed they were able to accept our children mid semester. My kids were embraced by the staff and students and made to feel welcome. We are very pleased by the rigorous education and loving Catholic environment. The principal, Mr. Krause is terrific and Father Michael is inspiring. Highly recommend. Our children are our best investment
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2013

In response to the Sept. 16th posting: No child deserves to be bullied. At MIS, every faculty and staff member works to identify bullying when it occurs and put a stop to it as quickly as possible. This is done in a way that respects the dignity of all involved: bullied children are protected and supported, kids who bully are taught more positive and effective ways of interacting, and bystanders are guided and given strategies that empower them to get involved. Each year, MIS brings in multiple speakers to address bullying with our students and faculty including professional speakers from Aim for Success, the Farmers Branch police, and professional counselors. Individual breakout sessions with our staff counselor are also done within various grades, both to prevent bullying and to address issues when problems arise. In addition, peer workshops are held with in conjunction with local Catholic High School students to help our students recognize and respond properly to bullying.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 16, 2013

MIS is excellent in preparing you for high school and great academics. The "lowerclass" students however are bullied much to a point where they don't want to go to school and it affects the academics. The teachers seem like they care about bullying, but when it is right in front of their eyes, they will turn their back like they didn't see it.


Posted June 27, 2013

We just finished our second year at MIS. The teachers are truly interested in each child succeeding. My children look forward to going to school because they enjoy it and have made many good friends. I have also found the parents to be friendly. I'm excited to see our sons grow educationally and spiritually at MIS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2012

we've been at MIS since 2009 and have found it to be a fabulous community! solid spiritual foundation (with a new Dir of Campus Ministry!!), rigorous academics, competitive athletics, fine arts program (art, choir & band), lots of extracurricular opportunities (chess club, girl scounts, boy scouts, Jr Catholic Daughters, etc), dedicated administration & faculty (with VERY low turnover and many years of experience)... becoming part of the community is the best way to meet people and make lifelong friendships...volunteer & serve your school, get your kids involved in extracurricular's...it makes all the difference. no school is perfect, but MIS is doing great things and I'm glad we're part of it! all around a wonderful experience...We love MIS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

I have had my 3 children at this school since 1999, and cannot say enough great things about it! The teachers are knowledgeable, dedicated and truly want my students to succeed. Very active parent involvement and strong community spirit. I am very excited about our "new" principal (his second year here) and feel he brings new life and enthusiasm to the school in terms of technology and academics. Go Mustangs!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2012

Great school! We had a terrible experience with my childs previous school - MIS has turned him around. It is great to see him excited about school, loving learning and gaining not just academic skill, but organizational and social skills as well. Principle is fantastic! Teachers are Wonderful! I can't say enough great things about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

I thought Mary Immaculate was a very supportive enviornment. While attending school there, I formed many strong friendships. There was a very tight bond within students, an element I feel is key to an enjoyable school. For the most part, I truly enjoyed going to school each day to see my classmates. The junior high program at MIS is great- each teacher challenges students and prepares them for high school. In addition, I found that many activites and projects completed at MIS were similar to my high school assignments. I will take away many great memories from this school, and the experiences I had will never be forgotten. The only minor issue is that there was a noticeable "click" among parents depending on social class.


Posted November 8, 2010

I have to disagree with the May 27th comment about a highly political environment. I have found Mary Immaculate School to be a warm and welcoming community of supportive parents, devoted teachers and hard working administrative staff. The new principal is off to a strong start and is showing a much needed energy and enthusiasm. I am excited to have my children at this school and...even more important...my children are excited about being there. It's a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

The teachers are excellent but the committees composed of parents run the school making for a highly political environment. The principle has been fired and they have a new one starting next fall. They are 3-5 years from resolving this issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2010

We moved our children here this year. And we are very pleased with what we've found. We can speak only for the lower grades, but the curriculum is challenging and teacher turnover is low. The kids and families are very welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

Would like more emphasis in the Science and Math fields. Generally Good. Alot of parent involvement. Teaching staff is wonderful. Prinicpal micro-manages everything and is not aproachable. Her way or the highway. Sad
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2007

My wife and I moved our children to MIS two years ago. We have been very happy with the atmosphere of the school. The academics are challenging and the teachers are very willing to help. There is a very welcoming atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 31%
Hispanic 25% 51%
Asian or Pacific Islander 7% 4%
Two or more races 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 13%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Blue Ribbon/No Child Left Behind
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Work of Heart Awards (2 teachers) (2012)
  • Work of Heart Awards (2 teachers) (2011)
  • Work of Heart Awards (5 teachers) (2010)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Drill team

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:20 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:20 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mr. Matthew Krause
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (972) 241-7678

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • csodallas.org/parent-resources/curriculu
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Drill Team
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Altar Serving
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Choir
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Girl scouts
  • Junior Catholic Daughters
  • Technology club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Monitor the playground
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Why a Catholic education through MIS? •Rigorous academic standards (National Blue Ribbon School; working approx. 1 yr. ahead of public schools) •Well-rounded life experience •Strong moral compasses (personal responsibility, assimilation of cultures, civic concern, positive societal values and attitudes) •Leadership qualities encouraged •Creativity within the individual stimulated, maximizing personal gifts •Experienced teachers •At the heart of everything we do is our Catholic faith!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Angel Creek PS (St. Ann - Coppel)
St. Catherine Preschool (Carrollton)
Christ United Methodist Preschool (Farmers Branch)

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$5000 - $8000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Jesuit College Prep (Dallas)
Ursuline Academy (Dallas)
John Paul II HS (Plano)
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

14032 Dennis Ln
Farmers Branch, TX 75234
Website: Click here
Phone: (972) 243-7105

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Blair Elementary School
Farmers Branch, TX


ArborCreek Montessori School
Farmers Branch, TX



University School
Farmers Branch, TX




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT